The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback

Laetitia Fracheboud

Olivier Margrave

Intercantonal and cross-border real estate transactions

Workshop by Laetitia Fracheboud and Olivier Margraf on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar of 12/13 September 2022 entitled "Intercantonal and cross-border land transactions".

09/2022
The complete seminar folder can be ordered for CHF
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
150.00
(introductory price)
can be purchased in the shop.
The workshops are also available individually in the "Documents" section.
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1: Loss offsetting intercantonal

1. facts of the case

Eat-Sperience AG, based in Basel, is 100% owned by Experience Holding AG, also based in Basel. It operates restaurants offering true gastronomic experiences in all cantons of German-speaking Switzerland. In the canton of Basel-Stadt, the restaurant is located in a property in a prime location, which is owned by Eat-Sperience AG. In the other cantons, Eat-Sperience AG has rented suitable premises.

Up to and including 2018, Eat-Sperience AG recorded attractive profits. But then it made headlines with contaminated fish in its restaurant in Basel. Since then, it has been confronted with expensive civil lawsuits and the guests are staying away. The Corona crisis brought the situation to a head. In 2019 up to and including 2021, Eat-Sperience AG therefore recorded the following losses, which are accepted for the purposes of direct federal tax and cantonal and municipal taxes:

  • 2019: CHF 20 million
  • 2020: CHF 15 million
  • 2021: CHF 10 million

A loss is also expected for 2022. Experience Holding AG is aware that Eat-Sperience AG can probably only fully recover if it is taken over by an independent third party. However, it is too difficult to sell the restaurant business due to the high-profile property in Basel. In order to prepare the company for a possible sale, the property is therefore to be sold separately.

It is uncertain when a suitable buyer can be found for the property. Furthermore, Experience Holding AG is aware from previous M&A transactions that it is unlikely to find a buyer willing to pay for the loss carry-forwards. Therefore, Eat-Sperience AG decides to sell its property at a price of CHF 55 million to its wholly owned sister company Immo-Sperience AG. Later, the latter is to sell the property to a third party.

The following is known about the Eat-Sperience AG property:

  • Market value: approx. CHF 65 million (according to an independent valuation report)
  • Plant costs: CHF 20 million
  • Book value / income tax value: CHF 10 million.
  • Due to numerous third-party tenants, the property is sufficient to constitute a real estate business according to the practice of the Canton of Basel-Stadt.

Variant

The property is not located in Basel, but in Frauenfeld.

Questions

  • What are the consequences of the sale of the property in Basel for the profit tax, the real estate gains tax and the transfer tax?
  • What is the practical procedure for offsetting losses?
  • Variant: What are the consequences of the sale of the property in Frauenfeld for the profit tax, the real estate gains tax and the real estate transfer tax?

Case 2: Economic change of ownership in intercantonal real estate companies I

1. facts of the case

John Holiday resides in the Canton of Valais. Among other things, he also holds a 100% stake in Mostindien Immobilien AG, based in the canton of Thurgau, which owns one property each in the canton of Thurgau and in the canton of St. Gallen. John, annoyed by what he sees as the extremely fiscal Thurgau tax authorities, decides to burn his bridges with the Canton of Thurgau altogether. He finds an investor, Greater Zurich Real Estate AG, whose real estate portfolio extends throughout Switzerland, which acquires 100% of the shares in Mostindien Immobilien AG.

The balance sheet picture in year n is as follows:

The purchase price of the shares in Mostindien Immobilien AG amounts to CHF 2.15 million.

variant 2

John's long-standing legal counsel is no longer fully up to speed on tax expertise. Therefore, it is waived to obtain a ruling with regard to the sale of the block of shares. Mostindien Immobilien AG has a lot of (surplus) liquidity, which John is pricing into the proceeds of the sale. Greater Zurich Real Estate AG will distribute a substantial substance dividend (excess liquidity) of CHF 450,000 in year n+2.

Questions

  • What are John's tax consequences for the stock sale?
  • How are any tax consequences allocated to the participating cantons of Thurgau and St. Gallen?
  • Are there any tax consequences for Mostindien Immobilien AG?
  • Option 2: Does John have to fear further tax consequences?

Case 3: Economic change of ownership in intercantonal real estate companies II

1. facts of the case

Immobilien Group AG, ZG is held 50% each by Mrs. Häberli and her brother Mr. Häberli, who reside in the Canton of Zurich and Basel-Landschaft, respectively. The siblings hold their shares as private assets. Immobilien Group AG in turn holds two subsidiaries, Real Estate West AG and Real Estate Nord-Ost AG, each with 100%. All companies are domiciled in the Canton of Zug. The following is also known about the subsidiaries of Immobilien Group AG:

  • Real Estate West AG: holds commercial real estate in the cantons of LU, FR and VD;
  • Real Estate Nord-Ost AG: holds commercial real estate in the cantons of SG, TG, AR and GR.

Now Mrs. Häberli is selling her 50% share in Immobilien Group AG to her brother.

Variant 1

Immobilien Group AG sells its 100% stake in Real Estate West AG at fair value to a third party investor.

variant 2

Immobilien Group AG sells 51% of the shares in Real Estate West AG at fair value to a third party investor.

Questions

  • What are the consequences of the sale of the 50% stake in Immobilien Group AG for income tax, real estate gains tax and real estate transfer tax?
  • Option 1: What are the consequences of the sale of the 100% stake in Real Estate West AG for profit tax, real estate gains tax and real estate transfer tax?
  • Variant 2: Does anything change in the tax consequences compared to Variant 1?

Case 4: Intercantonal replacements of private and business assets

1. facts: owner-occupied residential property: unit method

In 2012, the Zürcher family purchased a beautiful single-family house in the canton of Thurgau (investment costs CHF 900,000). In 2019, the Zürcher family sells this property again (sale proceeds CHF 1.3 million) and acquires a replacement property in the canton of Zurich (investment costs CHF 1.2 million). The Zürcher family does not find its way in the canton of Zurich, which is why it also sells the corresponding property again in 2023 (sale proceeds CHF 1.5 million). In the canton of Glarus, they find what they are looking for in a remote location and reinvest the proceeds from the sale of the Zurich property in an old, spacious farmhouse in the same year (investment costs CHF 1.9 million). But happiness does not last long in Glarus. The Zürcher family does not feel called to live a life of self-cultivation after all. In 2026, they also sell the old farmhouse and decide on a minimalist lifestyle with the greatest possible renunciation of property, which is why they rent a cooperative apartment (sale proceeds CHF 1.85 million).

Questions

  • Which canton can tax which real estate gain and to what extent?
  • How is it ensured that the profit deferred in a canton is known to the respective canton of immigration?

2. facts of the case: operating property (system change)

TG-Produktions AG, based in the canton of Thurgau, is on a strong expansion course. It has production halls in the canton of Thurgau. Property No. 41 in Kreuzlingen proves to be no longer suitable for its purposes, which is why it is sold. In the canton of Zurich, a replacement property is acquired in n and part of the production is transferred to this much more spacious property. The product manufactured there flops as a result of an economic slump, which is why production in the canton of Zurich is discontinued again. The production property is also sold for CHF 3,400,000 in year n+4.

Sold property in TG:
  • Profit tax value: 1'150'000
  • Plant costs: 1'300'000
  • Proceeds from the sale: 1'450'000
Replacement object in ZH
  • Purchase price: 3'500'000

Variant 1:

Handwerker AG, which is headquartered in the canton of Zurich, holds two operating properties in its ownership. One site is located in the city of Zurich, the other in Winterthur. Due to a restructuring of the business processes, Handwerker AG decides to give up the location in Winterthur in favor of a location in Weinfelden in order to better serve the market segment Eastern Switzerland. The operating property in Winterthur will be sold in 2019 for CHF 7.8 million. In 2019, an operating property in Weinfelden will be acquired for CHF 8 million. In 2022, Handwerker AG will merge with a larger competitor. As a result of a structural adjustment, the property in Weinfelden will be sold again for CHF 8.2 million.

Regarding the sold property in Winterthur, the following information is known:

  • Profit tax value: 5'000'000
  • Plant costs: 6'500'000
  • Market value 20 years ago: 7'000'000

Questions basic variant and variant 1

  • Can a replacement be claimed and to what extent?
  • Who is entitled to the right of taxation upon the sale of the replacement property?

Variant 2:

Handwerker AG relocates its registered office as of 30.6.2022 from Canton A to Canton B. The operating property in Canton A is already sold in 2020. The replacement acquisition will take place in 2023 in canton B, which is why the capital gain is booked as a replacement acquisition provision in the 2020 financial statements. Canton A has a generous practice with regard to the replacement acquisition period. Canton B, on the other hand, sets this period to 2 years.

Questions

  • Can Canton B tax the replacement provision in 2022 in accordance with its practice?
  • Can Handwerker AG at best invoke good faith?

Case 5: Capital gains in monistic and dualistic cantons and STAF reductions

1. facts of the case

Alternative AG, based in Rapperswil, SG, develops innovative and sustainable solutions for heat generation and regulation. It has a modern research center in the hip industrial district in Zurich, which is treated as a permanent establishment for tax purposes. In addition, for historical reasons - it was originally used as a real estate company by the father of the current sole shareholder and then converted into an industrial company by the innovative son - it has investment properties in the cantons of Zurich and Thurgau.

In 2021, Alternative AG reports a profit of CHF 5 million, which can be broken down as follows:

  • Operating profit: CHF 1 million This is allocated 60% to the canton of St. Gallen and 40% to the canton of Zurich according to the quota-based indirect method based on the acquisition factors
  • Net real estate income Zurich: CHF 500,000 (variant: CHF 0)
  • Net real estate income Thurgau: CHF 500,000 (variant: CHF 1 million)
  • Capital gain from the sale of a property in the canton of Zurich: CHF 3 million (no reinvested depreciation)(variant: property in the canton of Thurgau)

Alternative AG has R&D expenses of CHF 2 million which qualify for the additional deduction under Art. 25b StHG.

Questions

  • How does intercantonal tax equalization present itself from the perspective of the Canton of Zurich?
  • Variant: How does the intercantonal tax differentiation present itself from the perspective of the Canton of Thurgau?

Case 6: Loss from foreign real estate

1. facts of the case: business premises with real estate

Butterfly Management GmbH, headquartered in Kreuzlingen, has an operating facility in Constance (Germany). It also holds an operating property there. Due to sluggish business, Butterfly Management GmbH is forced to sell the German premises in 2022. The business premises will continue to be operated in rented commercial premises.

The accounting picture is as follows:

variant:

The property in Constance is an investment property without an operating facility.

Questions

  • How does loss offsetting work in the international context for direct federal tax?
  • As in state and local taxes?
  • How should the variant be assessed?

Case 7: International real estate company

1. facts of the case

EURInvestment HoldCo is a private holding company based in London, UK. Through a real estate company based in London, UK, it holds various properties throughout Europe, including two commercial properties in Zug and Bern. EURInvestment HoldCo decides to sell the shares of its real estate company to a Luxembourg fund.

Before acquiring the shares, the Luxembourg fund would like to clarify what tax consequences it will face if it resells the shares in the real estate company.

Questions

  • Does the sale of the shares in the real estate company trigger taxation in Switzerland?
  • Does the situation change if the real estate company has its registered office in Luxembourg instead of London?
  • What must be considered for the Luxembourg fund in the event of a resale?

Case 8: Deconstruction costs

1. facts of the case

Mr. X., resident in the canton of Thurgau, purchased an aging vacation home in the canton of Ticino in 2020 which is in need of renovation. This will be demolished and rebuilt in 2022. In the canton of Graubünden, Mr. X. also still owns a vacation home (private assets). Regarding the tax period 2022, a profit cost surplus of CHF 100,000 remains in the canton Ticino after the first debt interest transfer due to the deduction of the deconstruction costs. Both in the main tax domicile and in the canton Grisons, positive net asset income continues to be recorded after the 2nd debt interest transfer.

Question

  • How is the "deduction surplus" from the canton of Ticino to be taken into account in the intercantonal tax equalization?
CHF
150.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback

Laetitia Fracheboud

Olivier Margraf

Interkantonale und grenzüberschreitende Grundstücktransaktionen

Workshop von Laetitia Fracheboud und Olivier Margraf anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 12./13. September 2022 mit dem Titel «Interkantonale und grenzüberschreitende Grundstücktransaktionen».

09/2022
Der vollständige Seminarordner kann für
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
150.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden.
Die Workshops sind auch einzeln in der Rubrik «Unterlagen» verfügbar.
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fall 1: Verlustverrechnung interkantonal

1. Sachverhalt

Die Eat-Sperience AG mit Sitz in Basel wird zu 100% von der Experience Holding AG ebenfalls mit Sitz in Basel gehalten. Sie betreibt in allen Kantonen der Deutschschweiz Restaurants, die wahre Gastroerlebnisse anbieten. Im Kanton Basel-Stadt befindet sich das Restaurant in einer Liegenschaft an bester Lage, welche der Eat-Sperience AG gehört. In den übrigen Kantonen hat die Eat-Sperience AG passende Räumlichkeiten angemietet.

Bis und mit 2018 verzeichnete die Eat-Sperience AG ansprechende Gewinne. Dann aber machte sie mit verunreinigtem Fisch in ihrem Restaurant in Basel Schlagzeilen. Seither ist sie mit teuren Zivilprozessen konfrontiert und die Gäste bleiben aus. Durch die Corona-Krise spitzte sich die Situation weiter zu. In den Jahren 2019 bis und mit 2021 verzeichnete die Eat-Sperience AG daher folgende Verluste, die für Zwecke der direkten Bundessteuer und der Kantons- und Gemeindesteuern akzeptiert werden:

  • 2019: CHF 20 Mio.
  • 2020: CHF 15 Mio.
  • 2021: CHF 10 Mio.

Auch für 2022 wird ein Verlust erwartet. Der Experience Holding AG ist klar, dass sich die Eat-Sperience AG wohl nur ganz erholen kann, wenn sie von einem unabhängigen Dritten übernommen wird. Für einen Verkauf des Gastrobetriebs ist sie aufgrund der hochkarätigen Liegenschaft in Basel aber zu schwer. Um die Gesellschaft auf einen möglichen Verkauf vorzubereiten, soll daher die Liegenschaft separat verkauft werden.

Es ist unsicher, wann für die Liegenschaft eine geeignete Käuferin gefunden werden kann. Ausserdem ist der Experience Holding AG aus früheren M&A- Transaktionen bewusst, dass sich kaum ein Käufer finden lassen wird, der bereit ist, für die Verlustvorträge zu bezahlen. Daher beschliesst die Eat-Sperience AG ihre Liegenschaft zum Preis von CHF 55 Mio. an ihre 100%-ige Schwestergesellschaft Immo-Sperience AG zu verkaufen. Später soll diese dann die Liegenschaft an einen Dritten veräussern.

Über die Liegenschaft der Eat-Sperience AG ist Folgendes bekannt:

  • Verkehrswert: ca. CHF 65 Mio. (gemäss einem unabhängigen Schätzungsgutachten)
  • Anlagekosten: CHF 20 Mio.
  • Buchwert / Gewinnsteuerwert: CHF 10 Mio.
  • Aufgrund zahlreicher Drittmieter reicht die Liegenschaft nach der Praxis des Kantons Basel-Stadt aus, um einen Immobilienbetrieb zu begründen.

Variante

Die Liegenschaft befindet sich nicht in Basel, sondern in Frauenfeld.

Fragen

  • Welche Folgen hat der Verkauf der Liegenschaft in Basel für die Gewinnsteuer, die Grundstückgewinnsteuer und die Handänderungssteuer?
  • Wie ist für die Verlustverrechnung in der Praxis vorzugehen?
  • Variante: Welche Folgen hat der Verkauf der Liegenschaft in Frauenfeld für die Gewinnsteuer, die Grundstückgewinnsteuer und die Handänderungssteuer?

Fall 2: Wirtschaftliche Handänderung bei interkantonalen Immobiliengesellschaften I

1. Sachverhalt

John Holiday wohnt im Kanton Wallis. Er hält u.a. auch eine 100%-Beteiligung an der Mostindien Immobilien AG mit Sitz im Kanton Thurgau, die je eine Liegenschaft im Kanton Thurgau und im Kanton St. Gallen hält. John, genervt von den seiner Auffassung nach extrem fiskalistischen Thurgauer Steuerbehörden, entschliesst sich, seine Brücken zum Kanton Thurgau gänzlich abzubrechen. Er findet eine Investorin, die Greater Zurich Real Estate AG, deren Immobilienportefeuille sich über die ganze Schweiz erstreckt, welche 100% der Aktien an der Mostindien Immobilien AG erwirbt.

Das Bilanzbild im Jahr n gestaltet sich wie folgt:

Der Kaufpreis der Aktien der Mostindien Immobilien AG beläuft sich auf CHF 2.15 Mio.

Variante 2

Johns langjähriger rechtlicher Beistand ist nicht mehr ganz auf der Höhe des steuerlichen Fachwissens. Daher wird darauf verzichtet, in Bezug auf den Verkauf des Aktienpakets ein Ruling einzuholen. Die Mostindien Immobilien AG verfügt über viel (überschüssige) Liquidität, die John in den Veräusserungserlös einpreist. Die Greater Zurich Real Estate AG schüttet im Jahr n+2 eine erhebliche Substanzdividende (überschüssige Liquidität) von CHF 450'000 aus.

Fragen

  • Welchen Steuerfolgen unterliegt John für die Aktienveräusserung?
  • Wie werden allfällige Steuerfolgen auf die beteiligten Kantone Thurgau und St. Gallen alloziert?
  • Ergeben sich allenfalls auch Steuerfolgen für die Mostindien Immobilien AG?
  • Variante 2: Muss John allenfalls auch weitere Steuerfolgen befürchten?

Fall 3: Wirtschaftliche Handänderung bei interkantonalen Immobiliengesellschaften II

1. Sachverhalt

Die Immobilien Group AG, ZG wird zu je 50% von Frau Häberli und ihrem Bruder Herrn Häberli mit Wohnsitz im Kanton Zürich bzw. Basel-Landschaft gehalten. Die Geschwister halten ihre Anteile im Privatvermögen. Die Immobilien Group AG hält wiederum zwei Tochtergesellschaften zu je 100%, die Real Estate West AG und die Real Estate Nord-Ost AG. Sämtliche Gesellschaften haben Sitz im Kanton Zug. Über die Tochtergesellschaften der Immobilien Group AG ist ausserdem Folgendes bekannt:

  • Real Estate West AG: hält Geschäftsimmobilien in den Kantonen LU, FR und VD;
  • Real Estate Nord-Ost AG: hält Geschäftsimmobilien in den Kantonen SG, TG, AR und GR.

Nun verkauft Frau Häberli ihren 50%-Anteil an der Immobilien Group AG an ihren Bruder.

Variante 1

Die Immobilien Group AG verkauft ihre 100%-Beteiligung an der Real Estate West AG zum Verkehrswert an einen Drittinvestor.

Variante 2

Die Immobilien Group AG verkauft 51% der Anteile an der Real Estate West AG zum Verkehrswert an einen Drittinvestor.

Fragen

  • Welche Folgen hat die Veräusserung des 50%-Anteils an der Immobilien Group AG für die Einkommenssteuer, die Grundstückgewinnsteuer und die Handänderungssteuer?
  • Variante 1: Welche Folgen hat die Veräusserung der 100%-Beteiligung an der Real Estate West AG für die Gewinnsteuer, die Grundstückgewinnsteuer und die Handänderungssteuer?
  • Variante 2: Ändert sich im Vergleich zur Variante 1 etwas an den Steuerfolgen?

Fall 4: Interkantonale Ersatzbeschaffungen im Privat- und Geschäftsvermögensbereich

1. Sachverhalt: Selbstgenutztes Wohneigentum: Einheitsmethode

Familie Zürcher hat in 2012 im Kanton Thurgau ein schmuckes Einfamilienhäuschen gekauft (Anlagekosten CHF 900'000). In 2019 verkauft Familie Zürcher dieses Grundstück wieder (Veräusserungserlös CHF 1.3 Mio.) und erwirbt im Kanton Zürich ein Ersatzobjekt (Anlagekosten CHF 1.2 Mio.). Familie Zürcher findet sich im Kanton Zürich nicht zurecht, weshalb sie das entsprechende Grundstück in 2023 auch wieder veräussert (Veräusserungserlös CHF 1.5 Mio.). Im Kanton Glarus wird sie an abgelegener Stelle fündig und reinvestiert den Veräusserungserlös aus der Zürcher Liegenschaft im gleichen Jahr in ein altes, geräumiges Bauernhaus (Anlagekosten CHF 1.9 Mio.). Doch das Glück währt auch im Glarner Land nicht lange. Familie Zürcher fühlt sich doch nicht zum Eigenbewirtschafterleben berufen. Sie veräussert nun in 2026 auch das alte Bauernhaus und entscheidet sich für einen minimalistischen Lebensentwurf mit grösstmöglichem Verzicht auf Eigentum, weshalb sie sich in eine Genossenschaftswohnung einmietet (Veräusserungserlös CHF 1.85 Mio.).

Fragen

  • Welcher Kanton kann welchen Grundstückgewinn in welchem Umfang besteuern?
  • Wie wird sichergestellt, dass der in einem Kanton aufgeschobene Gewinn dem jeweiligen Zuzugskanton bekannt wird?

2. Sachverhalt: Betriebsliegenschaft (Systemwechsel)

Die TG-Produktions AG mit Sitz im Kanton Thurgau ist auf starkem Expansionskurs. Im Kanton Thurgau verfügt sie über Produktionshallen. Das Grundstück Nr. 41 in Kreuzlingen erweist sich für ihre Zwecke als nicht mehr geeignet, weshalb dieses veräussert wird. Im Kanton Zürich wird im Jahr n ein Ersatzgrundstück erworben und ein Teil der Produktion in diese weit geräumigere Liegenschaft verlegt. Das dort hergestellte Produkt floppt infolge eines Konjunktureinbruchs, weshalb die Produktion im Kanton Zürich wieder eingestellt wird. Die Produktionsliegenschaft wird für CHF 3'400'000 im Jahr n+4 ebenfalls veräussert.

Veräussertes Grundstück in TG:
  • Gewinnsteuerwert: 1'150'000
  • Anlagekosten: 1'300'000
  • Veräusserungserlös: 1'450'000
Ersatzobjekt in ZH
  • Kaufpreis: 3'500'000

Variante 1:

Die Handwerker AG mit Sitz im Kanton Zürich hält zwei Betriebsliegenschaften in ihrem Eigentum. Der eine Standort befindet sich in der Stadt Zürich, der andere in Winterthur. Aufgrund einer Neustrukturierung der Geschäftsprozesse entschliesst sich die Handwerker AG, den Standort Winterthur zu Gunsten eines Standortes in Weinfelden aufzugeben, um das Marktsegment Ostschweiz besser bearbeiten zu können. Die Betriebsliegenschaft in Winterthur wird in 2019 für CHF 7.8 Mio. veräussert. In 2019 wird eine Betriebsliegenschaft in Weinfelden für CHF 8 Mio. erworben. In 2022 fusioniert die Handwerker AG mit einem grösseren Mitbewerber. Infolge einer Strukturanpassung wird die Betriebsliegenschaft in Weinfelden wiederum für CHF 8.2 Mio. veräussert.

Betreffend das veräusserte Grundstück in Winterthur sind folgende Angaben bekannt:

  • Gewinnsteuerwert: 5'000'000
  • Anlagekosten: 6'500'000
  • Verkehrswertwert vor 20 Jahren: 7'000'000

Fragen Grundvariante und Variante 1

  • Kann eine Ersatzbeschaffung geltend gemacht werden und in welchem Umfang?
  • Wem steht das Besteuerungsrecht bei der Veräusserung des Ersatzobjektes zu?

Variante 2:

Die Handwerker AG verlegt ihren Sitz per 30.6.2022 vom Kanton A in den Kanton B. Die Betriebsliegenschaft im Kanton A wird bereits in 2020 veräussert. Die Ersatzbeschaffung findet in 2023 im Kanton B statt, weshalb der Kapitalgewinn in der Jahresrechnung 2020 als Ersatzbeschaffungsrückstellung verbucht wird. Kanton A kennt eine grosszügige Praxis in Bezug auf die Ersatzbeschaffungsfrist. Kanton B hingegen setzt diese Frist auf 2 Jahre an.

Fragen

  • Kann der Kanton B gemäss seiner Praxis die Ersatzbeschaffungsrückstellung in 2022 besteuern?
  • Kann sich die Handwerker AG allenfalls auf Treu und Glauben berufen?

Fall 5: Veräusserungsgewinne in monistischen und dualistischen Kantonen und STAF-Ermässigungen

1. Sachverhalt

Die Alternative AG mit Sitz in Rapperswil, SG entwickelt innovative und nachhaltige Lösungen für die Wärmeerzeugung und -regulierung. Sie verfügt über ein modernes Forschungszentrum im hippen Industriequartier in Zürich, das für Steuerzwecke als Betriebsstätte behandelt wird. Ausserdem verfügt sie aus historischen Gründen – sie wurde vom Vater des heutigen Alleinaktionärs ursprünglich als Immobiliengesellschaft genutzt und dann durch den innovativen Sohn in eine Industriegesellschaft umfunktioniert – über Kapitalanlageliegenschaften in den Kantonen Zürich und Thurgau.

Im Jahr 2021 weist die Alternative AG einen Gewinn von CHF 5 Mio. aus, der sich wie folgt zusammensetzt:

  • Betriebsgewinn: CHF 1 Mio. Dieser wird nach der quotenmässig indirekten Methode aufgrund der Erwerbsfaktoren zu 60% dem Kanton St. Gallen und zu 40% dem Kanton Zürich zugewiesen
  • Nettoliegenschaftsertrag Zürich: CHF 500'000 (Variante: CHF 0)
  • Nettoliegenschaftsertrag Thurgau: CHF 500'000 (Variante: CHF 1 Mio.)
  • Kapitalgewinn aus der Veräusserung einer Liegenschaft im Kanton Zürich: CHF 3 Mio. (keine wiedereingebrachten Abschreibungen) (Variante: Liegenschaft im Kanton Thurgau)

Die Alternative AG verfügt über F&E-Aufwendungen von CHF 2 Mio., die zum Zusatzabzug nach Art. 25b StHG berechtigen.

Fragen

  • Wie präsentiert sich die interkantonale Steuerausscheidung aus Sicht des Kantons Zürich?
  • Variante: Wie präsentiert sich die interkantonale Steuerausscheidung aus Sicht des Kantons Thurgau?

Fall 6: Verlust aus ausländischer Liegenschaft

1. Sachverhalt: Betriebsstätte mit Liegenschaft

Die Butterfly Management GmbH mit Sitz in Kreuzlingen verfügt über eine Betriebsstätte in Konstanz (D). Ebenso hält sie dort eine Betriebsliegenschaft. Aufgrund schleppenden Geschäftsganges ist die Butterfly Management GmbH in 2022 gezwungen, die deutsche Betriebsliegenschaft zu veräussern. Die Betriebsstätte wird in zugemieteten Gewerberäumlichkeiten weitergeführt.

Es zeigt sich folgendes buchhalterisches Bild:

Variante:

Bei der Liegenschaft in Konstanz handelt es sich um eine Kapitalanlage- liegenschaft ohne Betriebsstätte.

Fragen

  • Wie gestaltet sich die Verlustverrechnung im internationalen Kontext bei der direkten Bundessteuer?
  • Wie bei den Staats- und Gemeindesteuern?
  • Wie ist die Variante zu beurteilen?

Fall 7: Internationale Immobiliengesellschaft

1. Sachverhalt

Die EURInvestment HoldCo ist eine private Holdinggesellschaft mit Sitz in London, UK. Über eine Immobiliengesellschaft mit Sitz in London, UK hält sie diverse Liegenschaften in ganz Europa, darunter zwei Geschäftsliegenschaften in Zug und Bern. Die EURInvestment HoldCo beschliesst, die Anteile ihrer Immobiliengesellschaft an einen luxemburgischen Fonds zu verkaufen.

Der luxemburgische Fonds möchte vor dem Erwerb der Anteile klären, welche Steuerfolgen dereinst auf ihn zukommen, wenn er die Anteile der Immobiliengesellschaft weiterveräussert.

Fragen

  • Löst die Veräusserung der Anteile an der Immobiliengesellschaft eine Besteuerung in der Schweiz aus?
  • Ändert sich etwas an der Situation, wenn die Immobiliengesellschaft ihren Sitz in Luxemburg statt in London hat?
  • Was ist für den luxemburgischen Fonds im Falle einer Weiterveräusserung zu beachten?

Fall 8: Rückbaukosten

1. Sachverhalt

Herr X., wohnhaft im Kanton Thurgau, hat im Jahr 2020 im Kanton Tessin ein in die Jahre gekommenes und sanierungsbedürftiges Ferienhaus erworben. Dieses wird im Jahr 2022 abgebrochen und neu aufgebaut. Im Kanton Graubünden hält Herr X. ebenfalls noch eine Ferienwohnung in seinem Eigentum (Privatvermögen). Betreffend Steuerperiode 2022 verbleibt im Kanton Tessin nach der ersten Schuldzinsenverlegung aufgrund des Abzugs der Rückbaukosten ein Gewinnungskostenüberschuss von CHF 100‘000. Sowohl im Hauptsteuerdomizil als auch im Kanton Graubünden sind nach der 2. Schuldzinsenverlegung nach wie vor positive Nettovermögenserträge zu verzeichnen.

Frage

  • Wie ist der «Abzugsüberschuss» aus dem Kanton Tessin in der interkantonalen Steuerausscheidung zu berücksichtigen?
CHF
150.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).