The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback
Corporations

Gernot Shaking

Anne Marie Anselmi

tax due diligence

Workshop on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar on 27 October 2020 entitled "Tax pitfalls in Mergers & Acquisitions transactions".

10/2020
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
be on sale in the shop
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1 - Tax due diligence of a Swiss group of companies

Basic facts

The Target HoldCo Group, headquartered in Switzerland, was originally founded by Mr. X, a natural person resident in Zurich. In order to continue to expand, Mr. X sold 51% of his shares in Target HoldCo to a foreign fund in 2014, which acquired the shares through a Luxembourg acquisition company (LuxCo). The legal group structure is as follows:

Tax Due Diligence Tax pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax law taxlaw Seminar Case studies isis zsis Corporate tax law

LuxCo has 30% equity. One employee is employed in Luxembourg (in a rented office space). The form for reporting instead of paying withholding tax on dividends of Target HoldCo (Form 823B) has recently been submitted but has not yet been confirmed by the FTA.

Following the foreign fund's entry, a so-called "buy and build" strategy was pursued, in the course of which the Target HoldCo Group made various "add-on" acquisitions over the years, such as the purchase of US HoldCo and the Swiss OpCo 4. In addition, various Group loans were granted in the past and internal restructuring measures were carried out. With the exception of US HoldCo and its granddaughter UK OpCo, all companies held directly and indirectly by Target HoldCo have their registered office and place of management in Switzerland. Target HoldCo was taxed as a holding company until the end of 2019.

The foreign fund is now preparing the exit for its 51% stake in Target HoldCo. Mr X will also sell his 49% stake. The buyer is an international group with headquarters in Switzerland. The buyer companies are Käufer Holding and Käufer OpCo, both headquartered in Switzerland. OpCo 1 from the Target group will be acquired directly by buyer OpCo because it operates in the same business area and synergies are to be exploited from the outset. Käufer Holding acquires all shares of Target HoldCo.

The acquisition structure is as follows:

Tax Due Diligence Tax pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax law taxlaw Seminar Case studies isis zsis Corporate tax law Acquisition structure

Since the business of Käufer OpCo and OpCo 1 is not developing as hoped, Käufer Holding sells all shares in Käufer OpCo (which still holds OpCo 1) to an independent third party approximately one year after the acquisition.

Question

The buyer holding company commissioned them to conduct a tax due diligence (DD) of the Target HoldCo group and to summarize their findings in a report. A law firm was commissioned to draft the share purchase agreement (SPA). After submitting the DD report, the law firm will contact you to discuss your "findings" from the Tax DD. In particular, it will be discussed how the respective findings and any tax risks arising from the transaction structure are to be assessed and addressed in the SPA.

Findings from the Tax Due Diligence

1.1 Shareholder loan

Target HoldCo has granted Mr. X a loan in the amount of MCHF 4 (shareholder loan). The Shareholders' Loan did not bear interest until the Fund joined the Fund in December 2014. Since the beginning of 2015, Target HoldCo has charged Mr. X the safe-haven interest rate in accordance with the FTA information sheet. There is neither collateral nor a written loan agreement. In the course of the negotiations, the contracting parties agree that the shareholder loan is to be repaid to Target HoldCo before closing.

1.2. Loan Target HoldCo to OpCo 3

Target HoldCo had provided OpCo 3, based in Zurich, with a loan of MCHF 6. Subsequently, the business performance of OpCo 3 deteriorated and Target HoldCo converted the loan into equity in 2019 ("debt-equity swap") (entry at Target HoldCo level: participation OpCo 3 / loan MCHF 6; entry at OpCo 3 level: loan / free reserves MCHF 6). The loss carry-forward under commercial law (corresponding to the tax loss carry-forward) of OpCo 3 of MCHF 4 existing at the time of conversion was derecognized. At the end of 2019, the investment OpCo 3 was written down to MCHF 2 in the books of Target HoldCo. From the beginning of 2020, OpCo 3 is recovering and is in a good position in terms of sales and profits at the time of sale (this is supported by recently concluded contracts with third parties which promise a favourable outlook for the business of OpCo 3 in the coming years). OpCo 3 is definitively assessed including the 2018 tax period.

1.3 Translated licence payment from UK OpCo to US HoldCo

The UK tax authority HMRC has initiated a tax audit of UK OpCo, as it has paid a royalty to its US grandmother (US HoldCo), which has been translated by MCHF 1. OpCo 5 has not written down its investment in UK OpCo as a result of the translated payment from UK OpCo to US HoldCo.

1.4 OpCo dividend 4

As part of the buy and build strategy mentioned above, Target HoldCo acquired all shares in OpCo 4 in 2017 from a natural person resident in Switzerland, who held the investments as private assets. As of the last annual financial statements prior to the sale to Target HoldCo, OpCo 4 had distributable reserves of MCHF 3 and non-operating assets of MCHF 2. The purchase price amounted to MCHF 4. In 2018, OpCo 4 sold an operating property and distributed the proceeds of MCHF 2.5 to Target HoldCo. The operating profit of OpCo 4 amounted to MCHF 1.5 in 2018.

1.5 Transferring operations from OpCo 2 to OpCo 1

OpCo 2 transferred operations to its sister company OpCo 1 in 2018 by means of a tax-neutral transfer of assets. The tax neutrality of this transaction was confirmed by the tax authorities in a ruling. OpCo 2 is definitively assessed including the tax period 2018.

1.6 Further information

The total purchase price for Target HoldCo Group amounts to MCHF 800. Käufer Holding is a registered securities dealer pursuant to Art. 13 para. 3 lit. d StG (over CHF 10 million taxable deeds according to the last balance sheet). Mr. X holds the 49% stake in Target HoldCo to be sold as private assets. Target HoldCo had distributable reserves of MCHF 300 and non-operating funds of MCHF 100 as per the 2019 annual financial statements. The non-operating funds of the subsidiaries amount to MCHF 250 in total. The domicile of the partners of the foreign fund (100% shareholder of LuxCo) is not known.

Case 2 - Tax due diligence based on consolidated financial statements

Basic facts

The German Target Group with various foreign subsidiaries is up for sale. You will represent the buyer, who will commission a tax due diligence of the group. As the project is still in its first phase, the consolidated annual financial statements of the Target Group, which prepares its financial statements in accordance with IFRS, are currently the primary source of information available. Further information can be requested and discussed on this basis at an Expert Call.

The legal structure of the Target Group is as follows:

Tax due diligence Tax pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax law taxlaw Seminar Case studies isis zsis Corporate tax law Acquisitions Consolidated financial statements

The (simplified) excerpts from the notes to the consolidated financial statements of Target Group in connection with income taxes are as follows:

Tax Due Diligence Tax pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax law taxlaw Seminar Case studies isis zsis Corporate tax law Tax expense

The tax rate applied corresponds to the corporate tax rate of 30% on taxable profits applicable to German HoldCo with its registered office and management in Germany.

Tax Due Diligence Tax Pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax Law taxlaw Seminar Case Studies isis zsis Corporate Tax Law Tax Claims Profit Assets

The Target Group has unused tax losses of MEUR 45 for which no deferred tax asset has been recognised, as it is probable that the subsidiaries in which these losses arose will not generate sufficient taxable income in the foreseeable future. The losses can be carried forward indefinitely.

The Target Group has undistributed earnings of MEUR 20 which, if distributed as dividends, would be taxable for the recipient. There is an estimable temporary difference, but no deferred tax liability has been recognised as the Target Group is able to control the timing of distributions from its subsidiaries and these earnings are not expected to be distributed in the foreseeable future.

2.1 Losses

The following list of losses is provided for discussion at the Expert Call:

Tax Due Diligence Tax pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax law taxlaw Seminar Case studies isis zsis Corporate tax law Loss carry forward

Questions

  • How is the deferred tax asset (DTA) to be valued in the context of the tax due diligence?
  • Is the DTA to be considered in the purchase price negotiations?
  • How is the DTA treated in the SPA?
  • Are the non-capitalized deferred taxes for the loss carryforwards relevant to the purchase price?

2.2 Assumption of foreign permanent establishment losses

The Swiss subsidiary (OpCo CH, Zug) has claimed losses of the EU branch in Hungary (Hungary Branch) totalling MEUR 5 in the last 3 years in accordance with Art. 52 para. 3 DBG. A DTA of EUR 240 thousand was applied to the remaining losses of this permanent establishment (EUR 2 thousand; see1). OpCo CH has no further losses carried forward in Switzerland and has been generating profits for years and it is assumed that the remaining losses carried forward will also be offset in Switzerland (ETR 12%). According to statements made in the course of the commercial due diligence, a turnaround is emerging at the Hungarian operating facility.

Questions

  • Does the sale have an impact on the losses claimed?
  • What risks/questions arise?
  • Does it matter whether the Hungarian branch will be profitable within 7 years or after?
  • Does it matter whether the Hungarian Branch can claim the losses under their law?
  • How is the DTA to be evaluated in the context of the tax due diligence and are there other considerations relevant to the purchase price?
  • How do you go about drafting the contract?

2.3 Intangible assets/deferred tax positions

When asked about deferred tax liabilities (DTL) on intangible assets, you will be informed that IPCo holds intangible assets (IP) in Ireland which are recognised for tax purposes well below their market value. Deferred tax liabilities (DTLs) have been recognised on these temporary differences for the IFRS financial statements.

questions:

  • What happens with a share deal with the hidden reserves on the IP in the IPCo?
  • How are deferred taxes to be taken into account in the purchase price?
  • Should deferred taxes be included in the definition of "taxes" in the SPA?
  • Does the assessment change if the buyer moves the IP to the country where he keeps his IP immediately after the purchase?
  • What should be noted with regard to the unrecognized tax liability in connection with the undistributed dividends?

2.4 Adjustment of transfer prices

A review of the consolidated financial statements shows an uncertain tax position (UTP) of MEUR 2 as part of the tax liability. On the Expert Call you will be informed that this UTP was formed due to a payment from TPCo 2 UK to TPCO 1 CH (Zug) which is not third party compliant (payment from UK was made at a translated price). If the UK tax authorities were aware of this fact, it would be likely that a primary adjustment would be made.

questions:

  • What are the questions regarding UTP in the tax due diligence?
  • How would you quantify the risk?
  • What happens if Switzerland has declared a participation deduction of more than 100% in the relevant year, or would this have an impact on your risk assessment?
  • How to deal with UTP in the SPA?

2.5 Indirect Capital Gain Tax

The company in India (OpCo India) has a significant value in relation to the total value of the Group (around 50% of the Target Group).

questions:

  • What is the tax question regarding the Indian group company?
  • Who bears any capital gains tax and how is it handled (tax debtor, taxpayer)?
  • How should this be taken into account in the SPA?
  • How would it be taken into account if the buyer is to pay the tax?

2.6 Quality of information

With regard to various foreign group companies, the seller did not provide any information in the next phase of the tax due diligence, despite repeated requests. For the Target companies in Germany, on the other hand, there are now an unmanageable number of documents in the data room.

Questions

  • What problems arise from a negotiation perspective?
  • How should this be taken into account in the SPA?
  • What information can you get from the tax reconciliation (see basic facts), which should be analysed in the next phase of the tax due diligence and/or which could be relevant for structuring considerations?
CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback
Unternehmen

Gernot Zitter

Anne Marie Anselmi

Tax Due Diligence

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 27. Oktober 2020 mit dem Titel «Steuerliche Fallstricke bei Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen».

10/2020
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fall 1 – Tax Due Diligence einer Schweizer Unternehmensgruppe

Grundsachverhalt

Die Target HoldCo-Gruppe mit Hauptsitz in der Schweiz wurde ursprünglich durch Herrn X, einer natürlichen Person mit Wohnsitz in Zürich, gegründet. Um weiterhin expandieren zu können, verkaufte Hr. X im Jahr 2014 51% seiner Anteile an Target HoldCo an einen ausländischen Fonds, welcher die Anteile über eine luxemburgische Akquisitionsgesellschaft (LuxCo) erwarb. Die rechtliche Gruppenstruktur stellt sich wie folgt dar:

Tax Due Diligence Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht

LuxCo verfügt über 30% Eigenkapital. In Luxemburg (in einem gemieteten Büroraum) ist ein Mitarbeiter angestellt. Das Formular zur Meldung statt Entrichtung der Verrechnungssteuer auf Dividenden der Target HoldCo (Formular 823B) wurde kürzlich eingereicht, jedoch von der ESTV noch nicht bestätigt.

Nach dem Einstieg des ausländischen Fonds wurde eine sog. „buy and build“-Strategie verfolgt, im Zuge derer die Target HoldCo Gruppe über die Jahre diverse „add-on“ Akquisitionen tätigte, wie z.B. den Kauf der US HoldCo und der Schweizer OpCo 4. Darüber hinaus wurden in der Vergangenheit diverse Gruppendarlehen gewährt sowie interne Umstrukturierungen vorgenommen. Abgesehen von der US HoldCo und ihrer Enkelin UK OpCo haben alle direkt und indirekt durch Target HoldCo gehaltenen Unternehmen ihren Sitz und Ort der Leitung in der Schweiz. Target HoldCo wurde bis Ende 2019 als Holdinggesellschaft besteuert.

Der ausländische Fond bereitet nun den Exit für seine 51% Beteiligung an Target HoldCo vor. Herr X wird seine Anteile von 49% ebenfalls verkaufen. Die Käuferin ist ein internationaler Konzern mit Hauptsitz in der Schweiz. Als Käufergesellschaften treten die Käufer Holding und Käufer OpCo, beide mit Sitz in der Schweiz, auf. OpCo 1 aus der Targetgruppe wird direkt von Käufer OpCo erworben, weil sie im gleichen Geschäftsbereich tätig ist und bereits von Anfang an Synergien gehoben werden sollen. Die Käufer Holding erwirbt sämtliche Anteile der Target HoldCo.

Die Akquisitionsstruktur sieht wie folgt aus:

Tax Due Diligence Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht Akquisitionsstruktur

Da sich das Geschäft von Käufer OpCo und OpCo 1 nicht wie erhofft entwickelt, veräussert Käufer Holding rund 1 Jahr nach Akquisition sämtliche Anteile an Käufer OpCo (die nach wie vor OpCo 1 hält) an eine unabhängige Drittpartei.

Fragestellung

Die Käufer Holding hat sie beauftragt, eine Tax Due Diligence (DD) der Target HoldCo-Gruppe durchzuführen und Ihre Erkenntnisse in einem Bericht zusammenzufassen. Mit der Vertragsgestaltung (share purchase agreement / SPA) wurde eine Anwaltskanzlei beauftragt. Nach Abgabe des DD Berichts meldet sich die Anwaltskanzlei bei Ihnen, um mit Ihnen Ihre „Findings“ aus der Tax DD zu besprechen. Es soll insbesondere besprochen werden, wie die jeweiligen Findings sowie allfällige Steuerrisiken aus der Transaktionsstruktur zu bewerten und im SPA zu adressieren sind.

Erkenntnisse aus der Tax Due Diligence

1.1 Aktionärsdarlehen

Target HoldCo hat Herrn X ein Darlehen im Umfang von MCHF 4 gewährt (Aktionärsdarlehen). Das Aktionärsdarlehen wurde bis zum Einstieg des Fonds im Dezember 2014 nicht verzinst. Seit Anfang 2015 stellt Target HoldCo Herrn X den Safe-Haven Zinssatz gem. Merkblatt ESTV in Rechnung. Es bestehen weder Sicherheiten noch ein schriftlicher Darlehensvertrag. Im Zuge der Verhandlungen vereinbaren die Vertragsparteien, dass das Aktionärsdarlehen vor Closing an Target HoldCo zurückbezahlt werden soll.

1.2 Darlehen Target HoldCo an OpCo 3

Target HoldCo hatte OpCo 3 mit Sitz in Zürich ein Darlehen von MCHF 6 zur Verfügung gestellt. In der Folge verschlechterte sich der Geschäftsgang von OpCo 3, und Target HoldCo wandelte das Darlehen 2019 in Eigenkapital um („Debt-Equity-Swap“) (Buchung auf Stufe Target HoldCo: Beteiligung OpCo 3 / Darlehen MCHF 6; Buchung auf Stufe OpCo 3: Darlehen / freie Reserven MCHF 6). Der im Zeitpunkt der Umwandlung bestehende handelsrechtliche Verlustvortrag (entspricht dem steuerlichen Verlustvorträge) der OpCo 3 von MCHF 4 wurde ausgebucht. Ende 2019 wurde die Beteiligung OpCo 3 in den Büchern der Target HoldCo auf MCHF 2 abgeschrieben. Ab Anfang 2020 erholt sich OpCo 3 wieder und steht im Zeitpunkt des Verkaufs umsatz- und gewinnseitig gut da (dies wird durch kürzlich abgeschlossene Verträge mit Drittparteien gestützt, die in den nächsten Jahren eine günstige Prognose für das Geschäft der OpCo 3 in Aussicht stellen). OpCo 3 ist einschliesslich Steuerperiode 2018 definitiv veranlagt.

1.3 Übersetzte Lizenzzahlung von UK OpCo an US HoldCo

Die britische Steuerbehörde HMRC hat bei UK OpCo eine Buchprüfung („Tax Audit“) eingeleitet, da diese an ihre US-Grossmutter (US HoldCo) eine um MCHF 1 übersetzte Lizenzgebühr entrichtet hat. OpCo 5 hat infolge der übersetzten Zahlung von UK OpCo an US HoldCo keine Abschreibung auf der Beteiligung an UK OpCo vorgenommen.

1.4 Dividende OpCo 4

Target HoldCo hat 2017 im Zuge der erwähnten buy and build Strategie sämtliche Anteile an OpCo 4 von einer in der Schweiz ansässigen natürlichen Person erworben, welche die Beteiligungen im Privatvermögen hielt. OpCo 4 verfügte per letzten Jahresabschluss vor Verkauf an Target HoldCo über ausschüttungsfähige Reserven von MCHF 3 und nichtbetriebsnotwendige Mittel von MCHF 2. Der Kaufpreis betrug MCHF 4. Im Jahr 2018 veräusserte OpCo 4 eine Betriebsliegenschaft und schüttete den Erlös von MCHF 2.5 an Target HoldCo aus. Der operative Gewinn der OpCo 4 betrug 2018 MCHF 1.5.

1.5 Betriebsübertragung von OpCo 2 auf OpCo 1

OpCo 2 hat 2018 mittels steuerneutraler Vermögensübertragung einen operativen Betrieb auf ihre Schwestergesellschaft OpCo 1 übertragen. Die Steuerneutralität dieser Transaktion wurde von den Steuerbehörden in einem Ruling bestätigt. OpCo 2 ist einschliesslich Steuerperiode 2018 definitiv veranlagt.

1.6 Weitere Informationen

Der Gesamtkaufpreis für die Target HoldCo-Gruppe beträgt MCHF 800. Bei Käufer Holding handelt es sich um eine registrierte Effektenhändlerin nach Art. 13 Abs. 3 lit. d StG (über CHF 10 Mio. steuerbare Urkunden nach Massgabe letzter Bilanz). Herr X hält die zu verkaufende 49%-Beteiligung an Target HoldCo im Privatvermögen. Target HoldCo verfügte per Jahresabschluss 2019 über ausschüttungsfähige Reserven von MCHF 300 und nichtbetriebsnotwendige Mittel von MCHF 100. Die nichtbetriebsnotwendigen Mittel der Tochtergesellschaften betragen insgesamt MCHF 250. Die Ansässigkeit der Teilhaber des ausländischen Fonds (100% Aktionärin der LuxCo) ist nicht bekannt.

Fall 2 – Tax Due Diligence auf Basis eines Konzernabschlusses

Grundsachverhalt

Die deutsche Target Gruppe mit diversen ausländischen Tochtergesellschaften steht zum Kauf. Sie vertreten den Käufer, der eine Tax Due Diligence der Gruppe in Auftrag gibt. Da das Projekt noch in einer ersten Phase ist, steht als Informationsquelle momentan primär der konsolidierte Jahresabschluss der Target Gruppe, die nach IFRS abschliesst, zur Verfügung. Weitere Informationen können auf dieser Basis an einem Expert Call angefragt und diskutiert werden.

Die rechtliche Struktur der Target Gruppe stellt sich wie folgt dar:

Tax Due Diligence Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht Akquise Konzernabschluss

Die (vereinfachten) Auszüge der Anhangsangaben aus dem konsolidierten Jahresabschluss der Target Gruppe im Zusammenhang mit Ertragsteuern präsentieren sich wie folgt:

Tax Due Diligence Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht Steueraufwand

Der angewendete Steuersatz entspricht dem für German HoldCo mit Sitz und Leitung in Deutschland geltenden Unternehmenssteuersatz von 30% auf steuerbare Gewinne.

Tax Due Diligence Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht Steuerforderungen Gewinn Vermögenswerte

Die Target Gruppe hat nicht genutzte steuerliche Verluste, für welche keine latente Steuerforderung angesetzt wurde, von MEUR 45, da wahrscheinlich ist, dass die Tochtergesellschaften, bei denen diese Verluste entstanden sind, in absehbarer Zukunft nicht ausreichend zu versteuerndes Einkommen erwirtschaften werden. Die Verluste können unbegrenzt vorgetragen werden.

Die Target Gruppe hat nicht ausgeschüttete Ergebnisse i.H.v MEUR 20 die, falls sie als Dividenden ausgezahlt würden, auf Seiten des Empfängers zu versteuern wären. Es liegt eine einschätzbare temporäre Differenz vor, dennoch wurde keine latente Steuerverbindlichkeit angesetzt, da die Target Gruppe in der Lage ist, den Zeitpunkt der Ausschüttungen der Tochterunternehmen zu kontrollieren und es nicht erwartet wird, dass diese Ergebnisse in absehbarer Zukunft ausgeschüttet werden.

2.1 Verluste

Nachfolgend zur Diskussion am Expert Call erhalten Sie folgende Aufstellung der Verluste:

Tax Due Diligence Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht Verlustvortrag

Fragestellungen

  • Wie ist die latente Steuerforderung (deferred tax asset; DTA) im Rahmen der Tax Due Diligence zu bewerten?
  • Ist das DTA in den Kaufpreisverhandlungen zu berücksichtigen?
  • Wie ist das DTA im SPA zu behandeln?
  • Sind die nicht-aktivierten latenten Steuern für die Verlustvorträge kaufpreisrelevant?

2.2 Übernahme von ausländischen Betriebsstättenverlusten

Die Schweizer Tochtergesellschaft (OpCo CH, Zug) hat in den letzten 3 Jahren Verluste der EU Betriebsstätte in Ungarn (Ungarn Branch) von insgesamt MEUR 5 gem. Art. 52 Abs. 3 DBG geltend gemacht. Auf verbleibenden Verlusten dieser Betriebsstätte (MEUR 2; siehe1) wurde ein DTA von TEUR 240 angesetzt. OpCo CH hat keine weiteren Verlustvorträge in der Schweiz und erwirtschaftet seit Jahren Gewinne und es wird davon ausgegangen, dass auch die verbleibenden Verlustvorträge in der Schweiz verrechnet werden (ETR 12%). Bei der ungarischen Betriebsstätte zeichnet sich gemäss Aussagen im Rahmen der commercial due diligence ein Turn-around ab.

Fragestellungen

  • Hat der Verkauf einen Einfluss auf die geltend gemachten Verluste?
  • Welche Risiken/Fragen stellen sich?
  • Spielt es eine Rolle, ob die Ungarn Branch innerhalb von 7 Jahren oder danach in die Gewinnzone kommt?
  • Spielt es eine Rolle, ob die Ungarn Branch nach deren Recht die Verluste geltend machen kann?
  • Wie ist das DTA im Rahmen der Tax Due Diligence zu bewerten und gibt es andere kaufpreisrelevante Überlegungen?
  • Wie gehen Sie bei der Vertragsgestaltung vor?

2.3 Immaterielle Vermögenswerte/latente Steuerpositionen

Auf Nachfrage zu den Steuerverbindlichkeiten (deferred tax liabilities; DTL) auf immaterielle Vermögenswerte wird Ihnen mitgeteilt, dass IPCo in Irland immaterielle Vermögenswerte (IP) hält, die steuerlich weit unter ihrem Marktwert bilanziert werden. Auf diesen temporären Differenzen wurden für den Abschluss nach IFRS latente Steuerverbindlichkeiten (DTLs) angesetzt.

Fragestellungen:

  • Was passiert bei einem Sharedeal mit den stillen Reserven auf dem IP in der IPCo?
  • Wie sind die latenten Steuern beim Kaufpreis zu berücksichtigen?
  • Sind latente Steuern in der Definition der „Steuern“ im SPA zu berücksichtigen?
  • Ändert sich etwas an der Einschätzung, wenn der Käufer das IP direkt nach dem Kauf in das Land verschiebt, in dem er sein IP hält?
  • Was ist hinsichtlich der nicht bilanzierten Steuerverbindlichkeit im Zusammenhang mit den nicht ausgeschütteten Dividenden zu beachten?

2.4 Anpassung Transferpreise

Bei Durchsicht der konsolidierten Abschlüsse wird als Bestandteil der Steuerverbindlichkeit eine uncertain tax position (UTP) von MEUR 2 festgestellt. Am Expert Call wird Ihnen mitgeteilt, dass diese UTP aufgrund einer Zahlung der TPCo 2 UK an die TPCO 1 CH (Zug), die nicht drittpreiskonform ist, gebildet wurde (Zahlung von UK erfolgte zu einem übersetzten Preis). Wäre dieser Umstand den Steuerbehörden in Grossbritannien bekannt, wäre es wahrscheinlich, dass es zu einer Aufrechnung (primary adjustment) kommt.

Fragestellungen:

  • Welche Fragen stellen sich in Bezug auf die UTP in der Tax Due Diligence?
  • Wie würden Sie das Risiko quantifizieren?
  • Wie verhält es sich, wenn die Schweiz im entsprechenden Jahr einen Beteiligungsabzug von mehr als 100% deklariert hat bzw. hätte dies Einfluss auf Ihre Risikoeinschätzung?
  • Wie ist mit der UTP im SPA umzugehen?

2.5 Indirect Capital Gain Tax

Die Gesellschaft in Indien (OpCo Indien) weist einen im Verhältnis des Gesamtwertes der Gruppe erheblichen Wert aus (rund 50% der Target Gruppe).

Fragestellungen:

  • Welche steuerliche Frage stellt sich in Bezug auf die indische Gruppengesellschaft?
  • Wer trägt eine allfällige Kapitalgewinnsteuer und wie wird diese abgewickelt (Steuerschuldner, Steuerzahler)?
  • Wie ist dies im SPA zu berücksichtigen?
  • Wie wäre es zu berücksichtigen, wenn der Käufer die Steuer übernehmen soll?

2.6 Qualität der Information

In Bezug auf diverse ausländische Gruppengesellschaften hat der Verkäufer trotz mehrmaligem Nachfragen auch in der nächsten Phase der Tax Due Diligence keine Informationen zur Verfügung gestellt. Für die Target Gesellschaften in Deutschland sind auf der anderen Seite nun unübersichtlich viele Dokumente im Datenraum.

Fragestellungen

  • Welche Probleme ergeben sich aus Verhandlungssicht?
  • Wie ist dies im SPA zu berücksichtigen?
  • Welche Informationen können Sie der Steuerüberleitung (siehe Grundsachverhalt) entnehmen, welche in der nächsten Phase der Tax Due Diligence analysiert werden sollten und/oder welche für Strukturierungsüberlegungen relevant sein könnten?
CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).