The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback

Toni Hess

Ruth Bloch-Riemer

Fiscal perspective

-
Advertisements
-

Workshop by Ruth Bloch-Riemer and Toni Hess on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar on 09 November 2021 entitled "Freelance work: tax, social security and pension law aspects".

11/2021
The complete seminar folder can be ordered for
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
can be purchased in the shop.
The workshops are also available individually in the "Documents" section.
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1: Commercial property trading versus private asset management

1. facts of the case

Giovanni passed away on 5 February 2016; he was predeceased by his wife Hortensia. Giovanni and Hortensia were childless. Giovanni was a teacher, Hortensia a nurse. Neither had any relevant experience in the real estate sector.

According to the inheritance contract of March 2013, the three sisters Annastasia (52), Ladina (50) and Madlaina (49), who reside in GR, were appointed as equal heirs in A's estate. They also have no experience in the real estate sector.

In addition, the spouses stipulated in the inheritance contract that 40% of the estate should go to the "Giovanni and Hortensia" Foundation. The purpose of this foundation is to provide financial support to young people up to the age of 30 for grammar school education, tertiary education or second-chance education. The foundation has a non-profit character.

In the inheritance contract, the spouses stipulated the following:

"Prior to the payment of the legacy to the foundation and the execution of the division in the estate of the second deceased, the property no. 9911 belonging to the estate shall be sold by the executor and the existing securities shall be sold in silver.

On plot no. 9911 there is a multi-family house consisting of three flats. The rest of the property area of about 2,300 m2 is undeveloped.

On the recommendation of the executor to realise the valorisation themselves, the three heirs decided in mid-2020 not to sell the property as such, but to proceed as follows:

  • After the establishment of condominium ownership in May 2021, a development with 21 flats will be realised on the undeveloped part. Of the 21 flats, the three heirs will each keep one flat (sole ownership), five flats will be transferred to the "Giovanni and Hortensia" Foundation in settlement of the bequest claim of 40% of the estate. The remaining 13 flats will be sold to third parties. The development will be financed mainly from the sale of the flats.
  • A fourth flatwill be created in the apartment building in order to subsequently sell all flats.
  • Of the total of 25 flats, 22 will be built by the heirs and 17 will be sold; a large number of the flats have already been reserved.
  • Planning application: mid-2020 | Building permit: End of 2020 | Justification of StWE: July 2021 | Start of construction: August 2021 | Sale: Has already started.

Questions

  • Does the action of the three heirs qualify as commercial property trading?
  • If the answer is in the affirmative: Which steps are to be systematically distinguished and how are they to be assessed under tax law?

Factual variant:

How are the facts to be assessed if the domicile of the three heirs is outside Graubünden?

Case 2: Freelance artist - abandonment of activity

2. facts of the case

Kelly Kolor is a well-known artist. She currently lives in Austria and also has her studio there, where she produces paintings and sculptures of all kinds. One of the not too many, Kelly has been successful in her lifetime - she has regular exhibitions and sells her work through galleries, auctions and directly.

Kelly's work is very material intensive. She travels a lot to galleries, events, artist friends and inspiring places of power. Because her motifs are not exactly "mainstream", in addition to comparatively high bills from her trustee, she also has to repeatedly conduct lawsuits (e.g. for personal and image rights), which also expose her to high legal costs.

  • Kelly Kolor is considering moving her residence and place of work to Davos. Her son Flavio from her first marriage lives there. He runs a successful ski school and has basically nothing to do with the art scene. Kelly's daughter from her second marriage, Denise, lives in Zurich, where she studied graphic design and runs a small art and design studio. Kelly would like to settle down in Davos and from there also set up a foundation that will perpetuate her work and impact.
  • Kelly Kolor dies unexpectedly after moving in and leaves her children, on the one hand, the foundation that has already been set up but is not yet particularly active, which has a tax exemption. On the other hand she leaves
  1. An extensive collection of artworks of various styles in her flat
  2. A storage room with already finished works and works in progress in Davos
  3. The studio in Davos with various materials and tools
  4. A storage room in Vienna with even more works and extensive literature regarding the art scene.
  5. Works on consignment at various galleries in Berlin, New York and Amsterdam.
  6. Accounts at three Swiss banks, a mortgage at the Bündner Kantonalbank and household effects and jewellery.

While Kelly has bought her flat in Davos, she has rented the studio and storage rooms. For years she has still been contracting with Agent Alex, with whom other works are located and who also serves on the board of trustees of the Fundaziun Kelly.

Kelly had written a will when she moved in, according to which certain works (from the series "Nature and Man") should go to her foundation, while Flavio and Denise inherit the rest. She appointed her friend and lawyer Wanda (domiciled in Chur) as executor.

Question(s)

  • What aspects need to be considered regarding Kelly's move and in relation to her artistic activity?
  • What aspects are at the forefront of Kelly's estate in relation to her artistic activity, and what planning opportunities exist for her heirs?

Case 3: Self-employment or hobby / Hobby

3. facts

The married couple A. (born 1943) and B. reside in U. (Canton of Zurich) and are founders of a clothing company and owners of various properties. The husband A. is the owner of the sole proprietorship "Gasthof B." with its registered office in C., Canton of Zurich, which was entered in the commercial register in 2007. A. had acquired the historic inn property in need of renovation in 2001. From 2003 onwards, he invested around CHF 5 million from his own funds.

In 2007, the inn was reopened as an upscale hotel and restaurant with top chefs. In the business years 2007 up to and including 2012, the business generated losses totalling around CHF 3.1 million (for details, see the table below). In the 2012 business year, a loss of CHF 516,093 was incurred.

In the 2012 business year, A. achieved gross operating income of CHF 1,843,987 with the inn, or net operating income of CHF 116,202 after deduction of the cost of goods (CHF 582,044) and personnel expenses of CHF 1,145,741. After deduction of further expenses, a loss before depreciation of approximately CHF -350,000 resulted.

In the tax return for the 2012 tax period, A. and B. declared a loss for the year of CHF 516,093 and claimed losses from the previous year of around CHF 645,000 that had not yet been offset. Their taxable assets amounted to CHF 10.4 million.

In the assessment rulings of 8 March 2017 (direct federal tax and Zurich state and municipal taxes), the tax office of the Canton of Zurich does not allow the deduction of either the annual or the previous year's losses. In the absence of an intention to make a profit, self-employment was to be denied.

A. wants to defend himself against this view. He employs 21 full-time employees, other part-time employees and temporary staff and has been receiving advice from a trust company specialised in catering businesses since 2010. The inn is a member of two restaurant and hotel cooperatives and is present on relevant booking platforms.

At the beginning of 2017, a new manager took over the inn. Together with A.'s son, D., who is now involved, he changed the business concept and oriented the kitchen towards a simpler, but still high-quality, home-style cuisine. He reduced the number of staff considerably. Previously, staff costs accounted for a large part of the annual operating income. The new concept foresees a profit surplus for 2017.

Question

Is A. self-employed for the 2012 tax year or should his activity be classified as a hobby?

CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback

Toni Hess

Ruth Bloch-Riemer

Steuerliche Perspektive

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 09. November 2021 mit dem Titel «Freiberufliche Tätigkeit: Steuerliche, sozialversicherungs- und vorsorgerechtliche Aspekte».

11/2021
Der vollständige Seminarordner kann für
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden.
Die Workshops sind auch einzeln in der Rubrik «Unterlagen» verfügbar.
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fall 1: Gewerbsmässiger Liegenschaftenhandel versus private Vermögensverwaltung

1. Sachverhalt

Am 5. Februar 2016 verstarb Giovanni; seine Ehefrau Hortensia war vorverstorben. Giovanni und Hortensia waren kinderlos. Giovanni war Lehrer, Hortensia Pflegefachfrau. Beide verfügten über keine einschlägigen Erfahrungen im Immobiliensektor.

Gemäss Erbvertrag vom März 2013 wurden im Nachlass von A die drei in GR ansässigen Schwestern Annastasia (52), Ladina (50) und Madlaina (49) zu je gleichen Teilen als Erbinnen eingesetzt. Auch sie verfügen über keine Erfahrungen im Immobiliensektor.

Überdies verfügten die Eheleute mittels Erbvertrag, dass 40% des Nachlasses der Stiftung "Giovanni und Hortensia" zufallen. Der Zweck dieser Stiftung besteht in der finanziellen Unterstützung junger Menschen bis zum erfüllten 30. Altersjahr für die gymnasiale Ausbildung, tertiäre Ausbildung oder die Ausbildung auf dem zweiten Bildungsweg. Die Stiftung hat gemeinnützigen Charakter.

Im Erbvertrag hielten die Eheleute was folgt fest:

"Vorgängig der Ausrichtung des Vermächtnisses an die Stiftung und der Vornahme der Teilung im Nachlasse des Zweitversterbenden ist das zum Nachlass gehörende Grundstück Nr. 9911 durch den Willensvollstrecker zu veräussern und sind die vorhandenen Wertpapiere zu versilbern."

Auf dem Grundstück Nr. 9911 steht ein Mehrfamilienhaus bestehend aus drei Wohnungen. Der Rest der Grundstücksfläche von rund 2'300 m2 ist unüberbaut.

Auf Empfehlung des Willensvollstreckers, die Inwertsetzung selber zu realisieren, entschieden die drei Erbinnen Mitte 2020, das Grundstück nicht als solches zu verkaufen, sondern wie folgt vorzugehen:

  • Auf dem unüberbauten Teil wird nach der Begründung von Stockwerkeigentum im Mai 2021 eine Überbauung mit 21 Wohnungen realisiert. Von den 21 Wohnungen werden die drei Erbinnen je eine Wohnung selber behalten (Alleineigentum), fünf Wohnungen werden zur Abgeltung des Vermächtnisanspruchs von 40% des Nachlasses auf die Stiftung "Giovanni und Hortensia" übertragen. Die restlichen 13 Wohnungen werden an Dritte verkauft. Die Überbauung wird zur Hauptsache aus dem Verkauf der Wohnungen finanziert.
  • Im Mehrfamilienhaus wird eine vierte Wohnung erstellt, um in der Folge alle Wohnungen zu verkaufen.
  • Von den insgesamt 25 Wohnungen werden 22 von den Erbinnen gebaut und 17 verkauft; ein grosser Teil der Wohnungen ist bereits reserviert.
  • Baugesuch: Mitte 2020 | Baubewilligung: Ende 2020 | Begründung von StWE: Juli 2021 | Baubeginn: August 2021 | Verkauf: Hat schon begonnen.

Fragen

  • Ist das Vorgehen der drei Erbinnen als gewerbsmässiger Liegenschaftenhandel zu qualifizieren?
  • Bejahendenfalls: Welche Schritte sind systematisch auseinanderzuhalten und wie sind diese steuerrechtlich zu würdigen?

Sachverhaltsvariante:

Wie ist der Sachverhalt zu beurteilen, wenn sich der Wohnsitz der drei Erbinnen ausserhalb von Graubünden befindet?

Fall 2: Freiberufliche Künstlerin – Aufgabe der Tätigkeit

2. Sachverhalt

Kelly Kolor ist eine bekannte Künstlerin. Sie lebt derzeit in Österreich und hat dort auch ihr Atelier, wo sie Bilder und Skulpturen aller Art herstellt. Als eine der nicht allzu vielen ist Kelly schon zu Lebzeiten erfolgreich – sie hat regelmässig Ausstellungen und verkauft über Galerien, Auktionen und direkt ihre Werke.

Kelly's Schaffen ist sehr materialintensiv. Sie ist viel auf Reisen zu Galerien, Events, befreundeten Kunstschaffenden und inspirierenden Kraftorten. Weil ihre Motive nicht gerade "mainstream" sind, hat sie neben vergleichsweise hohen Rechnungen ihres Treuhänders auch immer wieder Prozesse zu führen (bspw. um Persönlichkeits- und Bilderrechte), welche sie auch hohen Anwaltskosten aussetzt.

  • Kelly Kolor überlegt, ihren Wohnsitz und ihren Arbeitsort nach Davos zu verlegen. Dort lebt ihr Sohn Flavio aus erster Ehe. Er betreibt eine erfolgreiche Skischule und hat mit der Kunstszene grundsätzlich nichts zu tun. Kelly's Tochter aus zweiter Ehe, Denise, lebt in Zürich, wo sie Grafikdesign studiert hat und ein kleines Kunst- und Design-Studio betreibt. Kelly möchte in Davos sesshaft werden und von dort aus auch eine Stiftung aufbauen, welche ihr Werk und Wirken perpetuieren soll.
  • Kelly Kolor verstirbt nach ihrem Zuzug unerwartet und hinterlässt ihren Kindern einerseits die bereits ins Leben gerufene, aber noch nicht besonders aktive Stiftung, welche eine Steuerbefreiung hat. Andererseits hinterlässt sie
  1. Eine umfangreiche Sammlung von Kunstwerken diverser Stilrichtungen in ihrer Wohnung
  2. Einen Lagerraum mit bereits fertigen Werken und angefangenen Arbeiten in Davos
  3. Das Atelier in Davos mit verschiedenen Materialien und Werkzeugen
  4. Einen Lagerraum in Wien mit noch weiteren Werken und umfangreicher Literatur bezüglich der Kunstszene.
  5. Werke, die bei verschiedenen Galerien in Berlin, New York und Amsterdam in Konsignation sind.
  6. Konten bei drei Schweizer Banken, eine Hypothek bei der Bündner Kantonalbank und noch Hausrat und Schmuck.

Während Kelly ihre Wohnung in Davos gekauft hat, hat sie das Atelier und die Lagerräume gemietet. Sie kontrahiert seit Jahren noch mit Agent Alex, bei dem sich weitere Werke befinden und der auch im Stiftungsrat der Fundaziun Kelly wirkt.

Kelly hatte beim Zuzug ein Testament verfasst, wonach ihrer Stiftung gewisse Werke (aus der Serie "Natur und Mensch") zufliessen sollen, während Flavio und Denise den Rest erben. Zur Willensvollstreckerin ernennt sie ihre Freundin und Anwältin Wanda (domiziliert in Chur).

Frage(n)

  • Welche Aspekte sind bezüglich des Zuzugs von Kelly und in Bezug auf ihre künstlerische Tätigkeit zu berücksichtigen?
  • Welche Aspekte stehen bei der Nachlassabwicklung von Kelly in Bezug auf ihre künstlerische Tätigkeit im Vordergrund, und welche Planungsmöglichkeiten bestehen für ihre Erben?

Fall 3: Selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit oder Liebhaberei / Hobby

3. Sachverhalt

Das Ehepaar A. (geb. 1943) und B. haben Wohnsitz in U. (Kt. ZH) und sind Gründer einer Bekleidungsfirma sowie Eigentümer diverser Liegenschaften. Der Ehemann A. ist Inhaber des Einzelunternehmens "Gasthof B." mit Sitz in C., Kt. ZH, das im Jahr 2007 ins Handelsregister eingetragen wurde. A. hatte die renovationsbedürftige, historische Gasthof-Liegenschaft im Jahr 2001 erworben. Ab dem Jahr 2003 investierte er aus ausschliesslich eigenen Mitteln rund CHF 5 Mio.

Im Jahr 2007 wurde der Gasthof – als Hotel- und Gastrobetrieb des gehobenen Segments mit Spitzenköchen – wiedereröffnet. In den Geschäftsjahren 2007 bis und mit 2012 erzielte der Betrieb ausschliesslich Verluste von insgesamt rund CHF 3.1 Mio. (Details s. in der nachfolgenden Tabelle). Im Geschäftsjahr 2012 fiel ein Verlust von CHF 516'093 an.

Im Geschäftsjahr 2012 erzielte A. mit dem Gasthof einen Bruttobetriebsertrag von CHF 1'843'987 resp. nach Abzug von Warenaufwand (CHF 582'044) und Personalaufwand von CHF 1'145'741 einen Nettobetriebsertrag von CHF 116'202. Nach Abzug weiterer Aufwendungen resultierte ein Verlust vor Abschreibungen von rund CHF -350'000.

In der Steuererklärung zur Steuerperiode 2012 deklarierten A. und B. den Jahresverlust von CHF 516'093 und beanspruchten noch nicht verrechnete Vorjahresverluste von rund CHF 645'000. Ihr steuerbares Vermögen betrug CHF 10.4 Mio.

Das Steueramt des Kt. Zürich lässt in den Veranlagungsverfügungen vom 8. März 2017 (dir. Bundessteuer und Zürcher Staats- und Gemeindesteuern) weder den Abzug des Jahres- noch der Vorjahresverluste zu. Mangels Gewinnerzielungsabsicht sei die selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit zu verneinen.

A. will sich gegen diese Auffassung wehren. Er beschäftigt 21 Vollzeitangestellte, weitere Teilzeitangestellte und Aushilfen und lässt sich seit 2010 von einem auf Gastrobetriebe spezialisierten Treuhandunternehmen beraten. Der Gasthof ist Mitglied von zwei Restaurations- und Hotelkooperationen und ist auf einschlägigen Buchungsplattformen präsent.

Per Anfang 2017 übernahm ein neuer Geschäftsführer den Gasthof. Er änderte, zusammen mit dem mittlerweile involvierten Sohn von A., D., das Betriebskonzept, richtete die Küche auf eine einfachere, nach wie vor qualitativ hochstehende, gutbürgerliche Küche aus. Er reduzierte den Personalbestand deutlich. Davor umfasste der Personalaufwand einen Grossteil des jeweiligen jährlichen Betriebsertrags. Das neue Konzept sieht für 2017 einen Ertragsüberschuss vor.

Frage

Übt A. bezogen auf das Steuerjahr 2012 eine selbständige Erwerbstätigkeit aus oder ist seine Tätigkeit als Liebhaberei/Hobby zu qualifizieren?

CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).