The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback
Corporations

Martin Dubach

Fabienne Limacher

Reorganisation and restructuring / loss utilisation strategies

Workshop on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar on 20 April 2021 entitled "Tax aspects of corporate finance, including reorganisation topics".

04/2021
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
be on sale in the shop
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1: Loss carry-forwards and restructuring

Facts

The A Group is active in the manufacture and distribution of watches. The group's holding company, A HoldCo BV, is based in the Netherlands and holds, inter alia, A AG, based in Zurich, and BAG, based in Fribourg.

While A AG has the exclusive worldwide licensing and distribution rights for various watch brands in the low-price segment, B AG is active in the high-end luxury segment. B AG has been generating losses for a number of years (current total of tax loss carryforwards: CHF 7 million) and has consequently discontinued the production of luxury watches in 2019. However, it still has the patented design and a warehouse with the technical equipment for watch production, various watches that have been completed but not yet sold, as well as watch components and spare parts. B AG is in the process of selling the remaining watches at watch auctions to collectors and enthusiasts. Only a few pieces can be auctioned at a time, as otherwise the achievable price would collapse due to the very small market.

As part of an internal group restructuring, it is planned that A AG will absorb B AG by means of an absorption merger. The balance sheets of the two companies prior to the merger are as follows:

A AG:

Reorganization and Restructuring / Loss Utilization Strategies_zsis)_Dubach, Limacher

B AG:

Reorganization and Restructuring / Loss Utilization Strategies_zsis)_Dubach, Limacher

In the present case, it is assumed that there are no hidden reserves at B AG.

Questions

  • Is it possible to transfer loss carryforwards in the event of a prior discontinuation of operations? What criteria must be observed?
  • What are the tax consequences for A AG, B AG and the shareholder HoldCo BV?
  • Do the tax consequences change if B AG takes over the healthy A AG by means of an absorption merger?
  • Variant: The remaining assets of B AG with a book value of CHF 2 million have a market value of CHF 4 million. A AG takes over the ailing B AG by means of an absorption merger and the hidden reserves in the amount of CHF 1 million are to be disclosed. Does the disclosure of the hidden reserves affect the loss absorption?

Variant

The A Group has another related group company, C AG, with its registered office in Zurich, which is very profitable. In the course of a restructuring, C AG buys 100% of the shares in A AG, which has merged with B AG, as it is interested, among other things, in the warehouse with the technical equipment, watches and watch components and spare parts. It pays CHF 13.4 million for this, consisting of the asset surplus of CHF 12 million plus CHF 1.4 million (corresponding to the tax rate of 20% multiplied by the sum of loss carry-forwards of CHF 7 million, which can still be used and, according to the assessment notice of the tax administration of Fribourg, are also shown in this amount) as the presumed market value. The loss carryforwards originate from seven financial years of B AG preceding the merger date, including one extra-long year of formation (n-8). There are presumably no hidden reserves at A AG. Shortly afterwards, it is decided to merge A AG and C AG (up-stream merger) instead of an asset deal with subsequent liquidation. As a result, all loss carry-forwards are to be offset against C profits in the same financial year and the merger loss is to be written off over five years. Regarding the takeover of the loss carry-forwards, the tax advisor recommends the preparation of a tax ruling, which is also approved by the Zurich Cantonal Tax Office ("KSTA ZH").

Questions

  • What are the tax consequences of the absorption merger for A AG and C AG?
  • In the context of the assessment discussions, the KSTA ZH comes to speak about the tax ruling. It considered that the planned procedure would be examined with regard to tax avoidance. The in-house tax expert is of the opinion that there is no risk due to the binding effect of the tax ruling. Is this correct?
  • In the course of the assessment discussions, the KSTA ZH comes to discuss the amount of the loss carryforwards and the merger loss, neither of which were the subject of the tax ruling. How are these to be treated?
  • The in-house tax expert did not report the merger loss subject to withholding tax. Is that a problem?

Case 2: Loss exploitation strategies

Facts

Schönwetter AG, with its registered office in Zurich, is in the red as a result of the pandemic, but is neither overindebted nor suffering a capital loss. Its balance sheet includes a capitalized property (book value=purchase price=investment costs), which has experienced a significant increase in value in recent years. In addition, Schönwetter AG owns an originally created trademark, which is not included in the balance sheet, but is registered in various trademark registers worldwide (including the EU register in Germany). In addition, it has a very valuable 5% shareholding in Schlechtwetter AG, which is reported in the balance sheet at acquisition value. Last but not least, the allegedly no longer recoverable and value-adjusted shareholder loan (asset loan) of the sister company Tauwetter AG, domiciled in Basel, is a recurring topic, which it could take over. Schön- and Tauwetter AG are held by a German company which is also in economic difficulties.

All companies hope to achieve the turnaround, so that profits are expected again, especially at the Swiss companies. However, since a re-dimensioning will take place, the expected profits at the level of Schönwetter AG will not be sufficient to use all the loss carry-forwards. The CFO is not happy about this, as the auditing firm wants to correct the DTA formed (= ETR x sum of loss carry-forwards) as part of the annual impairment test, which will reduce the equity base contrary to his expectations. In order to be able to use the loss carryforwards (which will probably expire in the future), possibilities are therefore being sought.

For this purpose, the following procedures are planned by the in-house tax expert and checked by you as the tax consultant for tax advantages, disadvantages, opportunities and risks (SWOT analysis):

  • Incorporation of a brand management company based in Zug and sale of the Schönwetter trademark at fair market value
  • Purchase of the shareholder loan that is no longer recoverable
  • Sale of the 5% stake in Schlechtwetter AG to a Group company

Questions

  • What conclusion do you come to for the ideas you have in mind?
  • Schönwetter AG is going from bad to worse and now has a capital loss. Moreover, the first loss carryforwards have already expired. The in-house tax expert has the idea that a revaluation of the property is possible. Is he right and what are the tax consequences? If the assets are revalued to the level of the market values, could the extended loss offset option within the meaning of Art. 67 para. 2 DBG be used?

Case 3: Loss-utilisation strategies for real estate

Facts

HoldCo holds a 100% interest in Bau AG, an operating company active in the construction supply sector with modern production facilities, and in Immo AG, which holds a real estate portfolio.

Bau AG expected an operating loss for the 2020 financial year as a result of the pandemic, the temporary cessation of construction activity by customers and a production standstill due to an interruption in the supply chain at its own suppliers. Due to the expected negative business performance, Bau AG sold its operating property located in a monistic canton to Immo AG at a market value of CHF 12 million in the course of 2020 and leased back the required production and office buildings ("sale & lease back" or "carve out"). Bau AG had purchased the operating property 30 years ago at a price of CHF 1.5 million and subsequently made value-enhancing investments of CHF 4 million. The market value of the property 20 years ago is CHF 6.5 million.

As a result of the sale of the property, Bau AG ultimately generated a net profit of CHF 6 million in 2020 (the operating loss amounted to CHF 1 million and the book profit from the sale of the property to CHF 7 million). Bau AG also has tax loss carryforwards from previous years of CHF 5 million.  

In summary, the key factors at Bau AG in 2020 are as follows:

Reorganization and Restructuring / Loss Utilization Strategies_zsis)_Dubach, Limacher

Questions

  • What are the tax consequences for Bau AG in 2020 if its registered office and the production property are sold to a third party?
  1. In the canton of Zurich;
  2. In the canton of Basel-Landschaft; or
  3. Located in the canton of Bern.
  • How should Bau AG proceed in terms of procedural law?
  • What are the advantages and disadvantages of the intended sale for Bau AG and Immo AG?

Case 4: Loss carry-forwards and partially tax-neutral restructurings

Facts

The domestic company Alpenrose AG, which operates in the airline industry and specialises in travel to the USA, is not doing well. Through no fault of its own, it has been in the red since 2014 due to the outbreak of a pandemic, even though the management's efforts to turn the company around have in the meantime meant that the losses generated have been minimal for several years. As a small loss or even a balanced result ("red zero") is also expected for the first time in 2021, the loss carryforwards of CHF 20 million from 2014 are at risk of expiring. To this end, Alpenrose AG is selling two replacement engines to its domestic sister company (Alpenblüte AG), which is also active in the aviation industry and specialises in travel to Africa, for a price of CHF 30 million. The replacement engines can be used by both the Alpenrose AG and Alpenblüte AG fleets. The fair value of these assets is CHF 50 million (CHF 25 million each), the combined income tax value is CHF 10 million (CHF 5 million each). The price has been deliberately chosen in order to save the expiring loss carry-forwards at Alpenrose AG, but not to trigger any unnecessary tax consequences at Alpenblüte. Both companies are 100% subsidiaries of Alpen Holding AG.

Questions

  • Is such a partially tax-neutral restructuring possible and what needs to be considered?
  • If this is not possible: what are the alternatives?

Variant

The responsible tax office does not issue a tax ruling; however, the companies are convinced that the transaction can be carried out in a partially tax-neutral manner. Subsequently, a legal dispute arises, which is dragged through all instances. In the meantime, years pass, so that the tax office sends a letter to the companies every year again, which serves to interrupt the current limitation period and holds out the prospect of the assessment rulings. Only the tax number and the place are mentioned, but not even the name of the taxpayers is included.

Question

Is the IRS's action sufficient to interrupt the statute of limitations?

CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback
Unternehmen

Martin Dubach

Fabienne Limacher

Sanierung u. Umstrukturierungen / Verlustnutzungsstrategien

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 20. April 2021 mit dem Titel «Steuerliche Aspekte der Unternehmensfinanzierung, einschliesslich Sanierungsthemen»

04/2021
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fall 1: Verlustvorträge und Umstrukturierungen

Sachverhalt

Die A-Gruppe ist in der Herstellung und im Vertrieb vonUhren tätig. Die Holdinggesellschaft der Gruppe, die A HoldCo BV, hat Sitz in den Niederlanden und hält unter anderem die A AG mit Sitz in Zürich und die BAG mit Sitz in Freiburg.

Während die A AG die exklusiven weltweiten Lizenz- undVertriebsrechte für diverse Uhrenmarken im Tiefpreissegment hat, ist die B AG im high-end Luxussegment tätig. Die B AG erwirtschaftet seit einigen JahrenVerluste (aktuelle Summe an steuerlich verrechenbaren Verlustvorträgen: CHF 7Mio.) und hat in der Folge im Jahre 2019 die Produktion von Luxusuhren eingestellt. Sie verfügt jedoch noch über das patentgeschützte Design und einLager mit der technischen Ausrüstung zur Uhrenherstellung, diversen fertiggestellten, aber noch nicht verkauften Uhren sowie Uhrenbestandteilen undErsatzteilen. Die B AG ist daran, die noch vorhandenen Uhren anlässlich von Uhrenauktionen an Sammler und Liebhaber zu verkaufen. Dabei können jeweils nur wenige Stücke zugleich an Auktionen gebracht werden, da ansonsten aufgrund des sehr kleinen Marktes der erzielbare Preis zusammenbrechen würde.

Im Rahmen einer gruppeninternen Umstrukturierung ist geplant, dass die A AG mittels Absorptionsfusion die B AG absorbiert. DieBilanzen der beiden Gesellschaften präsentieren sich vor der Fusion wie folgt:

A AG:

Sanierung u. Umstrukturierungen / Verlustnutzungsstrategien_zsis)_Dubach, Limacher

B AG:

Sanierung u. Umstrukturierungen / Verlustnutzungsstrategien_zsis)_Dubach, Limacher

Vorliegend sei unterstellt, dass bei der B AG keine stillen Reserven bestehen.

Fragen

  • Ist die Übertragung von Verlustvorträgen bei vorgängiger Betriebsaufgabe möglich? Welche Kriterien gilt es dabei zu beachten?
  • Welche Steuerfolgen ergeben sich für die A AG, die B AG sowie die Aktionärin HoldCo BV?
  • Ändern sich die Steuerfolgen, wenn die B AG mittels Absorptionsfusion die gesunde A AG übernimmt?
  • Variante: Die noch vorhandenen Aktiven der B AG mit einem Buchwert von CHF 2 Mio. haben einen Verkehrswert von CHF 4 Mio. Die A AG übernimmt mittels Absorptionsfusion die kranke B AG und dabei sollen die stillen Reserven im Umfang von CHF 1 Mio. aufgedeckt werden. Hat die Aufdeckung der stillen Reserven Auswirkungen auf die Verlustübernahme?

Variante

Die A-Gruppe verfügt über eine weitere nahestehende Konzerngesellschaft, die C AG mit Sitz in Zürich, welche sehr profitabel ist. Im Zuge einer Umstrukturierung kauft C AG 100% der Aktien an der mit B AG fusionierten A AG, da sie u.a. am Lager mit der technischen Ausrüstung, den Uhren sowie Uhrenbestandteilen und Ersatzteilen interessiert ist. Sie bezahlt dafür CHF 13.4 Mio., bestehend aus dem Aktivenüberschuss von CHF 12 Mio. zuzüglich CHF 1.4 Mio. (entsprechend dem Steuersatz von 20% multipliziert mit der Summe an Verlustvorträgen von CHF 7 Mio., welche noch genutzt werden können und gemäss Veranlagungsmitteilung der Steuerverwaltung Freiburg auch in diesem Betrag so ausgewiesen sind) als mutmasslichen Verkehrswert. Die Verlustvorträge stammen aus sieben dem Fusionszeitpunkt vorangegangenen Geschäftsjahren der B AG, inkl. einem überlangen Gründungsjahr (n-8). Stille Reserven gibt es bei A AG annahmeweise keine. Kurz im Anschluss wird entschieden, (anstatt eines Asset Deals mit anschliessender Liquidation) A AG und C AG zu fusionieren (up-stream-merger). Als Folge davon sollen alle Verlustvorträge im gleichen Geschäftsjahr mit C-Gewinnen verrechnet und der Fusionsverlust über fünf Jahre abgeschrieben werden. Betreffend Übernahme der Verlustvorträge wird vom Steuerberater empfohlen, ein Steuerruling zu erstellen, welches seitens Kantonales Steueramt Zürich (“KSTA ZH”) auch genehmigt wird.

Fragen

  • Welche Steuerfolgen hat die Absorptionsfusion für die A AG und C AG?
  • Im Rahmen der Veranlagungsgespräche kommt das KSTA ZH auf das Steuerruling zu sprechen. Es erwägt, dass das geplante Vorgehen im Hinblick auf eine Steuerumgehung geprüft werde. Der Inhouse Steuerexperte ist der Auffassung, dass aufgrund der Bindungswirkung des Steuerrulings kein Risiko bestehe. Ist das richtig?
  • Im Rahmen der Veranlagungsgespräche kommt das KSTA ZH auf die Höhe der Verlustvorträge und auf den Fusionsverlust zu sprechen, welche beide nicht Gegenstand des Steuerrulings waren. Wie sind diese zu behandeln?
  • Der Inhouse-Steuerexperte hat den verrechnungssteuerpflichtigen Fusionsverlust nicht gemeldet. Ist das ein Problem?

Fall 2: Verlustnutzungsstrategien

Sachverhalt

Die Schönwetter AG, mit Sitz in Zürich, ist pandemiebedingt in die Verlustzone geraten, aber weder überschuldet noch mit Kapitalverlust. In ihrer Bilanz befindet sich ein aktiviertes Grundstück (Buchwert=Kaufpreis=Anlagekosten), welches in den letzten Jahren eine deutliche Wertsteigerung erfahren hat. Daneben verfügt die Schönwetter AG über eine originär geschaffene Marke, welcher nicht bilanziert, aber weltweit in verschiedenen Markenregistern (u.a. über EU-Register in Deutschland) eingetragen ist. Hinzu kommt, dass sie eine sehr werthaltige 5%-Beteiligung an der Schlechtwetter AG hat, welche zum Anschaffungswert bilanziert ist. Nicht zuletzt ist immer wieder das angeblich nicht mehr werthaltige und wertberichtigte Aktionärsdarlehen (Aktivdarlehen) der Schwestergesellschaft Tauwetter AG, mit Sitz in Basel, ein Thema, welche sie übernehmen könnte. Schön- und Tauwetter AG werden von einer deutschen Gesellschaft gehalten, welche ebenfalls in wirtschaftlichen Schwierigkeiten steckt.

Alle Gesellschaften haben die Hoffnung, den Turnaround zu schaffen, so dass wieder Gewinne, insbesondere bei den schweizerischen Gesellschaften, erwartet werden. Da eine Re-Dimensionierung stattfinden wird, werden aber die erwarteten Gewinne auf Ebene der Schönwetter AG nicht ausreichen, um alle Verlustvorträge zu nutzen. Daran hat der CFO keine Freude, da die Revisionsfirma das gebildete DTA (= ETR x Summe der Verlustvorträge) im Rahmen des jährlichen Werthaltigkeitstests korrigieren will, was die Eigenkapitalbasis entgegen seinen Erwartungen schmälert. Um die (in Zukunft wohl verfallenden) Verlustvorträge nutzen zu können, wird deshalb nach Möglichkeiten gesucht.

Zu diesem Zweck sind folgende Vorgehen vom Inhouse-Steuerexperten geplant und durch Sie als Steuerberater auf steuerrechtliche Vorteile, Nachteile, Chancen und Risiken zu prüfen (SWOT-Analyse):

  • Sacheinlagegründung einer Brand Management Gesellschaft mit Sitz in Zug und Verkauf der Schönwetter-Trademark zum Verkehrswert
  • Kauf des nicht mehr werthaltigen Aktionärsdarlehens
  • Verkauf der 5%-Beteiligung an der Schlechtwetter AG an eine Konzerngesellschaft

Fragen

  • Zu welchem Schluss kommen Sie für die angedachten Ideen?
  • Der Schönwetter AG geht es immer schlechter und sie verfügt mittlerweile über einen Kapitalverlust. Im Übrigen sind die ersten Verlustvorträge bereits verfallen. Der Inhouse Steuerexperte hat die Idee, dass eine Aufwertung des Grundstücks möglich ist. Hat er Recht und was sind die Steuerfolgen? Könnte bei der Aufwertung der Aktiven mit Marktpreis auf das Niveau der Verkehrswerte von der erweiterten Verlustverrechnungsmöglichkeit im Sinne von Art. 67 Abs. 2 DBG Gebrauch gemacht werden?

Fall 3: Verlustnutzungsstrategien bei Grundstücken

Sachverhalt

Die HoldCo hält jeweils eine Beteiligung von 100% an der Bau AG, eine im Bauzuliefererbereich tätige, operative Gesellschaft mit modernen Produktionsanlagen, sowie an der Immo AG, welche ein Liegenschaftenportfolio hält.

Die Bau AG erwartete infolge der Pandemie, der zwischenzeitlich eingestellten Bautätigkeit auf Kundenseite und eines Produktionsstillstands infolge eines Unterbruchs der Lieferkette bei den eigenen Lieferanten einen operativen Verlust für das Geschäftsjahr 2020. Aufgrund des erwarteten negativen Geschäftsgangs hat die Bau AG im Laufe des Jahres 2020 ihre in einem monistischen Kanton gelegene Betriebsliegenschaft an die Immo AG zum Verkehrswert von CHF 12 Mio. veräussert und die benötigten Produktions-, und Bürogebäude wieder zurückmietet («sale & lease back» bzw. «carve out»). Die Bau AG hatte die Betriebsliegenschaft vor 30 Jahren zu einem Preis von CHF 1.5 Mio. gekauft und danach wertvermehrende Investitionen von CHF 4 Mio. getätigt. Der Verkehrswert der Liegenschaft vor 20 Jahren beträgt CHF 6.5 Mio.

Infolge der Veräusserung der Liegenschaft erzielte die Bau AG letztlich im Jahre 2020 einen Reingewinn von CHF 6 Mio. (der operative Verlust belief sich auf CHF 1 Mio. und der Buchgewinn aus dem Grundstückverkauf auf CHF 7 Mio.). Die Bau AG hat zudem steuerliche Verlustvorträge aus den Vorjahren von CHF 5 Mio.  

Zusammengefasst sind die massgeblichen Faktoren bei der Bau AG im Jahre 2020 wie folgt:

Sanierung u. Umstrukturierungen / Verlustnutzungsstrategien_zsis)_Dubach, Limacher

Fragen

  • Mit welchen Steuerfolgen hat die Bau AG im Jahre 2020 zu rechnen, wenn ihr Sitz sowie die Produktionsliegenschaft
  1. Im Kanton Zürich;
  2. Im Kanton Basel-Landschaft; oder
  3. Im Kanton Bern gelegen ist.
  • Wie hat die Bau AG in verfahrensrechtlicher Hinsicht vorzugehen?
  • Was für Vor- und Nachteile hat der beabsichtigte Verkauf für die Bau AG und die Immo AG?

Fall 4: Verlustvorträge und teilweise steuerneutrale Umstrukturierungen

Sachverhalt

Der inländischen Alpenrose AG, welche in der Luftfahrtbranche tätig und spezialisiert auf Reisen in die USA ist, geht es nicht gut. Sie ist unverschuldet durch den Ausbruch einer Pandemie seit 2014 in der Verlustzone, auch wenn die Anstrengungen der Geschäftsleitung zum Turnaround mittlerweile dazu geführt haben, dass die erzielten Verluste seit einigen Jahren nur noch minimal sind. Da auch im Jahr 2021 ein kleiner Verlust oder sogar erstmals ein ausgeglichenes Resultat (“rote Null”) erwartet wird, drohen die Verlustvorträge im Umfang von CHF 20 Mio. aus dem Jahr 2014 zu verfallen. Zu diesem Zweck verkauft die Alpenrose AG ihrer inländischen Schwestergesellschaft (Alpenblüte AG), welche auch in der Luftfahrtbranche tätig und spezialisiert auf Reisen nach Afrika ist, zwei Ersatztriebwerke zum Preis von CHF 30 Mio. Die Ersatztriebwerke können sowohl bei der Flotte von Alpenrose AG als auch von Alpenblüte AG zum Einsatz kommen. Der Verkehrswert dieser Vermögenswerte beträgt CHF 50 Mio. (je CHF 25 Mio.), der Gewinnsteuerwert zusammen CHF 10 Mio. (je CHF 5 Mio.). Der Preis ist bewusst so gewählt, um die verfallenden Verlustvorträge bei Alpenrose AG zu retten, aber bei Alpenblüte keine unnötigen Steuerfolgen auszulösen. Beide Gesellschaften sind 100%-Tochtergesellschaften der Alpen Holding AG.

Fragen

  • Ist eine solche teilweise steuerneutrale Umstrukturierung möglich und was ist dabei zu beachten?
  • Falls dies nicht möglich ist: was gibt es für Alternativen?

Variante

Das zuständige Steueramt gibt kein Steuerruling; allerdings sind die Gesellschaften überzeugt, dass die Transaktion teilweise steuerneutral durchgeführt werden kann. Im Nachgang entsteht ein Rechtsstreit, welcher über alle Instanzen gezogen wird. In der Zwischenzeit vergehen Jahre, so dass das Steueramt jedes Jahr wieder ein Schreiben an die Gesellschaften machte, welches der Unterbrechung der laufenden Verjährungsfrist diente und die Veranlagungsverfügungen in Aussicht stellte. Dabei werden nur die Steuernummer und der Ort genannt, aber nicht einmal der Name der Steuerpflichtigen ist enthalten.

Frage

Reicht das Vorgehen des Steueramtes, um die Verjährung zu unterbrechen?

CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).