The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback

Daniel Holenstein

Withholding tax criminal law

-
Advertisements
-

Workshop on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar on 21 September 2020 entitled "Practical cases on withholding tax and outlook on current developments".

09/2020
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
be on sale in the shop
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case study late notification

Facts

The X. AG, domiciled in Berne, held its General Meeting for the 2018 financial year on 26 June 2019 and approved the annual financial statements at this General Meeting, in which it approved monetary benefits (interest on hidden equity) to its parent company in an EU country. The X. AG has a valid authorisation to report instead of paying withholding tax (Form 823B). In a notification dated 19 December 2019, X. AG submitted the notification.

Question:

The FTA has the X. AG a fine of CHF 750. With good reason?

Case study: failure to pass on

Facts

In autumn 2013, Y. AG reached an agreement with the FTA in the survey procedure in an overall solution to provide its related company Z. Ltd, domiciled in BVI, with services in kind in the amount of CHF 11.5 million. Subsequently, Y. AG paid the tax due including interest and invoiced Z. Ltd. However, as Z. Ltd had already been liquidated before 2012, this invoice remained unpaid, which is why Y. Ltd - in agreement with its auditors - has booked this amount as extraordinary expense in its income statement 2013.

Since the FTA is based on the standards set by the Y. AG submitted to the cantonal tax administration, the FTA became aware of this incident and was informed by Y. AG the withholding tax of 35% of the renewed payment in kind and threatened to offset the amount in full if the payment was not passed on. After Y. AG had passed the tax on to its subsidiary, the FTA refrained from offsetting.

As a result, the ASU carried out an administrative penal procedure.

Question:

In the administrative criminal proceedings, the ASU appointed the board of directors of Y. AG to a fine of CHF 72,000 for complete evasion of withholding tax. With good reason?

Case study of subsequently determined monetary value

Facts

Ms. A. was a director of more than 20 companies in which natural persons domiciled abroad held shares. These companies had invested in investment properties. The shareholders formed the Advisory Board to the Board of Directors and performed various tasks, including the decision on the sale of properties and companies. They did not receive any fees for this activity, but charged their expenses to one of these companies, B. AG, which charged them to the other companies.

Originally, the companies were based in the canton of Zug. There the procedure remained unobjected. In 2009, the companies moved their headquarters to the canton of Zurich. In the assessment procedure for the tax periods 2009 and 2010, the tax commissioner offset the management costs charged to one of these companies as payments in kind.

This company has (unsuccessfully) defended itself against the offsetting. In autumn 2014, the Tax Appeal Court of the Canton of Zurich confirmed the offsets.

As a result, the Cantonal Tax Office of Zurich has offset all other companies' expenses that are not justified on business grounds. The companies accepted these offsets.

The Cantonal Tax Office of Zurich then reported these offsets to the FTA, which levied withholding tax on all companies on the pecuniary benefits. The companies paid the tax without reservation.

Subsequently, the ASU has opened administrative criminal proceedings against the administrative board member.

Question:

In the administrative criminal proceedings, the ASU has sentenced the Board of Directors to a fine of CHF 70,000 for possible intentional evasion of withholding taxes with regard to the expenses booked under the heading of management costs in the financial years 2012 - 2013 which were not justified on business grounds. With good reason?

Case study sentencing

Facts

Among other things, ASU has convicted the foreign-domiciled shareholder of A. AG of intentionally committed tax fraud with regard to payments of monetary value. The charges in the action against A. AG amounts to CHF 38,230,173.00.

Question:

ASU has sentenced the shareholder to an unconditionally enforceable fine of 320 daily rates at CHF 3,000 each and a conditional fine of 360 daily rates at CHF 3,600 each. With good reason?

CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback

Daniel Holenstein

Verrechnungssteuerstrafrecht

-
Werbeanzeigen
-

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 21. September 2020 mit dem Titel «Praxisfälle zur Verrechnungssteuer und Ausblick auf aktuelle Entwicklungen».

09/2020
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fallbeispiel verspätete Meldung

Sachverhalt

Die X. AG mit Sitz in Bern hat ihre Generalversammlung für das Geschäftsjahr 2018 am 26. Juni 2019 durchgeführt und an dieser Generalversammlung die Jahresrechnung genehmigt, in welcher sie geldwerte Leistungen (Verzinsung von verdecktem Eigenkapital) an ihre Muttergesellschaft in einem EU-Staat genehmigt hat. Die X. AG verfügt über eine gültige Bewilligung zur Meldung statt Entrichtung der Verrechnungssteuer (Formular 823B). Mit Meldung vom 19. Dezember 2019 hat die X. AG die Meldung erstattet.

Fragestellung:

Die ESTV hat der X. AG eine Busse von CHF 750.- auferlegt. Zu Recht?

Fallbeispiel unterlassene Überwälzung

Sachverhalt

Die Y. AG hat sich mit der ESTV im Herbst 2013 im Erhebungsverfahren in einer Gesamtlösung darauf geeinigt, der ihr nahestehenden Gesellschaft Z. Ltd mit Sitz auf den BVI geldwerte Leistungen im Umfang von CHF 11,5 Mio. erbracht zu haben. In der Folge hat die Y. AG die geschuldete Steuer samt Zins entrichtet und der Z. Ltd in Rechnung gestellt. Da jedoch diese bereits vor 2012 liquidiert war, blieb diese Rechnung unbezahlt, weshalb die Y. AG diesen Betrag – in Absprache mit ihrer Revisionsstelle – in ihrer Erfolgsrechnung 2013 als ausserordentlichen Aufwand verbucht hat.

Nachdem die ESTV gestützt auf die von der Y. AG bei der kantonalen Steuerverwaltung eingereichten Unterlagen auf diesen Vorgang aufmerksam geworden ist, hat sie von der Y. AG die Verrechnungssteuer von 35 % der erneuten geldwerten Leistung erhoben und angedroht, im Falle der Nichtüberwälzung eine Aufrechnung ins Hundert vorzunehmen. Nachdem die Y. AG die Steuer auf ihre Tochtergesellschaft überwälzt hat, hat die ESTV von der Aufrechnung ins Hundert abgesehen.

Daraufhin hat die ASU ein Verwaltungsstrafverfahren durchgeführt.

Fragestellung:

Im Verwaltungsstrafverfahren hat die ASU den Verwaltungsrat der Y. AG wegen vollendeter Hinterziehung der Verrechnungssteuer zu einer Busse von CHF 72'000.- verurteilt. Zu Recht?

Fallbeispiel nachträglich festgestellte geldwerte Leistung

Sachverhalt

Frau A. war Verwaltungsrätin von insgesamt mehr als 20 Gesellschaften, an denen im Ausland domizilierte natürliche Personen beteiligt waren. Diese Gesellschaften hatten in Rendite-Liegenschaften investiert. Die Aktionäre bildeten den Beirat zum Verwaltungsrat und nahmen diverse Aufgaben wahr, darunter den Entscheid über den Verkauf von Immobilien und Gesellschaften. Für diese Tätigkeit haben sie kein Honorar bezogen, jedoch ihre Spesen einer dieser Gesellschaften verrechnet, der B. AG, welche diese an die übrigen Gesellschaften weiterbelastet hat.

Ursprünglich hatten die Gesellschaften ihren Sitz im Kanton Zug. Dort blieb das Vorgehen unbeanstandet. Im Jahr 2009 haben die Gesellschaften ihren Sitz in den Kanton Zürich verlegt. Im Veranlagungsverfahren für die Steuerperioden 2009 und 2010 hat der Steuerkommissär die einer dieser Gesellschaften in Rechnung gestellten Management-Kosten als geldwerte Leistungen aufgerechnet.

Diese Gesellschaft hat sich (erfolglos) gegen die Aufrechnung gewehrt. Im Herbst 2014 hat das Steuerrekursgericht des Kantons Zürich die Aufrechnungen bestätigt.

In der Folge hat das Kantonale Steueramt Zürich bei allen übrigen Gesellschaften die geschäftsmässig nicht begründeten Aufwendungen aufgerechnet. Die Gesellschaften akzeptierten diese Aufrechnungen.

Daraufhin meldete das Kantonale Steueramt Zürich diese Aufrechnungen an die ESTV, welche von sämtlichen Gesellschaften die Verrechnungssteuer auf den geldwerten Leistungen erhob. Die Gesellschaften haben die Steuer vorbehaltlos bezahlt.

Im Anschluss daran hat die ASU ein Verwaltungsstrafverfahren gegen die Verwaltungsrätin eröffnet.

Fragestellung:

Im Verwaltungsstrafverfahren hat die ASU die Verwaltungsrätin wegen eventualvorsätzlicher Hinterziehung von Verrechnungssteuern hinsichtlich der in den Geschäftsjahren 2012 – 2013 unter dem Titel Management-Kosten verbuchten, geschäftsmässig nicht begründeten Aufwendungen zu einer Busse von CHF 70'000.- verurteilt. Zu Recht?

Fallbeispiel Strafzumessung

Sachverhalt

Die ASU hat unter anderem den im Ausland domizilierten Aktionär der A. AG wegen vorsätzlich begangenem Abgabebetrug hinsichtlich von geldwerten Leistungen verurteilt. Die in der gegen die A. AG erlassenen Verfügung festgesetzte Verrechnungssteuer beläuft sich auf CHF 38'230'173.-.

Fragestellung:

Die ASU hat den Aktionär zu einer unbedingt vollziehbaren Geldstrafe von 320 Tagessätzen zu je CHF 3'000.- sowie zu einer bedingten Geldstrafe von 360 Tagessätzen zu je CHF 3'600.- verurteilt. Zu Recht?

CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).