The English language version is created automatically. The text may therefore contain linguistic and terminological errors.
Understood
Feedback
Corporations

Christa Aregger

Susanne Schreiber

Tax issues for legal entities as sellers

Workshop on the occasion of the ISIS) seminar on 27 October 2020 entitled "Tax pitfalls in Mergers & Acquisitions transactions".

10/2020
The corresponding case solutions can be purchased for CHF
120.00
(introductory price)
be on sale in the shop
The case solutions and other documents can be obtained free of charge in the shop.

1st carve out

1.1 Case study

The Swiss HoldCo acquired the Target Group through a share deal with the purchase of all shares of the Swiss A-AG. Following the acquisition, the Target Group is to be integrated as far as possible into the existing structure of the HoldCo Group and newly acquired IP is to be transferred to IP-AG.

Carve-out Milestone Payments Participation Deduction Transaction Costs Tax Pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax Law taxlaw Seminar Case Studies isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht AG

With regard to the acquisition, a purchase price allocation (PPA) was prepared by an independent third party in accordance with IFRS and assets and liabilities, including the existing IP of the target group, were valued. The difference to the purchase price is recorded as goodwill.

The acquired companies have the following profile:

  • A-AG: holding company and owner of the A brand
  • B-AG: Operative sales company and owner of patents and the B brand (no more research)
  • C-AG: operating company and owner of the C brand
  • D-AG: operating company and owner of the D brand

The A-AG is to be retained as an intermediate holding company and, following integration, will hold and manage the foreign investments of the entire Group.

Intended integration steps:

  • Case 1: B & C's brands and B-AG's patents are to be transferred to IP-AG as part of the integration.
  • Case 2: The D brand is left with D-AG, but is discontinued in the medium term.
  • Case 3: Transfer of the B-AG to Swiss AG.
  • Case 4: The B-AG is to assume the function of a limited risk distributor.
  • Case 5: Transfer of the C-AG & D-AG to the sub-HoldCo.

1.2 The question

Explain the tax consequences of integration steps 1-5 and transfer options from a tax perspective.

2. milestone payments

2.1 Case study

A-AG, a pharmaceutical company based in Rotkreuz, Zug, purchases an active pharmaceutical ingredient ("API") from B-AG, also based in the canton of Zug. The parties agree on a purchase price of CHF 50 million, due upon signing the contract. If the active pharmaceutical ingredient passes the Phase 1 clinical trial, a second payment of CHF 100 million will be due. The clinical phase 1 trial may take years to complete in practice and it has been agreed that if the compound fails to complete phase 1 after five years, the additional payment of CHF 100 million will not be due. No further payments are due for any subsequent positive completion of clinical phases 2 and 3.

2.2 Question

How is the transaction to be treated for profit tax purposes at A AG and B AG,

  1. If successful Phase I testing is likely?
  2. If after 5 years Phase I is terminated without success?

3. participation deduction

3.1 Case study - Participation deduction for earn-out payment

Zug-based A-AG sells all shares in its subsidiary T-AG to K-AG for TCHF 3000 (base purchase price) in the 2018 financial year. It is contractually agreed between the parties that, should the T-AG generate a profit of at least TCHF 400 in the 2018 financial year, an earn-out payment of TCHF 500 will be due in the 2019 financial year.

Other relevant factors in TCHF:

Carve-out Milestone Payments Participation Deduction Transaction Costs Tax Pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax Law taxlaw Seminar Case Studies isis zsis Corporate Tax Law Financing Costs AG Aktiengesellschaft

T-AG generates a profit of TCHF 800 in the 2018 financial year. the conditions for the agreed earn-out payment are therefore met and B-AG pays the A-AG the agreed additional TCHF 500 in the 2019 financial year.

3.2 The question

How high is the participation deduction of A-AG in the 2018 financial year and in the 2019 financial year?

Would a higher basic purchase price without earn-out be more advantageous for the A-AG with regard to the participation deduction?

3.3 Case study - Participation deduction on sale of shares in a US LLC

Z Investment AG, domiciled in Zug, holds 50% of the shares in a US Limited Liability Company (hereinafter "US LLC"). The US LLC is treated as a transparent vehicle for US tax purposes and its business capital and business results are allocated to its shareholders on a pro rata basis for US tax purposes.

The initial contribution of Z Investment AG to the US LLC amounts to CHF 50'000. In the meantime, the US LLC has taken up debt financing of CHF 700'000. On the assets side, the US LLC has, in addition to a bank deposit of CHF 300,000, two investments in operating corporations, the A-OpCo (book value of CHF 300,000) and the B- OpCo (book value of CHF 400,000).

In addition to the shares in US LLC, Z Investment AG also holds a 20% interest in the operating ABC-AG with a book value of CHF 350,000 (corresponds to the cost price).

The following dividends will be paid in the 2019 financial year:

  • Dividend of the ABC-AG totalling CHF 200,000
  • A-OpCo dividend of CHF 140,000 in total
  • B-OpCo dividend of CHF 80,000 in total

In the 2020 financial year, US LLC will sell one of its holdings, the shares in AOpCo, for a total of CHF 1,000,000. Unlike in the previous year, no dividends will be paid out in the 2020 financial year.

3.4 Question

How is the participation deduction at Z Investment AG calculated in fiscal year 2019 (dividends) and in fiscal year 2020 (capital gains)?

3.5 Case study - Participation deduction on sale of shares in a limited partnership

SwissCo, with its registered office in Zug, holds, together with other foreign investors, shares (50%) in a foreign limited partnership (hereinafter "LP"). LP, for its part, holds all shares in a (foreign) operating company (hereinafter "OpCo") as its only asset.

There are currently discussions among investors as to whether the shares in the foreign OpCo should be sold to a third party, but a decision has not yet been made. If a majority of the investors decide against selling OpCo, the management of SwissCo intends to sell the shares in LP directly. Accordingly, the management would like to clarify the impact on the participation deduction of the sale of the shares in LP and on the sale of all shares in OpCo by LP.

3.6 Question

Can SwissCo claim the participation deduction when selling its shares in LP?

What are the tax consequences at SwissCo level in the alternative scenario of the sale of OpCo by the foreign LP?

4. transaction costs

4.1 Model case - facts

Analytics Holding AG, based in Rotkreuz, Zug, is the parent company of the Analytics Group, which is active in the manufacture and sale of analytical laboratory equipment. Analytics Holding AG is held by two natural persons (Mr. A and Mr. B), who are also members of the Board of Directors of Analytics Holding AG, each holding 50%. In view of their advanced age, A and B wish to sell their shares to an independent buyer. Käufer AG shows interest.

The group structure of the Analytics Group has grown historically. Accordingly, the structure is somewhat oversized and there are numerous subsidiaries with similar functions. A and B, as members of the Board of Directors of Analytics Holding AG, decide to reorganize or simplify the Group structure, among other things with a view to the possible sale of Analytics Holding AG. To this end, a strategic review of the Group was carried out in advance and the restructuring was subsequently implemented.

The following (consultant) costs are incurred in the course of the previous reorganization and sales:

Carve-out Milestone Payments Participation Deduction Transaction Costs Tax Pitfalls Mergers & Acquisitions Transactions M&A Tax Law taxlaw Seminar Case Studies isis zsis Corporate Tax Law Bank AG Holding

On the instructions of A and B, all involved consultants invoice their costs directly to Analytics Holding AG (invoice recipient).

4.2 Question

  1. What are the tax consequences if Analytics Holding AG bears the costs?
  2. What costs should be borne by A and B to avoid negative tax consequences?
CHF
120.00

Please change your browser!

Microsoft Internet Explorer uses outdated web standards and is no longer supported by our platform. For an optimal display of the zsis) we recommend that you use one of the following browsers.
For more information about the outdated technology of Internet Explorer and the resulting risks, please visit the blog of Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager at Microsoft).

Die englische Sprachfassung wird automatisiert erstellt. Der Text kann daher sprachliche und terminologische Fehler aufweisen.
Verstanden
Feedback
Unternehmen

Christa Aregger

Susanne Schreiber

Steuerfragen bei juristischen Personen als Verkäufer

Workshop anlässlich des ISIS)-Seminars vom 27. Oktober 2020 mit dem Titel «Steuerliche Fallstricke bei Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen».

10/2020
Die zugehörigen Falllösungen können für CHF
120.00
(Einführungspreis)
im Shop erworben werden
Die Falllösungen und weitere Unterlagen können kostenlos im Shop bezogen werden.

1. Carve out

1.1 Fallbeispiel

Die Schweizer HoldCo erwarb die Target-Gruppe durch einen Share Deal mit Kauf sämtlicher Anteile der Schweizer A-AG. Im Nachgang zur Akquisition soll die Target-Gruppe soweit als möglich in die bestehende Struktur der HoldCo-Gruppe eingegliedert und neu erworbenes IP an die IP-AG übertragen werden.

Carve-out Milestone-Payments Beteiligungsabzug Transaktionskosten  Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht AG

Im Hinblick auf die Akquisition wurde durch eine unabhängige Drittperson eine Purchase Price Allocation (PPA) nach IFRS erstellt und Aktiven und Passiven, inkl. bestehendes IP der Target-Gruppe bewertet. Die Differenz zum Kaufpreis wird als Goodwill erfasst.

Die erworbenen Gesellschaften haben folgendes Profil:

  • A-AG: Holdinggesellschaft und Eigentümerin der Marke A
  • B-AG: Operative Vertriebs-Gesellschaft und Eigentümerin von Patenten und der Marke B (keine Forschung mehr)
  • C-AG: Operative Gesellschaft und Eigentümerin der Marke C
  • D-AG: Operative Gesellschaft und Eigentümerin der Marke D

Die A-AG soll als Zwischenholding beibehalten und nach der Integration die ausländischen Beteiligungen der gesamten Gruppe halten und verwalten.

Beabsichtigte Integrationsschritte:

  • Fall 1: Die Marken B & C sowie die Patente der B-AG sollen im Rahmen der Integration auf die IP-AG übertragen werden.
  • Fall 2: Die Marke D wird bei der D-AG belassen, aber mittelfristig eingestellt.
  • Fall 3: Übertragung der B-AG an die Swiss AG.
  • Fall 4: Die B-AG soll neu die Funktion eines Limited Risk Distributor übernehmen.
  • Fall 5: Übertragung der C-AG & D-AG an die Sub-HoldCo.

1.2 Fragestellung

Erläutern Sie die Steuerfolgen der Integrationsschritte 1-5 und Möglichkeiten der Übertragung aus steuerlicher Sicht.

2. Milestone payments

2.1 Fallbeispiel

Die A-AG, eine Pharmafirma mit Sitz in Rotkreuz, Zug kauft von der B-AG ebenfalls mit Sitz im Kanton Zug eine active pharmaceutical ingredient ("API"). Die Parteien vereinbaren einen Kaufpreis von CHF 50 Millionen, fällig bei Vertragsunterzeichnung. Sollte der Wirkstoff die klinische Phase 1 Prüfung überstehen, wird eine zweite Zahlung von CHF 100 Millionen fällig. Das Durchlaufen der klinischen Phase 1 kann in der Praxis Jahre dauern, entsprechend wurde vereinbart, dass sollte die Phase 1 nach fünf Jahren nicht erfolgreich absolviert worden sein, die zusätzliche Zahlung von 100 Millionen nicht fällig wird. Für ein späteres allfälliges positives Bestehen der klinischen Phasen 2 und 3 sind keine weiteren Zahlungen geschuldet.

2.2 Fragestellung

Wie ist der Vorgang gewinnsteuerlich bei A AG und B AG zu behandeln,

  1. Wenn die erfolgreiche Phase I Prüfung wahrscheinlich ist?
  2. Wenn nach 5 Jahren die Phase I ohne Erfolg beendet wird?

3. Beteiligungsabzug

3.1 Fallbeispiel - Beteiligungsabzug bei Earn-out Zahlung

Die in Zug ansässige A-AG verkauft im Geschäftsjahr 2018 sämtliche Anteile an ihrer Tochtergesellschaft T-AG für TCHF 3000 (Basiskaufpreis) an die K-AG. Vertraglich ist zwischen den Parteien vereinbart, dass, sollte die T-AG im Geschäftsjahr 2018 einen Gewinn von mindestens TCHF 400 erwirtschaften, im Geschäftsjahr 2019 eine Earn-Out Zahlung von TCHF 500 fällig wird.

Weitere relevante Faktoren in TCHF:

Carve-out Milestone-Payments Beteiligungsabzug Transaktionskosten  Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht Finanzierungskosten AG Aktiengesellschaft

Die T-AG erzielt im Geschäftsjahr 2018 einen Gewinn von TCHF 800. Die Voraussetzungen für die vereinbarte Earn-Out Zahlung sind somit erfüllt und die B-AG zahlt der A-AG im Geschäftsjahr 2019 die vereinbarten zusätzlichen TCHF 500.

3.2 Fragestellung

Wie hoch ist der Beteiligungsabzug der A-AG im Geschäftsjahr 2018 und im Geschäftsjahr 2019?

Wäre ein höherer Basiskaufpreis ohne Earn-Out für die die A-AG mit Blick auf den Beteiligungsabzug vorteilhafter?

3.3 Fallbeispiel - Beteiligungsabzug bei Verkauf von Anteilen an einer US LLC

Die Z Investment AG mit Sitz in Zug hält 50% der Anteile an einer US Limited Liability Company (nachfolgend "US LLC"). Die US LLC wird für US Steuerzwecke als transparentes Vehikel behandelt und ihr Geschäftskapital und Geschäftsergebnis wird für US Steuerzwecke ihren Teilhabern anteilmässig zugerechnet.

Die Ersteinlage der Z Investment AG in die US LLC beträgt CHF 50'000. Die US LLC hat in der Zwischenzeit eine Fremdfinanzierung von CHF 700'000 aufgenommen. Aktivseitig verfügt die US LLC neben einem Bankguthaben von CHF 300'000 über zwei Beteiligungen an operativen Kapitalgesellschaften, der A-OpCo (Buchwert von CHF 300'000) und die B- OpCo (Buchwert von CHF 400'000).

Neben den Anteilen an der US LLC hält die Z Investment AG noch eine Beteiligung von 20% an der operativen ABC-AG mit einem Buchwert von CHF 350'000 (entspricht den Gestehungskosten).

Im Geschäftsjahr 2019 werden folgenden Dividenden ausgeschüttet:

  • Dividende der ABC-AG von total CHF 200'000
  • Dividende der A-OpCo von total CHF 140'000
  • Dividende der B-OpCo von total CHF 80'000

Im Geschäftsjahr 2020 verkauft die US LLC eine ihrer Beteiligungen, die Anteile an der AOpCo, für total CHF 1'000'000. Anders als im Vorjahr werden im Geschäftsjahr 2020 keine Dividenden ausgeschüttet.

3.4 Fragestellung

Wie wird der Beteiligungsabzug bei der Z Investment AG im Geschäftsjahr 2019 (Dividenden) und im Geschäftsjahr 2020 (Kapitalgewinn) berechnet?

3.5 Fallbeispiel - Beteiligungsabzug bei Verkauf von Anteilen an einer Limited Partnership

Die SwissCo mit Sitz in Zug hält, zusammen mit anderen ausländischen Investoren, Gesellschafteranteile (50%) an einer ausländischen Limited Partnership (nachfolgend "LP"). Die LP ihrerseits hält als einziges Aktivum sämtliche Anteile an einer (ausländischen) operativ tätigen Gesellschaft (nachfolgend "OpCo").

Unter den Investoren wird aktuell diskutiert, ob die Anteile an der ausländischen OpCo an eine Drittpartei verkauft werden sollen, eine Entscheidung ist jedoch noch nicht getroffen. Falls eine Mehrheit der Investoren sich gegen einen Verkauf der OpCo entschliessen sollte, beabsichtigt das Management der SwissCo direkt die Anteile an der LP zu verkaufen. Entsprechend möchte das Management die Auswirkungen auf den Beteiligungsabzug des Verkaufs der Anteile an der LP sowie bei Verkauf sämtlicher Anteile der OpCo durch die LP abgeklärt haben.

3.6 Fragestellung

Kann die SwissCo beim Verkauf der Anteile an der LP den Beteiligungsabzug geltend machen?

Was sind die Steuerfolgen auf Stufe der SwissCo im alternativen Szenario des Verkaufs der OpCo durch die ausländische LP?

4. Transaktionskosten

4.1 Modelfall - Sachverhalt

Die Analytics Holding AG mit Sitz in Rotkreuz, Zug ist die Konzernobergesellschaft der im Bereich Herstellung und Vertrieb analytischer Laborgeräte tätigen Analytics Gruppe. Die Analytics Holding AG wir von zwei natürlichen Personen (Herr A und Herr B), zeitgleich auch Verwaltungsräte der Analytics Holding AG, zu je zu 50% gehalten. In Anbetracht ihres fortgeschrittenen Alters möchten A und B ihre Anteile an einen unabhängigen Käufer verkaufen. Interesse zeigt die Käufer AG.

Die Gruppenstruktur der Analytics Gruppe ist historisch gewachsen. Die Struktur ist entsprechend etwas überdimensioniert und es bestehen zahlreiche Tochtergesellschaften mit ähnlichen Funktionen. A und B beschliessen als Verwaltungsrat der Analytics Holding AG, unter anderem im Hinblick auf einen möglichen Verkauf der Analytics Holding AG, eine Reorganisation bzw. eine Vereinfachung der Gruppenstruktur durchzuführen. Im Vorfeld wurde hierfür eine Strategieüberprüfung der Gruppe vorgenommen und anschliessend die Umstrukturierungen durchgeführt.

Im Rahmen der vorgängigen Reorganisation und des Verkaufs fallen die nachfolgenden (Berater-)Kosten an:

Carve-out Milestone-Payments Beteiligungsabzug Transaktionskosten  Steuerliche Fallstricke Mergers & Acquisitions Transaktionen M&A Steuerrecht taxlaw Seminar Fallbeispiele isis zsis Unternehmenssteuerrecht  Bank AG Holding

Auf Anweisung von A und B fakturieren sämtliche involvierten Berater ihre Kosten direkt an die Analytics Holding AG (Rechnungsadressat).

4.2 Fragestellung

  1. Was sind die steuerlichen Folgen, wenn die Analytics Holding AG die Kosten trägt?
  2. Welche Kosten sollten zur Vermeidung negativer Steuerfolgen von A und B getragen werden?
CHF
120.00

Bitte wechseln Sie Ihren Browser!

Der Microsoft Internet Explorer verwendet veraltete Web-Standards und wird von unserer Plattform nicht mehr unterstützt. Für eine optimale Darstellung des zsis) empfehlen wir Ihnen, einen der folgenden Browser zu verwenden.
Weitere Informationen zur veralteten Technologie des Internet Explorers und den daraus resultierenden Risiken finden Sie auf dem Blog von Chris Jackson (Principal Program Manager bei Microsoft).