The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback

Natalie Peter

Maximilian Hague

Private individuals - International tax law 2017 - Switzerland/Germany

ISIS) seminar on 25 April 2017

04/2017
The complete PDF of the seminar folder can be downloaded for CHF
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
50.00
(introductory price)
can be purchased in the shop.
The workshops are also available individually in the "Documents" section.
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

Case 1: Dual residence - divorce

Facts

Beate and Uwe Richter are married and live in their own house in Cologne.

Uwe Richter, born in 1956, is self-employed and partner in a successful management consultancy firm. His wife Beate (born 1965) worked as an auditor until mid 2011 with a workload of 50% in an employment relationship. Their two children Dirk (born in 1995) and Ulrike (born in 1993), who obtained their Matura at the High Alpine Institute Zuoz, will begin their studies in Switzerland at the University of Zurich in 2013 and 2015 respectively. Uwe Richter will leave the firm in mid-2017 and will in future work on individual mandates as a freelancer.

Through a friendly couple, the Richter spouses become aware of a property in Oberwil/Lieli Canton Aargau, which is in need of fundamental renovation. In order to enable the two children to complete their studies in Switzerland and in view of the imminent retirement of Uwe Richter from the firm, the Richter couple decided to purchase this property at the beginning of February 2012 and to renovate it extensively for their purposes. The purchase price is CHF 2 million and the renovation costs will be incurred in 2012 (CHF 800,000) and 2013 (CHF 800,000) with a value-preserving portion of 25%. To finance this renovation, the spouses receive dividends from Richter Holding AG, Baar. Both spouses hold 50% each of the shares of Richter Holding AG, Baar.

The renovation of the property will be personally supervised by Beate Richter. For this reason, she will give up her part-time job in Cologne at the end of 2011 and has since then regularly visited Switzerland in person. Since the property in Oberwil is not habitable until the end of 2012 due to renovation, Beate Richter stays either with her friends or in nearby hotels.

The rapid progress of the renovation allows Beate Richter and her daughter Ulrike to move into the house in Oberwil on 1 February 2013, initially on a provisional basis. However, she will return regularly to her residence in Cologne.

In the spring of 2013 Beate Richter discovers that her spouse has entered into an external relationship completely unexpectedly, but apparently already in autumn 2012. For this reason, in the autumn of 2013, it becomes clear that she seriously intends to stay in Switzerland at least until her children have completed their studies. In September 2013, she will take up gainful employment, initially at a rate of 20%. The workload will be reduced from 1 March

increased to 60% in 2014. After all attempts to save the marriage have failed, the couple separates in March 2014 with a separation agreement. On 3 March 2015 the marriage will be legally divorced.

The income and financial circumstances of the Richter spouses as of 31.12.2013 are as follows (all values converted into CHF)

Assumption for simplification: same assets as at 31.12.2012 and 31.12.2014.

Since 2007, the securities assets of the Richter couple have been pooled in Richter Holding AG, Baar. Both spouses are 50% shareholders.

The spouse's maintenance contributions for Beate Richter, which were promised in the separation agreement for 2014, were never paid. In contrast, Uwe Richter will pay monthly maintenance contributions of EUR 8,000 for Beate Richter from the time the divorce takes legal effect in 2015 and will pay the children's study costs.

Distribution of assets after divorce:

In the course of the matrimonial property rights dispute, the spouses and judges agree on the following division of property, which is recognized by the court:

The holiday home in Bever is transferred to the two children. The mortgages go along with the properties.

Question

The tax authorities of the Canton of Aargau are of the opinion that there will be unlimited tax liability in the canton from 2012. They also doubt that Beate Richter is not in gainful employment in Switzerland and threaten to use discretionary income tax rates for Beate Richter.

How do you assess this case for the tax years 2012, 2013 and 2014 with regard to

  • Establishment of a tax liability
  • Scope of tax liability
  • Refund of Swiss withholding tax

in Switzerland and Germany.

Rely on the DBG for the assessment under internal Swiss law.

CHF
50.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Feedback
X close
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Oops! Da ist etwas schiefgelaufen. Bitte probieren Sie es nochmals.
CHF
50.00
Sofort KaufenIn den WarenkorbMein Warenkorb
Ich habe das Produkt bereits gekauft.
Zu meinem Account
Private
ISTR

Natalie Peter

Maximilian Haag

Privatpersonen – Internationales Steuerrecht 2017 – Schweiz/Deutschland

ISIS)-Seminar vom 25. April 2017

04/2017
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
50.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

Fall 1: Doppelwohnsitz – Scheidung

Sachverhalt

Beate und Uwe Richter sind verheiratet und leben in einem eigenen Haus in Köln.

Uwe Richter, Jahrgang 1956, ist selbständig erwerbstätig und Partner einer erfolgreichen Unternehmensberatungskanzlei. Seine Frau Beate (Jahrgang 1965) arbeitete bis Mitte 2011 mit einem Arbeitspensum von 50% in einem Angestelltenverhältnis als Wirtschaftsprüferin. Die beiden Kinder Dirk (Jahrgang 1995) und Ulrike (Jahrgang 1993), welche ihre Maturität im hochalpinen Institut Zuoz erworben haben, nehmen im Jahr 2013 bzw. 2015 ihre Studien in der Schweiz an der Universität Zürich auf. Uwe Richter wird auf Mitte 2017 aus der Kanzlei austreten und inskünftig als freier Mitarbeiter einzelne Mandate abschliessen.

Über ein befreundetes Paar werden die Ehegatten Richter auf eine Liegenschaft in Oberwil/Lieli Kanton Aargau aufmerksam, welche aber grundlegend zu sanieren ist. Damit die beiden Kinder, ihre Studien in der Schweiz absolvieren können und mit Blick auf den bevorstehenden Rücktritt von Uwe Richter aus der Kanzlei entschliesst sich das Ehepaar Richter, diese Liegenschaft Anfang Februar 2012 zu erwerben und diese für Ihre Zwecke umfassend zu renovieren. Der Kaufpreis beträgt CHF 2 Mio. und der Sanierungsaufwand in den Jahren 2012 (CHF 800‘000) und 2013 (CHF 800‘000) mit einem werterhaltenden Anteil von 25%. Zur Finanzierung dieser Renovation beziehen die Ehegatten Dividenden aus der Richter Holding AG, Baar. Beide Ehegatten halten je 50% der Aktien Richter Holding AG, Baar.

Die Renovation der Liegenschaft wird von Beate Richter persönlich betreut. Aus diesem Grund gibt sie ihre Teilzeitstelle in Köln Ende 2011 auf und hält sich seither persönlich regelmässig in der Schweiz auf. Da die Liegenschaft in Oberwil bis Ende 2012 infolge Renovation nicht bewohnbar ist, hält sich Beate Richter entweder bei ihren Freunden oder in nahe gelegenen Hotels auf.

Der rasche Fortschritt der Renovation erlaubt es, dass Beate Richter zusammen mit ihrer Tochter Ulrike auf den 1. Februar 2013 im Haus in Oberwil zunächst provisorisch einzieht. Sie kehrt aber regelmässig an ihren Wohnsitz in Köln zurück.

Im Frühling 2013 muss Beate Richter feststellen, dass ihr Ehegatte völlig unerwartet, offenbar aber bereits im Herbst 2012, eine Aussenbeziehung eingegangen ist. Aus diesem Grund zeichnet sich im Herbst des Jahres 2013 für sie die ernsthafte Absicht, zumindest bis zum Abschluss der Studien ihrer Kinder in der Schweiz zu bleiben, ab. Sie nimmt im September 2013 eine unselbständige Erwerbstätigkeit zunächst im Umfang von 20% auf. Das Pensum wird nach der Fertigstellung des Umbaus ab 1. März

2014 auf 60% erhöht. Nachdem sämtliche Versuche, die Ehe zu retten, gescheitert sind, trennt sich das Ehepaar im März 2014 mit einer Trennungsvereinbarung. Am 3. März 2015 wird die Ehe rechtsgültig geschieden.

Die Einkommens- und Vermögensverhältnisse der Ehegatten Richter präsentieren per 31.12.2013 sich wie folgt (alle Werte in CHF umgerechnet):

Annahme zur Vereinfachung: Gleiches Vermögen per 31.12.2012 und 31.12.2014.

Das Wertschriftenvermögen des Ehepaars Richter ist seit 2007 in der Richter Holding AG, Baar zusammengefasst. Beide Ehegatten sind 50% Aktionäre.

Die Unterhaltsbeiträge des Ehegatten für Beate Richter, die in der Trennungsvereinbarung für 2014 in Aussicht gestellt worden sind, wurden nie bezahlt. Hingegen leistet Uwe Richter ab Rechtskraft der Scheidung 2015 monatliche Unterhaltsbeiträge von Euro 8‘000 für Beate Richter und kommt für die Studienkosten der Kinder auf.

Vermögensaufteilung nach der Scheidung:

Im Rahmen der güterrechtlichen Auseinandersetzung einigen sich die Ehegatten Richter auf folgende Vermögensaufteilung, die vom Gericht so anerkannt wird:

Die Ferienwohnung in Bever wird auf die beiden Kinder übertragen. Die Hypotheken gehen mit den Liegenschaften mit.

Fragestellung

Die Steuerbehörden des Kantons Aargau stellen sich auf den Standpunkt, dass ab 2012 eine unbeschränkte Steuerpflicht im Kanton besteht. Ausserdem bezweifeln sie, dass Beate Richter in der Schweiz keiner Erwerbstätigkeit nachgeht und drohen eine ermessensweise Festsetzung eines Erwerbseinkommens für Beate Richter an.

Wie beurteilen Sie diesen Fall für die Steuerjahr 2012, 2013 und 2014 hinsichtlich

  • Begründung einer Steuerpflicht
  • Umfang der Steuerpflicht
  • Rückerstattung der schweizerischen Verrechnungssteuer

in der Schweiz und in Deutschland.

Stützen Sie sich für die Beurteilung nach internem schweizerischem Recht auf das DBG.

CHF
50.00