The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback

Ivo P. Baumgartner

Henk Fenners

Taxation of liquidation gains on cessation of self-employment

Workshop on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar of 22 November 2018 entitled "Taxation of Capital Payments

11/2018
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
be on sale in the shop
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1: Sale of a sole proprietorship with transfer of a property into private assets: Determination of the liquidation profit

Initial situation

Peter Müller was the owner of an architectural office, which he ran on the ground floor and first floor of his property. On the 2nd floor he lives together with his wife in an 4½ room apartment. He was voluntarily affiliated to a pension fund.

In 2012 Mr. Müller turned 62 years old. He decided to sell the company at the end of 2012 to the AG (the "ARCHITECTURAL AG") founded by an employee for this purpose and to retire early. Peter Müller also withdrew his pension fund assets in the amount of CHF 500,000 in 2012, and will lease the premises of the architectural office (two floors of the building) to ARCHITEKTUR-AG.

In 2011, Peter Müller achieved a net profit (before AHV provisions) of CHF 350,000, of which CHF 150,000 came from realised hidden reserves. The net profit (before AHV provisions) for 2012 amounted to CHF 600,000, of which CHF 400,000 was attributable to realized hidden reserves (including goodwill). This amount also included the (capital) profit from the transfer of the property to private assets (book value CHF 600,000; investment costs CHF 700,000; market value CHF 850,000).

In 2013, Peter Müller submitted the auxiliary form for determining the liquidation profit together with the 2012 tax return. He did not claim a fictitious purchase in this case. However, he applied for a tax deferral in accordance with Art. 18a para. 1 DBG (or Art. 8 para. 2bis StHG).

Questions

  1. Calculate the privileged taxable liquidation profit and the ordinary taxable income from self-employment in 2012:
    The liquidation costs are negligible; there are no offsettable losses from the previous year.
  2. At the time of filing the 2012 tax return for the 2011 tax period, the Müller couple has already been legally assessed. Does this change anything about the situation?
  3. Is the capital withdrawal from the 2nd pillar included in the special investment for liquidation gains?
  4. In 2018, Mr. Müller will sell the property for CHF 900,000. no investments in the property were made in the period between the purchase (end of 2012) and the sale of the property (2018). At the time of the sale - apart from the different tax rates - does it matter whether the property is located in the canton of St. Gallen or the canton of Bern?

Variant

Initial situation

Peter Müller is not selling his sole proprietorship, but will contribute it to the newly founded MÜLLER ARCHITECTUR AG with neutral income tax implications as of 1 January 2013. He also transfers the property to MÜLLER ARCHITEKTUR AG.

In the course of 2016, Peter Müller suffers a stroke, whereupon he searches for a successor solution. By contract dated 31 October 2017, he sells all shares in MÜLLER ARCHITEKTUR AG (including the property held by the AG) to a competitor for CHF 1 million. The assignment of the (unissued) registered shares of MÜLLER ARCHITEKTUR AG will take effect on 1 July 2018; the purchase price will then also be paid.

Question

Will the sale of the shares have tax consequences?

Case 2: Disability and definitive cessation of self-employment

Initial situation

Franz Haag ran a bicycle and motorbike shop in the city of Zurich as a sole proprietor for many years. In his free time he liked to go on rides with his Moto Guzzi.

In 2011, at the age of 40, Franz Haag suffered a serious accident while riding his motorcycle. Since then he has had very limited working capacity and receives a full disability insurance pension. Its residual earning capacity amounts to 20 %. In order to be able to continue his business, he hired a workshop manager at the beginning of 2012, whom he supported - as far as his health allowed - in administrative and sales matters.

In 2018, Franz Haag's state of health deteriorates further. He has been fully incapacitated since a stroke. Due to this new situation, he decides to sell his business to the head of the workshop as of 1 October 2018. In doing so, it realizes hidden reserves in the amount of CHF 200,000.

Questions

  1. Does Franz Haag meet the requirements for claiming the privileged liquidation profit taxation?
  2. What would have been the situation if Franz Haag, who is very wealthy, had waived the right to receive disability insurance benefits after his accident, even though his disability was certified by a doctor's certificate?
  3. What would have been the situation if Franz Haag had died in the accident and his business had subsequently been liquidated by his heirs (the two daughters)?

Case 3: Definitive cessation of self-employment

Initial situation

Hans Blatter ran his own farm (dualistic canton). At the end of 2015, when he was 63 years old, he sold the farm and various plots of land to his daughter, who already ran her own farm, for CHF 500,000, but who capitalised only CHF 250,000 in her books, which corresponded to the balance sheet value (capitalised earnings value) for Hans Blatter.

When Hans Blatter sold the farm, his daughter granted him a usufruct for five years on a plot of land with a Christmas tree. In 2016, it generated income of CHF 60,000, with salaries paid to temporary staff totalling CHF 4,200.

Questions

  1. Does the transfer of the book value constitute a privileged situation for income tax purposes?
  2. If no deferral is granted, is the profit (here CHF 250,000) taxable separately?
  3. If separate taxation should be possible in principle, is the activity undertaken after the sale (sale of Christmas trees) harmful to it?

Case 4: Determination of qualifying hidden reserves: Changes in behaviour before liquidation

Initial situation

Heinz Semadi is a lawyer and ran his own law firm with notary's office. He relinquished his position as of 30 June 2017. As in the past, Heinz Semadi invoiced according to the target method (agreed fees). In the most recent financial statements (2017), it released a provision for third-party work (foreign correspondents) of CHF 100,000 created in 2015 to the income statement. This had been accepted by the tax authorities in the assessments for the tax periods 2015 and 2016 or had not been offset. As all receivables were invoiced, the item "outstanding balances" then grew strongly compared to previous years. Heinz Semadi reported the "change in accounts receivable" and the reversed provision as a privileged liquidation gain in the 2017 tax declaration.

Questions

  1. Will the provision dissolved in 2017 be subject to the privileged liquidation profit taxation?
  2. Is the debtor change subject to privileged liquidation profit taxation?
  3. What would have happened if the subsequent invoicing of customers had already taken place in the previous year by the initial accounting of work in progress?

Case 5: Determination of qualifying hidden reserves: Changes in current assets

Initial situation

Hugo Portmann was the owner of a garage (motor vehicle concessionaire) with workshop and filling station (in the canton of St. Gallen). He sold his company at the end of 2016 (at the age of 60) to a competitor with various branches in the region for a price of CHF 3 million (book value of equity CHF 2.5 million).

It is known that in 2015 a small truck used for snow removal and driving school was subject to immediate depreciation. This was acquired at the beginning of 2014 and was subject to ordinary depreciation in that year (20% linear p.a.).

Hugo Portmann has significantly increased the "goods reserve" (lump sum value adjustment) on the warehouse in 2015 (from 15% to 30%).

Questions

  1. How is the fact of immediate write-offs to be assessed with a view to determining the liquidation profit to be taxed separately?
  2. How is the situation with the increased third of goods to be assessed?
  3. How would the situation with the third of goods be assessed if the value adjustment in previous years had always been 30 % and in 2016 CHF 150,000 had been released due to a massive delivery bottleneck of the importer (or the plant) and the associated reduction in stock?

Case 6: Determination of liquidation profit: calculation of notional purchases, treatment of actual purchases and surplus contributions

Initial situation

Martina Looser (born on 28 February 1955) operated a furniture and interior design business in the legal form of a sole proprietorship for 30 years. She retired on 31 July 2018.

Before she became self-employed, she was an executive at a chain of retail stores. On termination of her employment she drew the entire pension fund assets of CHF 150,000 for the start of her self-employment.

During her self-employment she was voluntarily affiliated to a pension fund. From time to time she then paid into the pillar 3a scheme. In 1995, she made an advance withdrawal of CHF 50,000 from her pillar 3a account to purchase a condominium; she has been living in it herself since then.

As part of the liquidation of the sole proprietorship, it realizes hidden reserves of CHF 200,000, half of which will be realized in 2017 and half in 2018. She draws the pen- sion fund assets (amount at retirement: CHF 400,000) in pension form. She still has a Pillar 3a credit balance of CHF 100,000.

In recent years Martina Looser has achieved the following net profits (AHV can be disregarded):

2018: CHF 200,000 (including hidden reserves)

2017: CHF 250,000 (including hidden reserves)

2016: CHF 150'000

2015: CHF 150'000

2014: CHF 150'000

2013: CHF 150'000

Questions

  1. How much is the liquidation profit? To what maximum amount can a fictitious purchase be claimed?
  2. What would have changed if Martina Looser had made a purchase of CHF 150,000 into the 2nd pillar at the beginning of 2018?
  3. What if Martina Looser had renovated her condominium in 2018 and the deductible property maintenance costs exceeded the other income?
CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Feedback
X close
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Oops! Da ist etwas schiefgelaufen. Bitte probieren Sie es nochmals.
CHF
120.00
Sofort KaufenIn den WarenkorbMein Warenkorb
Ich habe das Produkt bereits gekauft.
Zu meinem Account

Ivo P. Baumgartner

Henk Fenners

Besteuerung des Liquidationsgewinns bei Aufgabe der selbständigen Erwerbstätigkeit

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 22. November 2018 mit dem Titel «Besteuerung von Kapitalleistungen»

11/2018
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fall 1: Verkauf Einzelunternehmen mit Überführung einer Liegenschaft ins Privatvermögen: Ermittlung des Liquidationsgewinnes

Ausgangslage

Peter Müller war Inhaber eines Architekturbüros, das er im Parterre sowie im 1. Obergeschoss seiner Liegenschaft betrieb. Im 2. Obergeschoss bewohnt er gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau eine 4½-Zimmerwohnung. Er war freiwillig einer Pensionskasse angeschlossen.

Im Jahre 2012 wurde Herr Müller 62 Jahre alt. Er entschloss sich, das Unternehmen per Ende 2012 an die von einem Mitarbeitenden zu diesem Zweck gegründete AG (die „ARCHITEKTUR-AG") zu verkaufen und vorzeitig in den Ruhestand zu treten. Ebenfalls per En- de 2012 bezog Peter Müller sein Pensionskassenguthaben in der Höhe von CHF 500'000. Die Räumlichkeiten des Architekturbüros (zwei Stockwerke des Hauses) vermietet er an die ARCHITEKTUR-AG.

Im Jahre 2011 erzielte Peter Müller einen  Reingewinn  (vor  AHV-Rückstellung) von CHF 350'000, wovon CHF 150'000 aus realisierten stillen Reserven. Der Reingewinn (vor AHV-Rückstellung) des Jahres 2012 belief sich auf CHF 600'000, wovon CHF 400'000 auf realisierte stille Reserven (inklusive Goodwill) entfielen. In diesem Betrag enthalten war auch der (Kapital-)Gewinn aus der Überführung der Liegenschaft in das Privatvermögen (Buchwert CHF 600'000; Anlagekosten CHF 700'000; Verkehrswert CHF 850'000).

Im Jahre 2013 reichte Peter Müller zusammen mit der Steuererklärung 2012 das Hilfsformular zur Ermittlung des Liquidationsgewinns ein. Einen fiktiven Einkauf machte er da- rin nicht geltend. Er stellte jedoch  Antrag  auf  einen  Besteuerungsaufschub  gemäss Art. 18a Abs. 1 DBG (bzw. Art. 8 Abs. 2bis StHG).

Fragestellungen

  1. Berechnen Sie den privilegiert zu besteuernden Liquidationsgewinn und das ordentlich zu besteuerte Einkommen aus selbständiger Erwerbstätigkeit im Jahre 2012.
    Hinweise: Die Liquidationskosten sind vernachlässigbar; es bestehen keine verrechenbare Vorjahresverluste.
  2. Das Ehepaar Müller ist im Zeitpunkt der Einreichung der Steuererklärung 2012 für die Steuerperiode 2011 bereits rechtskräftig veranlagt. Ändert dies etwas an der Situation?
  3. Wird der Kapitalbezug aus der 2. Säule in die Sonderveranlagung betreffend Liquidationsgewinn einbezogen?
  4. Im Jahre 2018 verkauft Herr Müller die Liegenschaft für CHF 900'000. Investitionen in die Liegenschaft erfolgten im Zeitraum zwischen der Erwerbsaufgabe (Ende 2012) und der Veräusserung der Liegenschaft (2018) keine. Spielt es im Zeitpunkt des Verkaufs - abgesehen vom unterschiedlichen Steuermass - eine Rolle, ob die Liegenschaft im Kanton St. Gallen oder im Kanton Bern gelegen ist?

Variante

Ausgangslage

Peter Müller verkauft sein Einzelunternehmen nicht, sondern bringt dieses per 1. Januar 2013 einkommensteuerlich neutral in die von ihm neu gegründete MÜLLER ARCHITEKTUR AG ein. Auch die Liegenschaft überträgt er auf die MÜLLER ARCHITEKTUR AG.

Im Laufe des Jahres 2016 erleidet Peter Müller einen Hirnschlag, worauf er nach einer Nachfolgelösung sucht. Mit Vertrag vom 31. Oktober 2017 verkauft er sämtliche Aktien der MÜLLER ARCHITEKTUR AG (mitsamt der von der AG gehaltenen Liegenschaft) für CHF 1 Mio. an einen Mitbewerber. Die Abtretung der (nicht ausgegebenen) Namenaktien der MÜLLER ARCHITEKTUR AG erfolgt per 1. Juli 2018; alsdann fliesst auch der Kaufpreis.

Fragestellung

Zeitigt der Verkauf der Anteilsrechte Steuerfolgen?

Fall 2: Invalidität und definitive Aufgabe der selbständigen Erwerbstätigkeit

Ausgangslage

Franz Haag betrieb viele Jahre lang als Einzelunternehmer ein Velo- und Motorfahrradgeschäft in der Stadt Zürich. In seiner Freizeit unternahm er gerne Ausfahrten mit seiner Moto Guzzi.

Im Jahre 2011, damals 40-Jährig, erlitt Franz Haag anlässlich einer Ausfahrt mit dem Motorrad einen folgenschweren Unfall. Seither ist er nur sehr eingeschränkt arbeitsfähig und bezieht eine volle Rente der Invalidenversicherung. Seine Rest-Erwerbsfähigkeit beläuft sich auf 20 %. Um sein Geschäft fortführen zu können, stellte er Anfang 2012 einen Werkstattchef an, den er - soweit es seine Gesundheit zuliess - in administrativen Angelegenheiten sowie in Verkaufsbelangen unterstützte.

Im Jahre 2018 verschlechtert sich der Gesundheitszustand von Franz Haag weiter. Er ist seit einem Schlaganfall vollumfänglich erwerbsunfähig. Aufgrund dieser neuen Situation beschliesst er, sein Geschäft per 1. Oktober 2018 an den Werkstattchef zu verkaufen. Er realisiert dabei stille Reserven in der Höhe von CHF 200'000.

Fragestellungen

  1. Erfüllt Franz Haag die Voraussetzungen für die Beanspruchung der privilegierten Liquidationsgewinnbesteuerung?
  2. Wie verhielte es sich, wenn Franz Haag, der sehr vermögend ist, auf den Bezug von Leistungen der Invalidenversicherung nach seinem Unfall verzichtet hätte, obschon ihm die Invalidität mittels Arztzeugnis bescheinigt wurde?
  3. Wie verhielte es sich, wenn Franz Haag beim Unfall gestorben und sein Geschäft in der Folge von seinen Erben (den beiden Töchtern) liquidiert worden wäre?

Fall 3: Definitive Aufgabe der selbständigen Erwerbstätigkeit

Ausgangslage

Hans Blatter führte einen eigenen Bauernhof (dualistischer Kanton). Ende 2015, in seinem 63. Altersjahr, verkaufte er den Hof samt verschiedenen Grundstücken an seine Tochter, die bereits einen eigenen Hof führte, zum Preis von CHF 500'000. Diese aktivierte in ihren Geschäftsbüchern jedoch nur CHF 250'000, was dem Bilanzwert (Ertragswert) bei Hans Blatter entsprach.

Hans Blatter liess sich beim Verkauf des Hofes von seiner Tochter noch eine Nutzniessung für fünf Jahre an einer Parzelle mit einer Weihnachtsbaumanlage einräumen. Im Jahre 2016 erwirtschaftete er einen Ertrag von CHF 60'000, wobei er Löhne an Aushilfen von insgesamt CHF 4'200 ausrichtete.

Fragestellungen

  1. Liegt durch die Buchwertübernahme ein einkommensteuerlich privilegierter Tatbestand vor?
  2. Sollte kein Aufschub gewährt werden, ist der Gewinn (hier CHF 250'000) separat zu besteuern?
  3. Falls eine separate Besteuerung grundsätzlich in Frage kommen sollte, ist die nach dem Verkauf aufgenommene Tätigkeit (Verkauf von Weihnachtsbäumen) dafür schädlich?

Fall 4: Bestimmung der qualifizierenden stillen Reserven: Verhaltensänderungen vor Eintritt der Liquidation

Ausgangslage

Heinz Semadi ist Anwalt und führte eine eigene Kanzlei mit Notariat. Per 30. Juni 2017 gab er seine Tätigkeit auf. Heinz Semadi rechnete wie schon in der Vergangenheit nach der Soll-Methode (vereinbarte Entgelte) ab. Im letzten Abschluss (2017) löste er eine im Jahre 2015 gebildete Rückstellung für Drittarbeiten (ausländische Korrespondenten) über CHF 100'000 erfolgswirksam auf. Diese war in den Veranlagungen der Steuerperioden 2015 und 2016 von der Steuerbehörde akzeptiert bzw. nicht aufgerechnet worden. Dadurch, dass sämtliche Forderungen in Rechnung gestellt wurden, wuchs sodann die Position «ausstehende Guthaben» gegenüber den Vorjahren stark an. Die «Debitorenveränderung» und die aufgelöste Rückstellung wies Heinz Semadi im Rahmen der Steuerdeklaration 2017 als privilegierten Liquidationsgewinn aus.

Fragestellungen

  1. Kommt auf der im Jahre 2017 aufgelösten Rückstellung die privilegierte Liquidationsgewinnbesteuerung zum Tragen?
  2. Unterliegt die Debitorenveränderung der privilegierten Liquidationsgewinnbesteuerung?
  3. Was wäre, wenn die Nachfakturierung der Kunden bereits im Vorjahr durch die erst- malige Bilanzierung von angefangenen Arbeiten erfolgt wäre?

Fall 5: Bestimmung der qualifizierenden stillen Reserven: Änderungen beim Umlaufsvermögen

Ausgangslage

Hugo Portmann war Inhaber einer Garage (Motorfahrzeug-Konzessionärin) mit Werkstatt und Tankstelle (im Kanton St. Gallen). Er verkaufte sein Unternehmen auf Ende 2016 (im Alter von 60 Jahren) an einen Mitbewerber mit verschiedenen Filialen in der Region zum Preis von CHF 3 Mio. (Buchwert des Eigenkapitals CHF 2,5 Mio.).

Bekannt ist, dass im Jahre 2015 ein Kleinlastwagen, welcher für Schneeräumungen und Fahrschule eingesetzt wurde, der Sofortabschreibung unterworfen worden ist. Dieser wurde anfangs 2014 erworben und in jenem Jahr ordentlich abgeschrieben (Ansatz 20 % linear p.a.).

Die „Warenreserve" (Pauschalwertberichtigung) auf dem Warenlager hat Hugo Portmann im Jahre 2015 wesentlich erhöht (von 15 % auf 30 %).

Fragestellungen

  1. Wie ist der Tatbestand der Sofortabschreibungen mit Blick auf die Bestimmung des separat zu besteuernden Liquidationsgewinns zu werten?
  2. Wie ist die Situation mit dem erhöhten Warendrittel zu werten?
  3. Wie wäre die Situation mit dem Warendrittel zu beurteilen, wenn die Wertberichtigung in den Vorjahren immer 30 % betragen hätte und im Jahre 2016 aufgrund ei- nes massiven Lieferengpasses des Importeurs (bzw. des Werkes) und der damit verbundenen Bestandesreduktion CHF 150'000 aufgelöst worden wären?

Fall 6: Ermittlung des Liquidationsgewinns: Berechnung fiktiver Einkauf, Behandlung von tatsächlichen Einkäufen und Beitragsüberhängen

Ausgangslage

Martina Looser (geboren am 28. Februar 1955) betrieb während 30 Jahren ein Möbel- und Einrichtungsgeschäft in der Rechtsform einer Einzelfirma. Sie hat sich per 31. Juli 2018 pensionieren lassen.

Bevor sie selbständig tätig wurde, war sie Kadermitarbeiterin bei einer Warenhandelskette. Bei Beendigung der Anstellung bezog sie das gesamte Pensionskassenguthaben von CHF 150'000 für die Aufnahme der selbständigen Erwerbstätigkeit.

Während ihrer selbständigen Erwerbstätigkeit war sie freiwillig einer Pensionskasse angeschlossen. Hin und wieder zahlte sie sodann in die Säule 3a ein. Im Jahre 1995 tätigte sie einen Vorbezug aus der Säule 3a von CHF 50'000 für den Kauf einer Eigentumswohnung; diese wird von ihr seither selbstbewohnt.

Im Rahmen der Liquidation der Einzelfirma realisiert sie stille Reserven von CHF 200'000, wovon je die Hälfte auf das Jahr 2017 und das Jahr 2018 entfallen. Sie bezieht das Pen- sionskassenguthaben (Höhe bei Pensionierung: CHF 400'000) in Rentenform. Das Guthaben in der Säule 3a von CHF 100'000 lässt sie noch stehen.

In den letzten Jahren hat Martina Looser folgende Reingewinne erzielt (AHV kann unberücksichtigt bleiben):

2018: CHF 200'000 (inklusive stille Reserven)

2017: CHF 250'000 (inklusive stille Reserven)

2016: CHF 150'000

2015: CHF 150'000

2014: CHF 150'000

2013: CHF 150'000

Fragestellungen

  1. Wie hoch ist der Liquidationsgewinn? In welcher Höhe kann ein fiktiver Einkauf maximal geltend gemacht werden?
  2. Was änderte sich, wenn Martina Looser zu Beginn des Jahres 2018 noch einen Einkauf in die 2. Säule von CHF 150'000 getätigt hätte?
  3. Was wäre, wenn Martina Looser im Jahre 2018 ihre Eigentumswohnung einer Renovation unterzogen hätte und die abzugsfähigen Liegenschaftsunterhaltskosten die übrigen Einkünfte überstiegen?
CHF
120.00