The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback
VAT/Customs

Jeannine Müller

Harun Can

Financial developments and impact of the FIDLEG/FINIG

-
Advertisements
-

Workshop on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar of 24 September 2020 entitled "Value Added Tax. Current. Compact. Interdisciplinary."

09/2020
Download:
none
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
be on sale in the shop
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1 - Sale and management of mortgages

1.1 Facts of the case

The Bank is a profit-oriented universal bank (hereinafter referred to as "Bank"). It is entered in the value added tax register. As a pension fund, the purpose of B. PF is to provide occupational benefits within the framework of the BVG (hereinafter "PF"). It is also entered in the VAT register. In connection with the PF's plans to expand its mortgage lending business, the Bank and the PF concluded two agreements on 18 September 2016: In the "Agreement on the purchase of mortgages", effective 1 January, they regulated the transfer of mortgage claims from the Bank to the PF, including the transfer of loan collateral, the calculation and remuneration of the purchase price and the selection criteria for the purchase of mortgages. The del credere risk is transferred to the PF. The bank receives the loan amount paid by the PF for the sale of the mortgages. The PF does not pay interest to the bank, nor does the PF deduct a discount for the purchase of the valuable loans.

In a second "Agreement on the management of mortgages", they agreed that the invoicing, dunning, collection and recovery of the transferred mortgage claims and the possible realisation of loan collateral would continue to be handled by the bank as administrator; in return, the bank would receive a "servicing fee".

1.2 Questions

  1. What are the VAT consequences of the bank's management of the mortgage loan receivables prior to the transfer?
  2. What VAT consequences does the agreement on the transfer of mortgages have for the bank, the PF and the mortgage debtor?
  3. What VAT consequences does the agreement on the management of mortgages have for the bank, the PF and the mortgage debtor after the transfer?

2nd case 2 - Co-insurance

2.1 The facts of the case

A. receives substantial cost premiums/management commissions from coinsurance. The contractual starting position is as follows:

When drawing up insurance contracts, the taxpayer has implemented the model recommended by the Swiss Insurance Association (SIA) since 2005. Accordingly, A. issues a policy to the domestic policyholder for the total amount of the risks jointly assumed by the co-insurers. The policy of such a co-insurance differs from that of an insurance in which only one insurance company is involved, namely by an inserted paragraph "Co-insurance" in which it is stated

"In accordance with the wishes of the policyholder, the insurance is divided among various domestic insurance companies. Each insurance company is only liable for its share. The policyholder has designated A. as the leading company for the execution of the contract. In all matters concerning the insurance contract, the policyholder will deal exclusively with the leading company. The decisions of the [leading company] regarding the assumption of liability, recognition of the payment obligation for insurance benefits due, the payment of profit shares, etc. are binding on the other co-insurers.

The Insured authorises the [Leading Company] to claim the cost premium for the processing of the contract included in the total premium. The [Leading Company] shall transfer to the Co-insurers the premiums corresponding to its quota after deduction of this cost premium. The [Leading Company] shall instruct the [Insured] to forward all documents and information in connection with the coinsurance to the other Co-insurers in order to ensure the smooth running of the coinsurance relationship. The details and the technical processing of this data exchange shall be regulated by the co-insurers among themselves.

However, only taxpayer A appears as the issuer of the policy. Likewise, the general insurance conditions and the supplementary conditions of A. apply exclusively to the co-insurance relationship.

The conclusion of a coinsurance policy or the issue of the corresponding policy is preceded by contacts between A. and the co-insurers in question. If the Co-insurers agree on the most important elements of the contract (cost premiums claimed by A. as the leading company, insured companies, insured interests and risks, place of insurance, deductibles, profit sharing, maximum loss estimate, annual premium, commencement and duration of the contract, termination rights, co-insurance share, any broker, yield, other specialities), they give written undertakings to the leading company. Only then is the leading company authorised to sign the contract on behalf of the insurers (cf. A.'s working instructions on coinsurance contracts, para. 1.6 f.).

As far as the payment flows are concerned, the policyholder transfers the total premium plus stamp duties to A. as the leading company. The total premium is composed of the so-called risk premium, which is calculated taking into account the probability of loss and the possible loss amount, and the cost premium, which covers administrative and operating costs and other administrative expenses of the insurance. The leading company passes on the net premium corresponding to the participation ratio (i.e. pro rata total premium [excl. stamp duty] less cost premium) to the respective co-insurers. In other words, A. collects the total cost premium, which corresponds to a certain percentage of the total premium, and its share of the so-called risk premium for itself. The remaining share of the risk premium is passed on to the co-insurers. There is no cash flow from the coinsurers to A. In the event of a claim, A. covers the total loss in advance, i.e. it transfers the entire loss amount to the policyholder and, in the following quarter, settles the loss amount to be borne by the co-insurers against any premium payments.

The facts can be graphically represented as follows:

Seminar "Value Added Tax Developments in the financial sector and effects of the FIDLEG/FINIG Jeannine Müller Harun Can cases and solutions Zurich ISIS ZSIS

2.2 Question

Does the deducted cost premium of A. as the leading insurance company constitute remuneration for taxable services?

3rd case 3 - emission rights

3.1 Facts of the case

A climate protection organisation intends to transfer CHA certificates to third parties in Switzerland.

The Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) issues certificates called CHA (hereinafter referred to as CHA Certificates) for CO2 reduction services provided within Switzerland.

Examples of such certificates can be found here:

https://www.emissionsregistry.admin.ch/crweb/public/reporting/cha/period.action?token=71ZM3RKPCNRBA H6MDFP48SQOL0R08R8G.

The legal basis for these certificates is Article 7 of the CO2 Act. This provision provides for the certification of voluntary domestic emission reductions. The requirements and the procedure for issuing the certificates are regulated in Art. 5 to 14 of the CO2 Ordinance (SR 641.711, as of 19 February 2019).

These CHA certificates can be sold by the Swiss project company to a Swiss company subject to compensation (e.g. a fossil-thermal power plant or a fuel importer).

CHA certificates for emission reductions through projects and programmes in accordance with Art. 7 of the CO2 Act are not equivalent to internationally tradable certificates or CHA certificates issued in Switzerland. CHA certificates are not internationally recognized and therefore not fungible with Kyoto certificates.

CHA certificates are entered in the Emissions Trading Registry (EHR) and transferred. The Swiss Emissions Trading Registry is an online booking system operated by the FOEN. It ensures that the generation, allocation, credit, transfer, acquisition, cancellation and return of units as well as auction bids are accurately recorded. The Emissions Trading Registry can be compared with a land register. All units exist only in electronic form. Trading itself is organised by the private sector. Emission allowances, emission reduction certificates and CHA certificates issued by Switzerland and by companies participating in emissions trading are recorded in the Swiss Emissions Trading Registry.

Trading is carried out exclusively bilaterally between the few plant operators and any intermediaries (cf. dispatch of 1 December 2017 on the approval of the agreement between Switzerland and the European Union on linking emissions trading systems and on its implementation, BBl 2018 411, in particular 416 on section 1.1).

3.2 Questions

  1. Is the transfer for consideration a taxable supply under Article 18 of the VAT Act to which the exception under Article 21(2)(19)(e) of the VAT Act does not apply?
  2. What are the adjustments currently announced by the FTA in the area of emission rights based on the BGE 2C_488/2017 of 9 April 2019?

4th case 4 - FIDLEG / FINIG

4.1 Facts of the case

The FIDLEG was newly issued.

At the same time, Art. 21 para. 2 no. 19 lit. f VAT Act was also amended as follows as of 1 January 2020.

Excluded from the tax:

f. the offering of units in collective investment schemes pursuant to the Collective Investment Schemes Act of 23 June 2006 (CISA), and

the management of collective investment schemes in accordance with the CISA by persons who manage or keep them, the fund management companies, the custodian banks and their agents;

All natural persons or legal entities to whom the collective investment schemes may delegate tasks in accordance with the CISA or the Financial Institutions Act of 15 June 2018 are considered as authorised representatives;

the offering of units and the management of investment companies with fixed capital pursuant to Article 110 CISA shall be governed by point (e);

4.2 Question

Which passages in MBI 14 need to be adjusted due to the new FIDLEG and the revised CISA?

CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback
MWST/Zoll

Jeannine Müller

Harun Can

Entwicklungen im Finanzbereich und Auswirkungen des FIDLEG/FINIG

-
Werbeanzeigen
-

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 24. September 2020 mit dem Titel «Mehrwertsteuer. Aktuell. Kompakt. Interdisziplinär.»

09/2020
Download:
keine
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

1. Fall 1 – Verkauf und Bewirtschaftung Hypotheken

1.1 Sachverhalt

Die Bank ist eine gewinnorientierte Universalbank (nachfolgend "Bank"). Sie ist im Mehrwertsteuerregister eingetragen. Die B. PK bezweckt als Pensionskasse die berufliche Vorsorge im Rahmen des BVG (nachfolgend "PK"). Sie ist ebenfalls im Mehrwertsteuerregister eingetragen. Im Zusammenhang mit dem von der PK angestrebten Ausbau ihres Hypothekargeschäfts schlossen die Bank und die PK am 18. September 2016 zwei Vereinbarungen: In der "Vereinbarung über den Ankauf von Hypotheken" per 1. Januar regelten sie die Übertragung von Hypothekarforderungen von der Bank auf die PK einschliesslich der Übertragung von Kreditsicherheiten, der Berechnung und Vergütung des Kaufpreises und der Auswahlkriterien für den Ankauf der Hypotheken. Das Delkredererisiko geht auf die PK über. Die Bank erhält für den Verkauf der Hypotheken die Darlehenssumme durch die PK bezahlt. Die PK zahlt der Bank keinen Zins und die PK zieht für den Kauf der werthaltigen Darlehen auch keinen Diskont ab.

In einer zweiten "Vereinbarung über die Bewirtschaftung von Hypotheken" kamen sie überein, dass die Rechnungsstellung, Mahnwesen, Inkasso und Einziehung der übertragenen Hypothekarforderungen sowie die allfällige Verwertung von Kreditsicherheiten weiterhin durch die Bank als Verwalterin besorgt werde; im Gegenzug erhält die Bank eine "Servicing Fee".

1.2 Fragestellungen

  1. Welche MWST-Folgen hat die Bewirtschaftung der Hypothekarkreditforderungen durch die Bank vor der Übertragung?
  2. Welche MWST-Folgen hat die Vereinbarung über die Übertragung der Hypotheken für die Bank, für die PK und den Hypothekarschuldner?
  3. Welche MWST-Folgen hat die Vereinbarung über die Bewirtschaftung der Hypotheken für die Bank, für die PK und den Hypothekarschuldner nach der Übertragung?

2. Fall 2 – Mitversicherung

2.1 Sachverhalt

Die A. erhält substantielle Kostenprämien/Führungsprovisionen aus Mitversicherung. Die vertragliche Ausgangslage präsentiert sich wie folgt:

Die Steuerpflichtige hat bei der Ausgestaltung der Versicherungsverträge das vom Schweizerischen Versicherungsverband (SVV) seit dem Jahr 2005 empfohlene Modell umgesetzt. Entsprechend stellt die A. dem inländischen Versicherungsnehmer eine Police über die Gesamtsumme der von den Mitversicherern gemeinsam übernommenen Risiken aus. Die Police einer solchen Mitversicherung unterscheidet sich von derjenigen einer Versicherung, an der nur eine Versicherung beteiligt ist, namentlich durch einen eingefügten Absatz "Mitversicherung", in welchem festgehalten wird:

"Dem Wunsch des Versicherungsnehmers entsprechend wird die Versicherung auf verschiedene inländische Versicherungsgesellschaften aufgeteilt. Jede Versicherungsgesellschaft haftet nur für ihren Anteil. Zur Vertragsabwicklung hat der Versicherungsnehmer die A. als führende Gesellschaft bestimmt. In allen den Versicherungsvertrag betreffenden Belangen verkehrt der Versicherungsnehmer ausschliesslich mit der führenden Gesellschaft. Die Entscheide der [führenden Gesellschaft] hinsichtlich Haftungsübernahme, Anerkennung der Zahlungspflicht für fällige Versicherungsleistungen, Ausrichtung von Überschussanteilen usw. sind für die übrigen Mitversicherer verbindlich.

Der Versicherungsnehmer ermächtigt die [führende Gesellschaft], die in der Gesamtprämie enthaltene Kostenprämie für die Vertragsabwicklung für sich zu beanspruchen. Die [führende Gesellschaft] überweist den Mitversicherern die ihrer Quote entsprechenden Prämien nach Abzug dieser Kostenprämie. Der Versicherungsnehmer beauftragt die [führende Gesellschaft], alle im Zusammenhang mit der Mitversicherung stehenden Unterlagen und Informationen auch an die übrigen Mitversicherer weiterzuleiten, um so einen reibungslosen Ablauf des Mitversicherungsverhältnisses zu gewährleisten. Die Details und die technische Abwicklung dieses Datenaustauschs regeln die Mitversicherer untereinander."

Als Ausstellerin der Police erscheint jedoch einzig die Steuerpflichtige A. Ebenso gelangen für das Mitversicherungsverhältnis ausschliesslich die allgemeinen Versicherungsbedingungen sowie die Zusatzbedingungen der A. zur Anwendung.

Dem Abschluss einer Mitversicherung bzw. dem Ausstellen der entsprechenden Police gehen Kontakte der A. mit den in Frage kommenden Mitversicherern voraus. Wenn die Mitversicherer mit den wichtigsten Vertragselementen einverstanden sind (von der A. als führende Gesellschaft beanspruchte Kostenprämien, versicherte Unternehmungen, versicherte Interessen und Gefahren, Versicherungsort, Selbstbehalte, Überschussbeteiligungen, Höchstschadenschätzung, Jahresprämie, Vertragsbeginn und -dauer, Kündigungsrechte, Mitversicherungsanteil, allfälliger Makler, Rendement, weitere Spezialitäten), geben sie der führenden Gesellschaft schriftliche Zusagen ab. Erst jetzt ist diese ermächtigt, den Vertrag im Namen der Versicherer zu unterzeichnen (vgl. Arbeitsanweisung der A. zu den Mitversicherungsverträgen, Ziff. 1.6 f.).

Was die Zahlungsflüsse anbelangt, so überweist der Versicherungsnehmer die Gesamtprämie zzgl. Stempelabgaben an die A. als führende Gesellschaft. Die Gesamtprämie setzt sich zusammen aus der sog. Risikoprämie, deren Bemessung unter Berücksichtigung der Verlustwahrscheinlichkeit und der möglichen Verlusthöhe erfolgt, und der Kostenprämie, welche Verwaltungs- und Betriebskosten sowie übrige administrative Kosten der Versicherung deckt. Die führende Gesellschaft leitet die dem Beteiligungsverhältnis entsprechende Nettoprämie (d.h. anteilige Gesamtprämie [exkl. Stempelabgabe] abzüglich Kostenprämie) an die jeweiligen Mitversicherer weiter. Mit anderen Worten vereinnahmt die A. die gesamte Kostenprämie, die einem bestimmten Prozentsatz der Gesamtprämie entspricht, und ihren Anteil an der sog. Risikoprämie für sich. Den restlichen Anteil an der Risikoprämie leitet sie an die Mitversicherer weiter. Ein Zahlungsfluss von den Mitversicherern an die A. liegt nicht vor. Im Schadensfall deckt die A. vorab den Gesamtschaden, sie überweist also die gesamte Schadenssumme dem Versicherungsnehmer und verrechnet im folgenden Quartal die von den Mitversicherern zu tragende Schadenssumme mit allfälligen Prämienzahlungen.

Der Sachverhalt lässt sich graphisch wie folgt darstellen:

Seminar Mehrwerststeur Entwicklungen im Finanzbereich und Auswirkungen des FIDLEG/FINIG Jeannine Müller Harun Can Fälle und Lösungshinweise Zürich ISIS ZSIS

2.2 Fragestellung

Handelt es sich bei der abgezogenen Kostenprämie der A. als führende Versicherung um Entgelt für steuerbare Leistungen?

3. Fall 3 – Emissionsrechte

3.1 Sachverhalt

Eine Klimaschutz-Organisation beabsichtigt, CHA Bescheinigungen an Dritte in der Schweiz ansässige Unternehmen zu übertragen.

Für im Inland erbrachte CO2-Reduktionsleistungen stellt das Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU) Bescheinigungen mit dem Namen CHA aus (nachfolgend CHA Bescheinigungen genannt).

Beispiele solcher Bescheinigungen finden sich hier:

https://www.emissionsregistry.admin.ch/crweb/public/reporting/cha/period.action?token=71ZM3RKPCNRBA H6MDFP48SQOL0R08R8G.

Rechtliche Grundlage für diese Bescheinigungen ist Art. 7 CO2-Gesetz. Diese Bestimmung sieht die Bescheinigung von freiwilligen inländischen Emissionsverminderungen vor. Die Voraussetzungen sowie das Verfahren für die Ausstellung der Bescheinigungen sind in den Art. 5 bis 14 CO2-Verordnung (SR 641.711, Stand 19. Februar 2019) geregelt.

Diese CHA Bescheinigungen können durch das schweizerische Projektunternehmen an ein schweizerisches kompensationspflichtiges Unternehmen (z.B. einem fossil-thermischen Kraftwerk oder einem Treibstoffimporteur) verkauft werden.

CHA Bescheinigungen für Emissionsverminderungen durch Projekte und Programme nach Art. 7 CO2- Gesetz sind den international handelbaren Zertifikaten oder den in der Schweiz ausgestellten CHA Bescheinigungen nicht gleichgestellt. CHA Bescheinigungen sind international nicht anerkannt und daher nicht mit Kyoto-Zertifikaten fungibel.

CHA Bescheinigungen werden im Emissionshandelsregister (EHR) eingetragen und übertragen. Das Schweizer Emissionshandelsregister ist ein durch das BAFU betriebenes Online-Buchungssystem. Es stellt sicher, dass Erzeugung, Zuteilung, Guthaben, Übertragung, Erwerb, Löschung und Rückgabe der Einheiten sowie Versteigerungsgebote genau verbucht werden. Das Emissionshandelsregister lässt sich mit einem Grundbuch vergleichen. Alle Einheiten existieren nur in elektronischer Form. Der Handel selbst ist privatwirtschaftlich organisiert. Im Schweizer Emissionshandelsregister werden Emissionsrechte, Emissionsminderungszertifikate und CHA Bescheinigungen der Schweiz und von Unternehmen, die am Emissionshandel teilnehmen, verbucht.

Der Handel erfolgt ausschliesslich bilateral zwischen den wenigen Anlagenbetreibern und etwaigen Zwischenhändlern (vgl. Botschaft vom 1. Dezember 2017 zur Genehmigung des Abkommens zwischen der Schweiz und der Europäischen Union zur Verknüpfung der Emissionshandelssysteme und über seine Umsetzung, BBl 2018 411, insb. 416 zu Ziff. 1.1).

3.2 Fragestellungen

  1. Handelt es sich bei der entgeltlichen Übertragung um eine steuerbare Leistung nach Art. 18 MWSTG, für welche die Ausnahme nach Art. 21 Abs. 2 Ziff. 19 lit. e MWSTG nicht Anwendung findet?
  2. Was sind die gegenwärtig durch die ESTV angekündigten Anpassungen im Bereich von Emissionsrechten aufgrund des BGE 2C_488/2017 vom 9. April 2019?

4. Fall 4 – FIDLEG / FINIG

4.1 Sachverhalt

Das FIDLEG wurde neu erlassen.

Gleichzeitig wurde per 1. Januar 2020 Art. 21 Abs. 2 Ziff. 19 Lit. f MWSTG auch wie folgt angepasst.

Von der Steuer ausgenommen sind:

f. das Anbieten von Anteilen an kollektiven Kapitalanlagen gemäss Kollektivanlagengesetz vom 23. Juni 2006 (KAG) und

die Verwaltung von kollektiven Kapitalanlagen nach dem KAG durch Personen, die diese verwalten oder aufbewahren, die Fondsleitungen, die Depotbanken und deren Beauftragte;

als Beauftragte werden alle natürlichen oder juristischen Personen betrachtet, denen die kollektiven Kapitalanlagen nach dem KAG oder dem Finanzinstitutsgesetz vom 15. Juni 2018 Aufgaben delegieren können;

das Anbieten von Anteilen und die Verwaltung von Investmentgesellschaften mit festem Kapital nach Artikel 110 KAG richtet sich nach Buchstabe e;

4.2 Fragestellung

Welche Passagen in der MBI 14 sind aufgrund des neuen FIDLEG und des revidierten KAG anzupassen?

CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).