The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback
Private

Nicole Buehler

Facilitated subsequent taxation, tax succession and liability of heirs

-
Advertisements
-

Workshop on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar on 26 November 2020 entitled "Advance withdrawal, inheritance, division of an estate and execution of a will in tax law".

11/2020
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
be on sale in the shop
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1 - Subsequent taxation in the estate

Facts

Mr and Mrs Meier were married in 1948 and had been living in Zurich without children ever since. Mrs Meier's husband died unexpectedly on 5 June 2019. As part of the official inventory of her husband's death, Mrs Meier decided to disclose the previously untaxed assets at a Liechtenstein bank. This is a numbered account. The bank forms (Form A) show first Mrs Meier and later Mr and Mrs Meier together as the beneficial owners.

Question 1 - Post-taxation

How is the subsequent taxation for the previously untaxed assets and income to be carried out? The tax authorities of the Canton of Zurich do not wish to allow simplified subsequent taxation in inheritance cases for this numbered account. Is this right?

Facts Variant 1

Mr and Mrs Meier were married in 1948, had two children, Stephanie Meier and Thoma Meier, and resided in Zurich. Freu Meier's husband died completely unexpectedly on 5 June 2019. As part of the official inventory of her husband's death, Mrs Meier decided to disclose the previously untaxed assets at a Liechtenstein bank. This is a numbered account. The bank forms (Form A) show first Mrs Meier and later Mr and Mrs Meier together as the beneficial owners.

Question 2 - Eligible heirs/surviving spouse/surviving registered partner

The heirs, Mrs Meier and the two children Stephanie Meier and Thomas Meier, disagree on whether to report the assets to the tax authorities. What happens in this case? Would the situation be different if Mr Meier had lived in a registered partnership? In that case, the heirs would be the registered partner and the two descendants.

Question 3 - Eligible heirs/legatees

How is the case to be assessed if Mr Meier in his will gives the numbered account to his niece Nadia Weber as legatee? Can the niece, as legatee, declare the account independently? What needs to be taken into account here?

Question 4 - Entitlement of the executor to file a petition

In the joint inheritance contract, Mr Meier appointed an executor to take care of the estate settlement. Is the executor entitled to file an application for the assets in the inventory procedure?

Facts Variant 2

In 1968, Mrs Meier inherited a considerable sum from her aunt, which she paid into an account at a Liechtenstein bank. The account was opened in the name of Zermatt. At the bank, Mrs Meier was listed as the beneficial owner of the assets (Form A). In 2002, Mrs Meier and her husband entered into a marriage and inheritance contract. In this marriage contract, they subjected their marriage to the matrimonial property regime of general community of property pursuant to Art. 221 of the Swiss Civil Code. They agreed that all property should belong to the joint property, with the exception of the legally defined personal property (pursuant to Art. 222 para. 1 CC). In particular, assets acquired through previous and future gifts and inheritances are also to form part of the joint property.

Mrs. Meier's husband passed away completely unexpectedly on June 5, 2019. As part of the official inventory of her husband's death, Mrs. Meier decided to disclose the previously untaxed assets to the Liechtenstein bank.

Question 5 - Influence of property law on subsequent taxation

The tax authorities of the Canton of Zurich do not wish to allow simplified subsequent taxation in inheritance cases for this numbered account. Mrs Meier is of the opinion that, on the basis of the marriage contract, the assets in the Zermatt custody account must be qualified as joint property within the meaning of Art. 222 of the Swiss Civil Code and that the spouses are therefore each individually liable to declare the joint property, which would mean that half of the assets could be subject to simplified subsequent taxation in cases of inheritance. Rightly so?

Case 2 - Heir's liability

Facts

Mr. Müller, a successful retired dentist, resident in Zurich, passed away on 20 August 2019 at the age of 85. He left as his only legal heirs his two descendants Anja, aged 55 and her brother Stefan aged 58, both childless and also residing in Zurich. On 10 October 2019, the two children declared the disclaimer of the inheritance in their father's estate. The competent district court of Zurich noted the disclaimer by all next legal heirs. Anja and Stefan thus thought that their father's estate had been settled for them.

On 15 January 2020, the Zurich Tax Office served Eben Anja and Stefan with a liability order by registered letter for their father's outstanding 2015 and 2016 state and municipal taxes. The Zurich tax office informed the heirs Anja and Stefan that they are liable for the outstanding tax claims based on the gift of the properties received from their father in December 2017. The two children are very surprised about this - rightly so? Are the descendants liable for their father's outstanding tax debts despite the disclaimer?

Question 1 - Liability of heirs for tax debts of the father

Are the descendants, despite the disclaimer, liable for the outstanding tax debts of their father?

Question 2 - Liability of the executor or the representative of the heirs for tax debts

Assume that Mr. Müller has named an executor for his estate in his will. Is he liable for the tax debts? What is the situation if the heirs have appointed a representative?

Question 3 - Payment obligations for inheritance taxes on the estate

Who is responsible for paying inheritance taxes if inheritance taxes are due on Mr. Müller's estate? Is there an obligation on the part of the executor or representative of the heirs to pay inheritance tax in an estate represented by them?

Question 4 - Liability issues for inheritance taxes on the estate

Are heirs mutually liable for unpaid inheritance taxes? Is there also liability of the executor or representative of the heirs for inheritance taxes?

CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback
Private

Nicole Bühler

Erleichterte Nachbesteuerung, Steuersukzession und Erbenhaftung

-
Werbeanzeigen
-

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 26. November 2020 mit dem Titel «Erbvorbezug, Erbgang, Erbteilung und Willensvollstreckung im Steuerrecht»

11/2020
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fall 1 – Nachbesteuerung im Nachlass

Sachverhalt

Herr und Frau Meier heirateten im Jahr 1948 und waren seither kinderlos in Zürich wohnhaft. Der Ehemann von Frau Meier verstarb völlig unerwartet am 5. Juni 2019. Im Rahmen der amtlichen Inventarisation des Todesfalls ihres Ehemannes entschied sich Frau Meier die bisher nicht versteuerten Vermögenswerte bei einer liechtensteinischen Bank offenzulegen. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Nummernkonto. Die Bankformulare (Formular A) weisen zuerst Frau Meier und später das Ehepaar Meier zusammen als wirtschaftlich Berechtigte aus.

Frage 1 – Nachbesteuerung

Wie hat die Nachbesteuerung für die bisher nicht versteuerten Vermögenswerte- und Erträge zu erfolgen? Die Steuerbehörde des Kantons Zürich möchte für dieses Nummern- konto die vereinfachte Nachbesteuerung in Erbfällen nicht zulassen. Zu Recht?

Sachverhalt Variante 1

Herr und Frau Meier heirateten im Jahr 1948, hatten zwei Kinder, Stephanie Meier und Thoma Meier und waren in Zürich wohnhaft. Der Ehemann von Freu Meier verstarb völlig unerwartet am 5. Juni 2019. Im Rahmen der amtlichen Inventarisation des Todesfalls ihres Ehemannes entschied sich Frau Meier die bisher nicht versteuerten Vermögenswerte bei einer liechtensteinischen Bank offenzulegen. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Nummernkonto. Die Bankformulare (Formular A) weisen zuerst Frau Meier und später das Ehepaar Meier zusammen als wirtschaftlich Berechtigte aus.

Frage 2 – Antragsberechtigte Erben/Überlebender Ehegatte/Überlebender eingetragener Partner

Die Erben, Frau Meier und die beiden Kinder Stephanie Meier und Thomas Meier sind sich nicht einig, ob sie die Vermögenswerte bei den Steuerbehörden anzeigen möchten. Was passiert in diesem Fall? Wäre die Situation anders zu beurteilen, wenn Herr Meier in einer eingetragenen Partnerschaft gelebt hätte? Die Erben wären in dem Fall der eingetragene Partner und die beiden Nachkommen.

Frage 3 – Antragsberechtigte Erben/Vermächtnisnehmer

Wie ist der Fall zu beurteilen, wenn Herr Meier in seinem Testament seine Nichte Nadia Weber das Nummernkonto als Vermächtnisnehmerin zukommen lässt. Kann die Nichte als Vermächtnisnehmerin das Konto selbständig nachdeklarieren? Auf was ist hier zu achten?

Frage 4 – Antragsberechtigung der Willensvollstreckerin

Im gemeinsamen Erbvertrag wurde von Herrn Meier ein Willensvollstecker eingesetzt, der sich um die Nachlassabwicklung kümmern soll. Ist der Willensvollstrecker für die Einreichung der Vermögenwerte im Inventarverfahren antragsberechtigt?

Sachverhalt Variante 2

Frau Meier erbte im Jahr 1968 von ihrer Tante einen namhaften Betrag, welchen sie auf ein Konto bei einer Liechtensteinischen Bank einzahlte. Das Konto wurde auf die Bezeichnung Zermatt eröffnet. Bei der Bank wurde Frau Meier als wirtschaftlich berechtigte Person der Vermögenswerte geführt (Formular A). Im Jahr 2002 schlossen Frau Meier und ihr Ehemann einen Ehe- und Erbvertrag ab. In diesem Ehevertag unterstellten sie ihre Ehe dem Güterstand der allgemeinen Gütergemeinschaft gemäss Art. 221 ZGB. Sie vereinbarten, dass sämtliche Güter dem Gesamtgut zugehören sollen, mit Ausnahme des gesetzlich festgelegten Eigengutes (gemäss Art. 222 Abs. 1 ZGB). Insbesondere sollen auch durch bisherige und zukünftige Schenkungen und Erbschaften erworbene Vermögenswerte dem Gesamtgut zugehören.

Der Ehemann von Frau Meier verstarb völlig unerwartet am 5. Juni 2019. Im Rahmen der amtlichen Inventarisation des Todesfalls ihres Ehemannes entschied sich Frau Meier die bisher nicht versteuerten Vermögenswerte bei der liechtensteinischen Bank offenzulegen.

Frage 5 – Einfluss Güterrecht bei der Nachbesteuerung

Die Steuerbehörde des Kantons Zürich möchte für dieses Nummernkonto die vereinfachte Nachbesteuerung in Erbfällen nicht zulassen. Frau Meier ist der Ansicht, dass aufgrund des Ehevertrags die Vermögenswerte auf dem Depot Zermatt als Gesamtgut im Sinne von Art. 222 ZGB qualifiziert werden müssen und die Ehegatten daher je einzeln auf das Gesamtgut deklarationspflichtig sind, was zur Folge hätte, dass die Hälfte der Vermögenswerte der vereinfachten Nachbesteuerung in Erbfällen zugeführt werden könnte. Zu Recht?

Fall 2 – Erbenhaftung

Sachverhalt

Herr Müller, ein erfolgreicher Zahnarzt im Ruhestand, wohnhaft in Zürich, verstarb am 20. August 2019 im Alter von 85 Jahren. Er hinterliess als einzige gesetzliche Erben seine beiden Nachkommen Anja, 55 Jahre alt und ihren Bruder Stefan 58 Jahre, beide kinderlos und ebenfalls wohnhaft in Zürich. Die beiden Kinder erklärten am 10. Oktober 2019 die Ausschlagung der Erbschaft im Nachlass ihres Vaters. Das zuständige Bezirksgericht Zürich merkte die Ausschlagung durch alle nächsten gesetzlichen Erben vor. Anja und Stefan dachten damit, für sie sei der Nachlass ihres Vaters erledigt sei.

Am 15. Januar 2020 stellte das Steueramt Zürich den Eben Anja und Stefan mit eingeschriebenen Brief eine Haftungsverfügung für die noch offenen Staats- und Gemeindesteuern 2015 und 2016 ihres Vaters zu. Das Steueramt Zürich teilte den Erben Anja und Stefan mit, dass sie basierend auf die von ihrem Vater erhaltenen Schenkung der Liegenschaften im Dezember 2017 für die noch offenen Steuerforderungen haften. Die beiden Kinder sind darüber sehr überrascht - zurecht? Sind die Nachkommen, trotz der Ausschlagung, für die noch offenen Steuerschulden ihres Vaters haftbar?

Frage 1 – Haftung der Erben für Steuerschulden des Vaters

Sind die Nachkommen, trotz der Ausschlagung, für die noch offenen Steuerschulden ihres Vaters haftbar?

Frage 2 – Haftung des Willensvollstreckers oder des Erbenvertreters für Steuerschulden

Angenommen Herr Müller hat testamentarisch einen Willensvollstrecker für seinen Nachlass benannt. Haftet dieser für die Steuerschulden? Wie sieht die Situation aus, wenn die Erben einen Erbenvertreter eingesetzt haben?

Frage 3 – Zahlungspflichten bei Erbschaftssteuern auf dem Nachlass

Wer ist für die Zahlung der Erbschaftssteuern zuständig, wenn auf dem Nachlass von Herrn Müller Erbschaftssteuern anfallen? Besteht eine Zahlungspflicht des Willensvollsteckers oder Erbenvertreters für die Erbschaftssteuer in einem durch sie vertretenen Nachlass?

Frage 4 – Haftungsfragen bei Erbschaftssteuern auf dem Nachlass

Sind Erben gegenseitig haftbar für nicht bezahlte Erbschaftssteuern? Gibt es ausserdem eine Haftung des Willensvollstreckers oder Erbenvertreters für Erbschaftssteuern?

CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).