The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback

Napoleão Dagnese

Balthasar Denger

Thomas Hugh

International transactions involving intellectual property

Workshop by Napoleão Dagnese, Balthasar Denger and Thomas Hug on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar on 27 June 2022 entitled "International transactions involving intellectual property".

06/2022
Download:
none
The complete seminar folder can be ordered for
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
can be purchased in the shop.
The workshops are also available individually in the "Documents" section.
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Basic facts

An international, listed group with global headquarters in the canton of Zurich is active in the production of beverages. Various market analyses show that the main value drivers of the group are the ABC brand ("brand") and the distinctive design of the beverage bottles ("design"). The beverages are produced according to the company's own secret recipe ("recipe"). The brand is used for the external appearance of the Group on the one hand and for the distribution of the beverages on the other hand.

The Group's operating business is structured legally and operationally as follows:

  • ABC AG, based in Zurich (the Group's ultimate parent company and headquarters), is responsible for the legal protection of the brand and design in the various sales markets (including renewal of local registration rights, defence against unauthorised use of the brand), the strategic further development of the brand and the development and coordination of the global marketing campaigns. While the marketing department ("global marketing") is located at ABC AG with headquarters in Zurich itself, the legal department ("legal department") responsible for the global protection of the brand and the design was outsourced to the 100% subsidiary ABC Management AG with headquarters in Zug, which is compensated for this by ABC AG on the basis of the transactional net margin method with a net cost premium of 5% (Transactional Net Margin Method with Net Cost Plus as Profit Level Indicator, in short "NCP "1). In addition, ABC AG had developed the beverage recipe years ago, which had since been kept secret, and incorporated it into ABC IP Ltd (see below). The group's research and development department at ABC AG is also responsible for the further development and adaptation of the recipe ("R&D").
  • The formal owner of the property rights to the brand and the design in the various countries is the 100% subsidiary ABC IP Ltd. based in the Bahamas. In addition, this company owns the recipe for the production of the concentrate, which is sold by the production companies to independent bottlers and distributors. ABC IP Ltd. pays all fees for the registration and extension of the worldwide trademark and property rights, which are initiated by ABC AG and carried out by ABC Management AG on behalf of ABC IP Ltd. ABC IP Ltd. compensates ABC AG for this on the basis of the NCP with a mark-up of 5%. In addition, it remunerates ABC AG for the development and coordination of the global marketing campaigns as well as the research and development activities, also on the basis of the NCP with a mark-up of 8% according to a benchmarking study by independent marketing agencies. In return, ABC IP Ltd. charges the Group's production companies a licence fee based on short, written contracts. According to the wording of the contracts, the subject of the licence is "various IP rights necessary for the business".
  • In the individual sales markets, the group has local country companies, including ABC (Österreich) AG. The country companies are responsible for country-specific marketing, which is implemented within the framework of the global conditions set by ABC AG (e.g. global marketing campaigns that are adapted to the individual countries). Furthermore, the national companies are the contact for the independent licence partners who are responsible for the bottling and distribution of the beverages (see below). The national companies are also compensated by ABC IP Ltd. on the basis of the above-mentioned benchmarking study by means of NCP and a premium of 8%.
  • Furthermore, the group has regional production companies which produce the concentrate of the beverages on the basis of a secret recipe ("recipe") according to the specifications of ABC IP Ltd. and subsequently resell it to the independent licence partners (licence production). This activity is carried out on the basis of the above-mentioned licence agreements with ABC IP Ltd. For the Western and Northern Europe region, the Dutch ABC Production BV is responsible for this. Due to a conscious decision by the management, the secret recipe has not been protected under intellectual property law in any country. This is to prevent competitors from gaining access to the ingredients via local protection registers.
  • The concentrate is then sold by the respective production companies to independent third parties who dilute the concentrate on the basis of a licence agreement per country, fill it into bottles and then sell it independently to the customers (retail trade, gastronomy) according to the guidelines. In Austria, the independent Lizenzpartner AG is responsible for this and buys the concentrate from ABC Production BV in the Netherlands. The purchase price of the concentrate covers the exclusive filling and distribution rights for the beverages, i.e. no separate licence fees are charged.

(Basic facts based on US court decision Coca-Cola Co. v. Commissioner, 155 T.C. No. 10 (2020), but with a different structure regarding the exploitation of intellectual property rights)

Case 1: Attribution of intangible assets

1. facts of the case

See basic facts.

Questions

  • Question 1: How do the OECD Transfer Pricing Guidelines 2022 define the term "intangibles" and which ones are involved in the present case?
  • Question 2: Since the BEPS project, the OECD distinguishes - even if these terms are not explicitly mentioned in the OECD Transfer Pricing Guidelines 2017 or 2022 - between a "legal", a "financial" and a "functional" ownership of intangible assets. What is meant by this and what are the transfer pricing consequences?
  • Question 3: To which group company(ies) are the following intangible assets to be allocated for transfer pricing purposes:
    - trademark;
    - design;
    - recipe;
    - production know-how;
    - sales rights;
    - customer relationships?
  • Question 4: May the written contracts be completely ignored in the transfer pricing attribution of the trademark, design and recipe?
  • Question 5: Can the parent company ABC AG charge the subsidiaries compensation "on the merits" for the use of the trademark "ABC" in its business appearance (e.g. in the company name)?
  • Question 6: ABC AG has a subsidiary in India, XYZ Ltd, which produces and sells chocolate bars in India. The subsidiary appears in business transactions as "XYZ Ltd. - An ABC Group Company". Can ABC AG charge its Indian subsidiary a trademark licence for this "on the merits"?
  • Question 7: How is the fact that the marketing activities are carried out by ABC AG but the legal activities by ABC Management AG taken into account in terms of transfer pricing?

Case 2: Third-party compensation IP licensing

1. facts of the case

See basic facts. Assumption that the transfer pricing effectively flows to ABC IP Ltd.

Questions

  • Question 1: What methods could be used to determine royalty payments from the production companies to ABC IP Ltd?
  • Question 2: What should be considered with regard to the royalty payments collected by ABC IP Ltd?

Case 3: Third-party compensation IP transfer

1. facts of the case

As part of an internal reorganisation, the ABC Group plans to sell the intangible assets (brand, design, recipe) together with global marketing and R&D to the newly founded company ABC Development Ltd. in the UK. The legal department will remain in Switzerland. In order to use existing loss carry-forwards in ABC AG, the sale is to be made at fair value. As the legal ownership of the brand and the design is with ABC IP Ltd, both ABC AG and ABC IP Ltd will act as sellers.

Questions

  • Question 1: Which methods or models for determining the intra-group purchase price do the OECD foresee in its Transfer Pricing Guidelines 2022?
  • Question 2: Which company is the seller from a transfer pricing perspective?

Case 4: Preventive conflict resolution

1. facts of the case

See facts of case 3 (assuming that functional ownership of the relevant intangible assets was with ABC AG in Switzerland).

Question

  • What options are open to ABC AG to create legal certainty in advance with regard to the arm's length nature of the compensation for the transfer of assets and functions to the UK? What are the advantages and disadvantages of these instruments?
    - Unilateral (Switzerland)
    - Bilateral (Switzerland and UK)

Case 5: Curative conflict resolution

1. facts of the case

See basic facts.

As part of an audit of ABC AG's books in March 2017 by the Zurich Cantonal Tax Office for the years 2014 - 2015, the company's tax commissioner offset royalty income for the use of the trademark and design by the subsidiaries. The offsets amounted to the following amounts:
- ABC Production BV: CHF 3,000,000 per year;
- Other production sites: CHF 2,000,000 per year each.

The offsets were accepted by ABC AG in April 2017, as they corresponded to the licence fees that these companies had effectively paid to ABC IP Ltd. with its registered office in the Bahamas. The assessment became legally effective on 3 May 2017.

Questions

  • Question 1: In the course of a tax audit by the Belastingdienst, a part of the licence fee amounting to CHF 1,000,000 will be charged to the company ABC Production BV as a hidden profit distribution in November 2019. The assessment will be served on 2 November 2019. The corporate tax department of the ABC Group in Switzerland will be informed immediately. How can the ABC Group legally defend itself? How does the situation differ from that of the other production sites? What could be the consequences of similar tax audits at the other production sites?
  • Question 2: In the course of a tax audit by the Vienna tax office, a turnover-based compensation in the amount of CHF 500,000 was offset against the company ABC (Österreich) AG as a hidden profit distribution in October 2019. This offset became legally effective on 15 December 2019. Unfortunately, the Group Tax Department will not learn of this final assessment until 1 December 2022. How can the ABC Group still legally defend itself?
CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback
Sonstige
ISTR

Napoleão Dagnese

Balthasar Denger

Thomas Hug

Internationale Transaktionen mit Bezug auf Immaterialgüter

Workshop von Napoleão Dagnese, Balthasar Denger und Thomas Hug anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 27. Juni 2022 mit dem Titel «Internationale Transaktionen mit Bezug auf Immaterialgüter».

06/2022
Download:
keine
Der vollständige Seminarordner kann für CHF
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden.
Die Workshops sind auch einzeln in der Rubrik «Unterlagen» verfügbar.
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Grundsachverhalt

Ein internationaler, börsenkotierter Konzern mit globalem Hauptsitz im Kanton Zürich ist in der Produktion von Getränken tätig. Verschiedene Marktanalysen zeigen, dass wesentliche Werttreiber des Konzerns die Marke ABC («Marke») sowie das unverkennbare Design der Getränkeflaschen («Design») sind. Die Getränke werden gemäss eigenem Geheimrezept («Rezept») hergestellt. Die Marke wird einerseits für den Aussenauftritt des Konzerns und andererseits für den Vertrieb der Getränke verwendet.

Das operative Geschäft des Konzerns ist rechtlich und betriebswirtschaftlich wie folgt strukturiert:

  • Die ABC AG mit Sitz in Zürich (oberste Konzerngesellschaft und Hauptsitz des Konzerns) ist zuständig für den rechtlichen Schutz der Marke und des Designs in den verschiedenen Absatzmärkten (u.a. Verlängerung von lokalen Registerrechten, Abwehr von unautorisierten Markenverwendungen), die strategische Weiterentwicklung der Marke sowie die Entwicklung und Koordination der globalen Marketingkampagnen. Während die Marketing-Abteilung («globales Marketing») bei der ABC AG mit Sitz in Zürich selbst angesiedelt ist, wurde die für den globalen Schutz der Marke und des Designs zuständige Rechtsabteilung («Rechtsabteilung») an die 100%-Tochtergesellschaft ABC Management AG mit Sitz in Zug ausgegliedert, welche dafür durch die ABC AG auf Basis der geschäftsfallbezogenen Nettomargenmethode mit einem Nettokostenaufschlag von 5% (Transactional Net Margin Method mit Net Cost Plus als Profit Level Indicator, kurz «NCP»1) entschädigt wird. Zudem hatte die ABC AG vor Jahren das seither geheim gehaltene Getränkerezept entwickelt und in die ABC IP Ltd. (siehe nachfolgend) eingelegt. Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsabteilung des Konzerns bei der ABC AG ist ferner zuständig für die Weiterentwicklung und Anpassung des Rezeptes («F&E»).
  • Formelle Inhaberin der Schutzrechte an der Marke und am Design in den verschiedenen Ländern ist die 100%-Tochtergesellschaft ABC IP Ltd. mit Sitz auf den Bahamas. Zudem besitzt diese Gesellschaft das Rezept zur Herstellung des Konzentrates, welches von den Produktionsgesellschaften an unabhängige Abfüller und Vertreiber verkauft wird. Die ABC IP Ltd. bezahlt sämtliche Gebühren für die Registration und Verlängerung der weltweiten Marken- und Schutzrechte, welche durch die ABC AG angestossen und von der ABC Management AG im Namen der ABC IP Ltd. vorgenommen werden. Die ABC IP Ltd. entschädigt dafür die ABC AG auf Basis der NCP mit einem Aufschlag von 5%. Weiter entlohnt sie die ABC AG für die Entwicklung und Koordination der globalen Marketingkampagnen sowie die Forschungs- und Entwicklungstätigkeiten ebenfalls auf Basis der NCP mit einem Aufschlag von 8% gemäss einer Benchmarkingstudie von unabhängigen Marketingagenturen. Im Gegenzug verrechnet die ABC IP Ltd. den Produktionsgesellschaften der Gruppe eine Lizenzgebühr auf Basis kurzer, schriftlicher Verträge. Gemäss Wortlaut der Verträge ist der Lizenzgegenstand «verschiedene für das Geschäft notwendige IP-Rechte».
  • In den einzelnen Absatzmärkten verfügt der Konzern über lokale Ländergesellschaften, darunter die ABC (Österreich) AG. Die Ländergesellschaften sind für das länderspezifische Marketing zuständig, welches im Rahmen der durch die ABC AG global vorgegeben Rahmenbedingungen umgesetzt wird (bspw. globale Marketing-Kampagnen, welche auf die einzelnen Länder adaptiert werden). Weiter sind die Ländergesellschaften Ansprechpartner für die unabhängigen Lizenzpartner, welche für die Abfüllung und den Vertrieb der Getränke zuständig sind (siehe nachfolgend). Die Ländergesellschaften werden von der ABC IP Ltd. auf der Basis der obengenannten Benchmarkingstudie ebenfalls mittels NCP und einem Aufschlag von 8% entschädigt.
  • Weiter verfügt der Konzern über regionale Produktionsgesellschaften, welche das Konzentrat der Getränke auf Basis eines Geheimrezepts («Rezept») nach Angaben der ABC IP Ltd. produzieren und anschliessend an die unabhängigen Lizenzpartner weiterverkaufen (Lizenzfertigung). Diese Aktivität erfolgt auf der Basis der obengenannten Lizenzverträge mit ABC IP Ltd. Für die Region West- und Nordeuropa ist hierfür die niederländische ABC Production BV zuständig. Aufgrund eines bewussten Entscheides des Managements wurde das Geheimrezept in keinem Land immaterialgüterrechtlich geschützt. Dadurch soll verhindert werden, dass Konkurrenzunternehmen über lokale Schutzregister ggf. Einblick in die Bestandteile erhalten könnten.
  • Das Konzentrat wird anschliessend durch die jeweiligen Produktionsgesellschaften an unabhängige Dritte verkauft, welche auf Basis eines Lizenzvertrages pro Land das Konzentrat verdünnen, in Flaschen abfüllen und anschliessend selbständig an die Kunden (Detailhandel, Gastronomie) gemäss Richtlinien veräussern. In Österreich ist hierfür die unabhängige Lizenzpartner AG zuständig, welche das Konzentrat von der ABC Production BV in den Niederlanden abkauft. Über den Kaufpreis des Konzentrates ist das exklusive Abfüll- und Vertriebsrecht der Getränke abgegolten, d.h. es werden keine separaten Lizenzgebühren verrechnet.

(Grundsachverhalt angelehnt an US-Gerichtsentscheid Coca-Cola Co. vs Commissioner, 155 T.C. No. 10 (2020), jedoch mit einer abweichenden Struktur bezüglich der Verwertung der Immaterialgüterrechte)

Fall 1: Zurechnung von immateriellen Werten

1. Sachverhalt

Siehe Grundsachverhalt.

Fragen

  • Frage 1: Wie definieren die OECD-Verrechnungspreisleitlinien 2022 den Begriff «immaterielle Werte» und welche sind im vorliegenden Fall involviert?
  • Frage 2: Die OECD unterscheidet seit dem BEPS-Projekt – wenn auch diese Begriffe nicht explizit in den OECD-Verrechnungspreisleitlinien 2017 bzw. 2022 erwähnt sind – zwischen einem «rechtlichen», einem «finanziellen» und einem «funktionalen» Eigentum an immateriellen Werten. Was versteht man darunter und was sind die verrechnungspreislichen Konsequenzen?
  • Frage 3: Welcher Konzerngesellschaft(en) sind folgende immateriellen Werte verrechnungspreislich zuzurechnen:
    - Marke;
    - Design;
    - Rezept;
    - Produktions-Knowhow;
    - Verkaufsrechte;
    - Kundenbeziehungen?
  • Frage 4: Dürfen bei der verrechnungspreislichen Zurechnung der Marke, des Designs und des Rezepts die schriftlichen Verträge komplett ignoriert werden?
  • Frage 5: Kann die Konzernobergesellschaft ABC AG den Tochtergesellschaften eine Entschädigung «dem Grunde nach» verrechnen für die Benutzung der Marke «ABC» in ihrem Geschäftsauftritt (bspw. in der Firma)?
  • Frage 6: Die ABC AG verfügt in Indien über die Tochtergesellschaft XYZ Ltd., die Schokoladenriegel in Indien produziert und vertreibt. Die Tochtergesellschaft tritt im Geschäftsverkehr wie folgt auf «XYZ Ltd. – An ABC Group Company». Kann die ABC AG ihrer indischen Tochtergesellschaft hierfür «dem Grunde nach» eine Markenlizenz verrechnen?
  • Frage 7: Wie wird der Tatsache verrechnungspreislich Rechnung getragen, dass die Marketing-Aktivitäten durch die ABC AG ausgeführt werden, die rechtlichen Aktivitäten jedoch durch die ABC Management AG?

Fall 2: Fremdübliche Entschädigung IP-Lizenzierung

1. Sachverhalt

Siehe Grundsachverhalt. Annahme, dass die verrechnungspreislich effektiv an die ABC IP Ltd. fliesen.

Fragen

  • Frage 1: Welche Methoden könnten für die Bestimmung der Lizenzzahlungen der Produktionsgesellschaften an ABC IP Ltd. verwendet werden?
  • Frage 2: Was ist zu bedenken hinsichtlich der durch ABC IP Ltd. vereinnahmten Lizenzzahlungen?

Fall 3: Fremdübliche Entschädigung IP-Übertragung

1. Sachverhalt

Im Rahmen einer konzerninternen Reorganisation plant die ABC-Gruppe die immateriellen Werte (Marke, Design, Rezept) zusammen mit dem globalen Marketing und dem F&E an die neu gegründete Gesellschaft ABC Development Ltd. in Grossbritannien zu verkaufen. Die Rechtsabteilung verbleibt in der Schweiz. Um bestehende Verlustvorträge in der ABC AG zu nutzen, soll der Verkauf zu Verkehrswerten erfolgen. Da das rechtliche Eigentum an der Marke und am Design bei der ABC IP Ltd. ist, treten als Verkäuferinnen sowohl die ABC AG als auch die ABC IP Ltd. auf.

Fragen

  • Frage 1: Welche Methoden bzw. Modelle zur Ermittlung des konzerninternen Kaufpreises sehen die OECD in ihren Verrechnungspreisleitlinien 2022 vor?
  • Frage 2: Welche Gesellschaft ist Verkäuferin auf Sicht des Verrechnungspreisrechts?

Fall 4: Präventive Konfliktlösung

1. Sachverhalt

Siehe Sachverhalt im Fall 3 (unter der Annahme, dass das funktionale Eigentum an den relevanten immateriellen Werten bei der ABC AG in der Schweiz lag).

Frage

  • Welche Möglichkeiten stehen der ABC AG offen, in Bezug auf die Fremdüblichkeit der Entschädigung für die Übertragung der Vermögenswerte und Funktionen nach Grossbritannien vorgängig Rechtssicherheit zu schaffen? Welche Vor- und Nachteile habe diese Instrumente?
    - Unilateral (Schweiz)
    - Bilateral (Schweiz und Grossbritannien)

Fall 5: Kurative Konfliktlösung

1. Sachverhalt

Siehe Grundsachverhalt.

Im Rahmen einer Bücherrevision der ABC AG im März 2017 durch das Kantonale Steueramt Zürich für die Jahre 2014 – 2015 rechnete der Steuerkommissär der Gesellschaft Lizenzeinnahmen für die Benutzung der Marke und des Designs durch die Tochtergesellschaften auf. Die Aufrechnungen beliefen sich auf folgende Beträge:
- ABC Production BV: CHF 3'000'000 pro Jahr;
- Andere Produktionsstandorte: je CHF 2'000'000 pro Jahr

Die Aufrechnungen wurden durch die ABC AG im April 2017 akzeptiert, da diese den Lizenzgebühren entsprachen, welche diese Gesellschaften effektiv an die ABC IP Ltd. mit Sitz auf den Bahamas bezahlt hatten. Die Veranlagung erwuchs am 3. Mai 2017 in Rechtskraft.

Fragen

  • Frage 1: Im Rahmen einer Steuerprüfung durch den Belastingdienst wird der Gesellschaft ABC Production BV im November 2019 einen Teil der Lizenzgebühr im Umfang von CHF 1'000'000 als verdeckte Gewinnausschüttung aufgerechnet. Die Veranlagung wird am 2. November 2019 zugestellt. Die Konzernsteuerabteilung der ABC-Gruppe in der Schweiz wird umgehend informiert. Wie kann sich die ABC-Gruppe rechtlich zur Wehr setzen? Inwiefern unterscheidet sich die Situation von derjenigen der übrigen Produktionsstandorte? Welche Folgen könnten ähnlich gelagerte Steuerprüfungen an den übrigen Produktionsstandorten nach sich ziehen?
  • Frage 2: Im Rahmen einer Steuerprüfung durch das Finanzamt Wien wird der Gesellschaft ABC (Österreich) AG im Oktober 2019 eine umsatzbasierte Entschädigung im Umfang von CHF 500'000 als verdeckte Gewinnausschüttung aufgerechnet. Diese Aufrechnung erwuchs am 15. Dezember 2019 in Rechtskraft. Leider erfährt die Konzernsteuerabteilung erst am 1. Dezember 2022 von dieser definitiven Veranlagung. Wie kann sich die ABC-Gruppe rechtlich noch zur Wehr setzen?
CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).